Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars13
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 November 2015
Thievery Corporation is an American band, their music style mixes world musical elements of dub, acid jazz, reggae, Indian classical, Middle Eastern, hip hop, electronic and Brazilian such as bossa nova

Having bought the groups 2014 Saudade album which I loved, I was keen to listen to some of their back catalogue. This album does indeed offer a mixture of different sounds and cultural influences.

I understand this style of music fits into the term ‘Lounge genre’. They started a new wave of electronic lounge music in the late 1990’s with their unique sounds & productions

This album brings together their biggest and most successful career-defining productions, with 16 hand-picked songs, all featured on one compilation The album is a good introduction to the band’s world influenced musical styles. I have to say that I personally don't like all the music offered here, but still there are far more hits than misses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
The Thievary Corporation is undoubtedly the biggest name in the Lounge genre. They're in a league of their own in downtempo music, & started a new wave of electronic lounge music in the late 90s with their unique sounds & productions, with releases such as DJ Kicks, The Mirror Conspiracy, Richest Man in Babylon, Cosmic Game & Radio Retaliation.

'It Takes A Thief' is the best of The Thievary Corporation. It strings together their biggest, most successful career-defining productions, with 16 hand-picked songs, all featured on one compilation. Highlights include massive hits, such as 'Warning Shots', 'Sweet Tides', 'Satyam Shivam Sundaram', 'Until The Morning', 'Sound The Alarm' & 'Lebanese Blonde'.

If you're new to their sound & admire good lounge music, you'll love every bit of this album. Over the years, they've produced some amazing tracks, and most of them are on this one.

Grab your copy. For this price, you cannot go wrong, with such fabulously produced, quality lounge music in one CD. A Must Buy!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
I only got into Thievery Corporation a few weeks back, and I was not disappointed, I had been looking for a chilled out lounge/dub band and they tick all of the boxes. What surprised me most was the incorporation of world music particularly from the India through instrumentation. So it isn't just atypical lounge music, it has its own qualities which make it eclectic and accessible.

The album itself I would recommend it to anyone as an introduction to TC, only problem I can say is tracks like 'Tomorrow' aren't included on the album, but that is the band's choice and perhaps for the best given the amount of other good chilled out tracks that are on the album. Stand out tracks include 'Amerimacka' and 'Lebanese Blonde' (which have dub-like bass lines) and 'Satyam Shivam Sundaram' which perfectly demonstrates the world music feel. If I could sum up the album I would describe it as a late night club scene mixed with buddha bar-esque atmospheres intertwined with hypnotic trip-hop grooves.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
i bought this album as i loved the track Lebanese Blonde which i had heard on a movie soundtrack and thought i woudl see what else Thievery Corporation had to offer.

I really liked the album- fantastic for a chilled afternoon, sitting in the garden with an ice cold gin. bliss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
I never heard of this group before until I looked them up via a song I heard. This album is slick, great songs and productions too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
The albums music is wide-ranging, using electronica as a base and incorporating many elements of music from across the world and mixing them to delightful effect, perfect for late night listening or for lounging around in a bar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
cannot fault this wonderful compilation of downtempo classics! so many fabulous tunes!! a great introduction to a superb duo... buy it! :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
A good mix of stolen tunes mixed shaken and spun by a pair of talented geezers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2015
Pleased with item and prompt service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
Total value for money and beyond
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.25
£11.73
£13.26

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)