Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars53
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2010
Awesome to see this released officially at last, having owned a soundtrack recording for some time.

Track list is:

Brown Sugar
Bitch
Gimme Shelter
Dead Flowers
Happy
Tumbling Dice
Love in Vain
Sweet Virginia
You Can't Always Get What You Want
All Down the Line
Midnight Rambler
Bye Bye Johnny
Rip This Joint
Jumping Jack Flash
Street Fighting Man

There's also rehearsal footage of Shake Your Hips, an early version of Tumbling Dice (with Mick not yet sure which melody line he's going to use for the 'Baby' lines in the absence of backing vocalists) and a lacklustre blues jam which relegates Mick Taylor to bored rhythm guitar while Keith repeats the same Chuck Berry licks over and over.

The set is completed with 2 excellent Mick J interviews - one from the Old Grey Whistle Test in 1972 and one in 2010. The former features a none-more-cockney Mick with a twinkle in his eye talking about Exile (full of danceable, more commercial songs apparently) and the upcoming tour. The latter is very informative, albeit Mick's memory fails him at times.

The concert is an absolute must-see. The band is on fire. Mick Taylor's soloing is blistering and, whilst he's never been the most entertaining musician to watch, even he starts to lose himself in the music by the climax of Midnight Rambler. Keith's rhythm playing is superb throughout, whilst Charlie's inventive, slightly behind-the-beat swing perfectly matches the music's loucheness - in huge contrast to the more clinical clicktrack approach he's often resorted to since - I don't think Tumbling Dice has ever sounded more raunchy than this period, for instance. The band manages to sound loose and spontaneous whilst never missing a beat or otherwise losing it - barring the odd shambolic song ending.

A stunning offering from the vault. Now can we have a 1972/73 live CD please? The Fort Worth/Brussels recordings will do just fine.

UPDATE 17 Nov 2011 - and so it came to pass - stonesarchive.com has just released the fabulous Brussels Affair on download - well worth checking out!
55 comments85 of 85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2010
Well,what can i say?...I am utterly blown away.
I have loved the stones for all my adult life (I'm 39)and footage of this concert has become legendary in bootleg form/youtube in those years.For a band famed for their awesome live shows,it has been totally puzzling as to why live footage or material has been somewhat underpar when buying.(save for 1969's Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out album).
Taken from the notorious 1972 Exile On Mainstreet Tour,this DVD finds the Stones at their absolute peak.Filmed over 4 nights in Texas,it is a real eye-opener to both the initiated, and the novice rock n roll fan.Jagger is at his swaggering best,but what is also astonishing is the tightness and performence quality from all,notably from Mick Taylor on guitar,whose presence in the stones during this peak-period is no coincidence.
And what a set-list!Surely no other band ever paraded such a strong live show,ever.
The cameras focus solely on the band,giving a candid audience-member feel to your viewing.And the simple,yet incredibly effective stage lighting sets the show up brilliantly.
Sound quality is 100%.I love this pumped through my stereo with the lights down.
Watch and marvel at the ultimate 70's rock n roll show.The best show I've ever seen.......This is why the oldies still go to see 'em kids!But its The Stones when they had little,or no,live equals.
22 comments10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
This is the Stones at the very top of their game, with their strongest line-up. They are still taking it seriously - as opposed to later years in which a strong element of self-parody seemed to creep in - giving it all they've got and plainly enjoying themselves hugely - even Charlie is getting his rocks off. The songs are absolute crackers and the band is on fire. The brass section adds a terrific extra element, but above all it's Mick Taylor's virtuoso performance which lifts it into the stratosphere, adding real subtlety and flair to the fantastic work of Keith and Charlie - oh, and good old Bill. Just listen to Bitch, Gimme Shelter, Dead Flowers and - oh, where do I stop? And what a wonderfully atmospheric start, culminating in Keith firing 'em up with Brown Sugar. Great to see Mick and Keith gelling so well together, too. The straightforward, unsophisticated filming makes it even better, in my view - not too slick and insipid - and it's all very close up, so the viewer almost feels on stage with the boys. All we needed was "Sway" to make it perfect - but, dammit, it's perfect anyway. By far the best concert footage of the Stones.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2011
Not much to say that hasn't already been said. Just watched this gig on TV and immediately ordered the DVD. The Stones have always been inconsistent with their live performances but in 1972 they were at their absolute peak. They had brought out their greatest album, Exile On Main Street and their US tour was always considered their best when reviewed. This film is absolute proof of that! As someone else has already said, image does matter in rock 'n' roll and the band look like the coolest bunch around. They have an arrogant swagger about them backed up throughout by stunning performances. Jagger's vocals match his physical energy, Keith plays like it's his last day on earth and Mick Taylor, without doubt a crucial part of the Stones at their peak, adds sublime melody. Charlie plays as tight as a duck's arse and Bill is just Bill. Since "Exile", the band have never regained the heights they reached in 1972, despite some memorable songs and live gigs. They probably play better than ever these days but it just ain't the same as it was then. If you want to witness the "greatest rock 'n' roll band in the world" live up to that title with class to spare, you need go no further than this concert footage. Magnificent!
22 comments13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2010
Never seen (or even heard of) bootlegged versions, so this was a dream come true for me. At last, I've seen the Stones in their prime - well, what I think was their best period, anyway. Who needs Ronnie Wood? (As I've always said!) Oh, excellent price too. 100% recommended.
22 comments15 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2010
just seen this film at the cinema,i've seen a few stones films over the years, some good some not so good, but this film is the best stones film ever. Mick Taylor in superb form, delivering his usual brilliant solos,a fine selection of songs and the sound is really good.If you are a stones fan this film is unmissable, you gotta see it.
0Comment33 of 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2010
The band is excellent on this one. They manage to be a tight band and yet also keep the excellent raw feel. The real surprise is Charlie Watts though - I am a younger Rolling Stones fan and I'm used to the Charlie from the bigger bang tour - being still a brilliant drummer but this time he is on FIRE! the fills that he does on "You Can't Always Get What You Want" are amazing!

Micks singing his heart out, Keith's just Keith, Mick Taylor's solo's are amazing and flawless and i've already mentioned Charlie.

I would mention all the songs to look out for but it is virtually all of them! BUY THE DVD!!!
11 comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2010
the legendary missing stones film, finally out there on dvd.okay so i have a rather grainy bootleg copy:it is unimaginably great.the stones at their finest, i just cannot wait to see/hear the proper official release.why did we have to wait so long?this is a concert film like no other,a rock band at their absoloute peak,playing some of the greatest songs ever written.....forget next year's tour,just buy this and play it loud, 2,3,4!
11 comment37 of 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2011
At last a fantastic film of the greatest rock and roll band in the world (then) at the peak of their powers. It is so good to see just the music, no star guests, no backing singers, no 700 mile stage, just a couple of horns and a piano as extras. The camera work is basic and fine for that and the Stones look glorious, honed, lethal and dangerous. There is a good song list with a few unusuals and the bonus of seeing just how good they were before Mick Taylor left. I loved Ron Wood in the Faces and like his solo stuff but for me he just makes the Stones a tribute band with his Keith pastiche, and Darryl the bass is great but he ain't Bill. Listen to Bill anchoring the beat and the sound to perfection, locked in totally with Charlie in true South London style. Then see how Mick Taylor colours and adds to every song, making Keith look so much better as a guitarist as well. Mick and Keith are both brilliant here, look dazzling, sound brilliant especially Keiths' backing vocals. Loved it all but as usual The Stones are miserley with the extras. Now how about " Charlie is my darling"?
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2010
Solid gold ... this reminds us how great music can be ... Playing from the soul, like your life depends on it. It gets no better than this for the Stones, never the same after the departure of Mick Taylor. What a brillant live document we have been gifted with.

Yes, it has been a long time, the bootlegs have rolled, but now for the official release! Lets face it the bootleg was essential, so this can only be vital for every Rock'N'Roll collection.

No other band has, or will ever be, as succesful year on year for (about) 46 years ... For old & young this is how it's done ... Enjoy!
0Comment26 of 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse