Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sons of Anarchy the best series in a long long time!
I first saw an episode of SOA on tv and thought it was good then watched another, was hooked and very quickly ordered series 1 & 2 from amazon. It is full of action, great story lines, hot bodies and takes you into a bit of a fantasy. Was so sad to see the end of the second series but have already pre-ordered series 3. Made me laugh and cry. What can I say I just loved...
Published on 16 Sep 2011 by Jules

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing ...
thought this was going to be really good like breaking bad but very disappointing more like starski and hutch but on bikes!
Published 3 months ago by Mrs. J. Johnstone


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sons of Anarchy the best series in a long long time!, 16 Sep 2011
I first saw an episode of SOA on tv and thought it was good then watched another, was hooked and very quickly ordered series 1 & 2 from amazon. It is full of action, great story lines, hot bodies and takes you into a bit of a fantasy. Was so sad to see the end of the second series but have already pre-ordered series 3. Made me laugh and cry. What can I say I just loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best TV series from the US in a few years!, 31 May 2010
Season one is an excellent introduction to the motorcycle club Sons Of Anarchy. Reminiscent of such crime dramas (from the point of view of the crime makers!) such as The Sopranos, this series follows the Sam Cro group through the gangs complicated politics in a time of dissent. Troule is brewing with previous alliances and when the feds become involved...

Like the Sopranos, you are on the side of the 'bad guys' throughout. The characters are all well rounded, with their own vices and values. You feel for Clay, the leader losing control and Jax, the VP who has a new vision for the club.

Full of twists and turns, never boring, this is a brilliant look at a biker gang! The new Sopranos!

Season two of Sons of Anarchy even surpasses the first!

The plots become even more complicated and deep, leaving you on the edge of your seat and desperately clicking for the next episode!

Darker in content than the first season, the old ladies of Sam Cro become more rounded characters as well as several other minor players.

Sam Cro is in danger of collapse as sides must be chosen - Clay or Jax - and the club is attacked from all sides.

If you enjoyed the first season of Sons of Anarchy, you aint seen nothing yet!

This box set offers both series at a value price, you can't go wrong with Sons Of Anarchy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and Entertaining!, 3 April 2013
By 
Mr. C. J. Murphy (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent and informative show, it made me want to go out and buy a motorbike. The organisation of biker gangs is laid bare in this show, and a lot of effort is put into making it accurate, including using Hells Angels and members of other biker gangs as extras and consultants on the show. Sonny Barger even makes an appearance as an elderly member of the Sons of Anarchy - truly a case of life imitating art, or is it vice versa?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INCREASING TENSION AS LOYALTIES DIVIDE, 11 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Times are changing. For decades the Sam Crow gunrunning bikers have controlled Charming - lawlessness and violence largely confined to out of town, meanwhile help given to residents (money raised for charity; culprit "dealt with" when a girl is raped). The wily police chief is happy to co-exist, his younger deputy contemptuous of the "white trash thugs hanging on to a dying dream". In the Club itself divisions grow beteen its boss Clay and his stepson Jax (both Ron Perlman and Charlie Hunnam excellent). Jax wants an end to the old ways, this not a world suitable for newly born son Abel. Katey Sagal impresses as Gemma, link between the two: "God wants me to be a fierce mother. That is my path."

Season 1 sizzles as tempers flare and the loyalties of grizzled veterans are put to the test. Rival gangs need to be handled with care - alliances uneasy, undercurrents complex. Enter a corrupt cop determined to upset the fragile balance - the trouble she causes leading to suspicions, misunderstandings and a tragic climax.

Season 2 grips even more tightly with the arrival of Adam Arkin as a smoothtalking, sinister manipulator - outwardly so affable but with motives far from pure (witness Gemma's harrowing experiences in the first episode). He plans to take over the community, his policy to divide and rule - he most skilled at setting traps. Can the bikers beat him at his own game? The final episode proves truly a stunner.

This twenty six episode double box set has dominated viewing for over two weeks, impact greatly increased by watching episodes so quickly one after the other. Scripts are superb and the acting most fine. Each of the characters is portrayed in depth, at times some more moving than one would have initially thought possible - they part of a fraternity, the Club their everything. (Even that police deputy develops a grudging respect, for some of them anyway, occasionally offering secret assistance.)

Bonuses are worth exploring, especially when stars discuss their roles - Ron Perlman revealing he does not like bikes!

Outside the town a noticeboard says, "Welcome to Charming. Please Come Again." Like many others, I did so at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More twists & turns than the open road., 30 Dec 2010
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Sons Of Anarchy is one of the best series on TV I've seen in a long time, and this 2 season boxset offers you a great opportunity to see it at a very good price. Right from the opening scene of season 1 'Sons of Anarchy' grabs your attention and you know this show isn't going to pull any punches. It instantly sets the tone for the series, and makes sure that the story gets off to a start with the throttle fully open. It's basically the Soprano's on wheels, as you follow a gang of gun-running Hell's Angels who wheel, deal & well - wheel some more.

The show focuses on the (sometimes strained) brother hood that exists within the SOA biker family, but there are many other gangs that add to the mix too. In their quest to stay on top and control the streets, the Sons of Anarchy have to deal with, and often play off against each other, various other gangs. These include the True IRA, a black street gang called the 9ers, local Chinese Yakuza, a rival Mexican biker gang called the Mayans, the white supremacists, the local cops - both straight and corrupt - the feds and ATF and also, as one member puts it: ''The most powerful gang of all... old white money''. After all that, finally, at the end of the day they then have to go home to their 'old ladies' which as the series progresses, we find out are just as tough a gang as the men.

Season 1:
The story and acting are great. The characters brutal but likeable and very funny at times too. This makes it a bit of a hard watch sometimes as you struggle to come to terms with the fact that these guys are vicious, cold hearted murderers, but you love them.

The overall story is very good and unfolds well, keeping your attention and making you watch episode after episode - I did this 1st season in in a day and a half. The sets, scenery, wardrobe and bikes are all convincing and for me this was one of the best boxsets I've seen in a while.

If you miss the Soprano's being on TV this definatly fills the void. It has it all. The family politics. The guns, violence, women and everything else that that series provided. Season 1 ends with the gang at a cross roads - figuratively speaking that is - and sets up what looks to be the start of an excellent 2nd season.

Season 2:
Sons of Anarchy season 2 does a good job of following on from the promising start that was season 1. Old storylines progress and evolve while new threads, threats and characters are introduced which all let up to a climatic end of season finale.

The good stuff from season one remains; the bikes, the characters and of course the great storylines, but what this season is all about is the simmering problems within the 'Sons'. All in all 'Sons Of Anarchy' is turning out to be a excellent series, with tight writing, deep and involved storylines and a great cast that play out the politics of gang and family life brilliantly.

This truely is the Soprano's with 6 cylinders and looks set to be a classic TV series. This season really picks up speed and ends with you hurlting towards season 3 at full speed with no hint of reaching for the breaks.

This double boxset will provide you with more twists and turns than the open roads these hairy bikers ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awsome!!, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought a used issue and their great. The disks were fine as was the cover and casing. The series is great, I have them all and have 5 on pre order. BUY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great seasons from the makers of the shield., 1 Jun 2012
Hard, gritty well written stroylines that keep you interested and putting episode after episode on! A really brilliant season and would thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biker Heaven, 20 Dec 2011
As a biker the original TV trailers for series one whet my appetite and I was not disappointed. This is a gritty drama based on a local MC (Motorcycle Club)and their criminal activity of gun-running. The researchers have done their homework and obviously have some excellent advisers as the rules of the club and the manner in which they are administered (violently) are close to the truth.....well as far as I have read on the subject! This is an excellent show and one not for the faint hearted. If you like bare knuckle fights, gangland executions, lies and deceit, twists and turns with some classic characters then this is a must; I've just finished watching series 3 and it just gets better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent, watch it for the story and characters, fall in love with them and keep watching. Good package to get both together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing ..., 7 May 2014
By 
Mrs. J. Johnstone "JJ" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
thought this was going to be really good like breaking bad but very disappointing more like starski and hutch but on bikes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sons of Anarchy - Season 1-2 [Blu-ray]
Sons of Anarchy - Season 1-2 [Blu-ray] by Kurt Sutter (Blu-ray - 2010)
17.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews