Customer Reviews


393 Reviews
5 star:
 (311)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tale as Old as Time
Just consider for a moment that this film was nominated for an Oscar among other wonderful films of its day, such as Silence of The Lambs, Terminator 2, Hook and even JFK. Now that is rare for animation... This is pivotal in itself for so often in the past, the animated film has been considered expendable amongst the recognition of live action films. Beauty and The Beast...
Published on 1 Nov 2010 by Picard

versus
83 of 96 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Careful - bonus disc is always Blu-Ray!
This "Diamond edition" contains 3 discs - one DVD copy of the film, one Blu-Ray of the film and one Blu-Ray bonus disc. Don't make the same mistake as me - this applies no matter which packaging you choose! I assumed that the DVD packaging would mean I got 2 DVDs and only a copy of the film on Blu-Ray.

The proper DVD copy will be released on 29 November and is...
Published on 30 Oct 2010 by Jen E


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tale as Old as Time, 1 Nov 2010
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just consider for a moment that this film was nominated for an Oscar among other wonderful films of its day, such as Silence of The Lambs, Terminator 2, Hook and even JFK. Now that is rare for animation... This is pivotal in itself for so often in the past, the animated film has been considered expendable amongst the recognition of live action films. Beauty and The Beast broke that mould however with its throwback to the glory days of traditional Disney animation. The film does not try to be clever, nor does it hold any sophisticated meaning apart from one simple truth; that love can prevail when one looks beyond appearance. How fitting it is then that our protagonist 'Belle', the young book lover and son of an inventor, is at first horrified by the appearance of the ghastly Beast, living alone in his gloomy (yet enchanted!) castle - yet once she see's beyond the cover, the contents is undoubtedly loveable.

This is only half the value of the movie, for the soundtrack lends itself as an important motive to the films enjoyment. Every single song from the film is memorable both in lyric and melody, making it all the more sad that the lyricist Howard Ashman passed away before the movie was even released. It's also challenging to say that much of Beauty and The Beast's music is more emotionally captivating than many of the studio's efforts beforehand. This is no fluke - it was a need and a wanting to return to importance of sound within animation.

'Diamond Edition' - Disney's latest blurb for their hand-picked movies that they consider to the studio's finest, though I would argue this entirely given that 'Fantasia' was dropped from the line only earlier this year (for some reason...), and that itself was pivotal in movie history. Needless, Beauty and The Beast has had possibly Disney's best ever treatment. Not only do you get a nice selection of extra features on the movie discs (both Blu-Ray and DVD), but the package as usual has yet another Blu-Ray disc dedicated to extras - so many that the back of the case can't fit them all. A week of owning this product has not been enough to join Lumiere in the virtual-castle and seek all the extra features that are on offer. Disney have frankly pulled out all the stops here, and it doesn't disappoint in any single way.

On a note of Disc formats, a few people are confused about the whole 'Double Play' description and what you get with the product. This is made all the worse because Disney, in a vein attempt to move people to Blu-Ray, have released the exact same product only in a DVD case. Essentially, the disc layout is the following, and this applies to ALL Diamond/Platinum Editions;

1 x Blu-Ray [Movie Disc, With Extras]
1 x DVD [Movie Disc, With *limited* Extras]
1 x Blu-Ray [Extras Disc - "Bonus Material"]

Therefore, PLEASE be aware that the dedicated "Bonus Material" is a Blu-Ray, NOT a DVD. If you want just a DVD only product, you will have to wait until it is released;

Beauty and the Beast [DVD]

On a final note, 'Double Play' simply means that the FILM can be played in both Blu-Ray and DVD formats within that product. Furthermore, a 'Triple Play' product means you get a Blu-Ray, DVD and Digital copy of the film to watch in that product. I know, it's all rather uncalled for and I have sympathy for those who are confused to find the alternative 'DVD Packaging' of the same product in the DVD section of high-street stores.

Picture quality needs very little mention, essentially because the film itself was mastered on digital files, and therefore does not require the same 35mm film scanning that older Disney films require from Lowry Digital. However, it will look dramatically different. The colour timing has been shifted away from any release seen before and into, what was stated, the "intended palette', meaning even the theatrical release never looked this good. Background paintings are stable and lush, revealing gorgeous water-colour detail. The animation is pin-sharp, itself revealing all the original pencil lines. It's as pristine as it will ever look. The sound also benefits Blu-Ray for the lossless format booms with emotion, just increasing that dynamic range and giving the Beast a menacing growl, while the music pierces the top ends.

Presented in a glorious slip-case and intuitive menu system, Beauty and The Beast has reached the treatment it deserves. With bags of humor and lessons of love, it is truly the ultimate family film and couldn't have been released at a better time. There is just something so majestic about this film that, as Belle and Beast dance through the Ball-Room and the camera tracks down from the ceiling, it is obvious animation can go beyond what live action may offer - possibly even touching the viewer and placing them in that very scene, such is the beauty of the artwork and relationship to the title song 'Beauty and The Beast'. It was just the right film at the right time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty and the Beast Special Edition, 1 Feb 2003
By A Customer
As I die hard fan of the original version, I was slightly worried that the changes to the original story would ruin,in my opinion, one of the best animated films of all time. But there was no need, the insert, "human again", fits into the film like it was always there. And in case I didn't love, there was the other two versions of the film to keep me busy. The games are good, if at times a little slow, but the other special features are brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Disney Classic, 4 Sep 2003
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Belle is bored with life in her village. Her only escape is her books, and she longs to have an adventure of her own. When her father heads out to a fair, he gets lots, and Belle finds him in an enchanted castle. The objects are thrilled, because if she and their master, the Beast, fall in love, they will all be freed from the enchantment. But will Belle be able to see past the outward appearance? And what about the handsome bore back home who wants to marry Belle?
I feel in love with this movie the first time I saw it, and that love has only grown over the years. The story is the right mix of fun and uncertainty. Gaston was a wonderful addition to the mix because his story was the part I was most uncertain about the first time around. The artwork on the film catches your eye from the first shot of the castle, and doesn't let go. Beside the incredible background shots are wonderful drawings of the characters. I especially love the boyish excitement they manage to give the Beast in several scenes. Finally, there's the music. Every song adds to the story and is memorable in its own right.
This DVD is perfect for any fan of this movie. Disc 1 includes three versions of the film. The first is the "in progress" version shown to the New York film festival 6 weeks before the premier of the movie in 1991. While it's fun to have, I won't be watching it regularly. The second version is the original release. And finally comes the special edition, with the added scene and "Human Again." Ironically, this is probably my least favorite of the songs added to the Broadway version, but it does advance the story. And, there's always the option of watching the original version. Obviously, the version that you are supposed to watch is the special edition, as the audio commentary and sing along bonus features only work with this option. All three come in Dolby 5.1 sound, which sounds great.
The second disc features hours of bonus material. Most of it focuses on the making of this movie. Everything is covered, from original idea through characters and the Broadway version and special edition. Galleries show character designs over the course of the project. Also featured is the original treatments for "Human Again" and "Be Our Guest." Celebrity voices give background on the original story and Disney versions of classic tales. And there's a fun documentary as the stars of "Even Stevens" take a backstage look at all the work that goes into making a feature animated film.
This is the only film so far to be nominated for an Oscar for Best Picture. Watching the film, the reason is clear. This is something the entire family can enjoy. Don't miss your opportunity to get this classic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3D Disney Magic !, 5 Oct 2011
Beauty and the Beast has always been my favourite Disney film since I first saw it at the cinema 20 years ago (!)
Since then I must have watched it over a hundred times.On video with my children when they were young,in Imax some years later ,the excellent live stage production and then on DVD.
So when I heard Disney were making a 3D version from the original I was expecting,at best,something that looked like a 3D 'pop-up'book.
It has however far exceeded my expectations ! From the opening scene to the end titles the quality of the 3D is nothing short of amazing ! You would think it was originally made in 3D rather than a conversion 20 years on which made the whole viewing experience like watching it for the first time all over again !
Stunning 3D picture and beautiful sound make this special release very special indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An achievement, 20 April 2007
By 
sam hrt (Lancs, England, Uk) - See all my reviews
Everyone has a childhood memory and mine is sitting near the fire in winter munching on popcorn/chips/sweets watching the magic of beauty & the beast unfold. I'm still a big kid at heart so give me this movie any day and I will be a very happy person. The beauty of this movie can't be distinctly pin pointed because so many aspects that contribute towards it like the great music (they sing & dance to almost anything) the great characters (beautiful Belle, moody Beast/handsome, joyous prince, the flirtatious candle, the pompous clock, the busty wardrobe are just such a pleasure to watch. The graphics are/were incredible for its time, so Disney has done well! This is a story hopefully many generations will continue to enjoy down the years & the magic of Beauty & the Beast will live on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 96 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Careful - bonus disc is always Blu-Ray!, 30 Oct 2010
This "Diamond edition" contains 3 discs - one DVD copy of the film, one Blu-Ray of the film and one Blu-Ray bonus disc. Don't make the same mistake as me - this applies no matter which packaging you choose! I assumed that the DVD packaging would mean I got 2 DVDs and only a copy of the film on Blu-Ray.

The proper DVD copy will be released on 29 November and is available for pre-order. Unfortunately, thanks to this bizarre Blu-Ray confusion, I now have to return several copies of this version, as I bought for my family too :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Beauty Than Beast, 20 Mar 2003
Whereas some people would dismiss this sort of film as "kids stuff", whenever I watch this film I am constantly amazed with its moral undertones, amazing musical score and animation. This film is without doubt one of the greatest Disney movies made and offers enjoyment to all that view it, within the top ten movies ever made in my opinion.
This D.V.D also heightens the enjoyment of this film by offering an overwhelming amount of special features, such as the fascinating 'making of...' and the wide range of games and quizzes. Don`t miss out... buy this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure magic, 4 Mar 2003
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a film to appeal to children and to adults who are still young at heart. It has beautiful animation, catchy songs and a gentle love story to appeal to all.
The dvd features an extended version of the film (the song 'human again' has been added ) which I was concerned may spoil what was already an excellent film. I need not have worried, the additional song fits in like so well you would think it had always been there.
This is surely Disney at its best and well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Film Of All Time, 29 April 2006
I've loved this film ever since I was tiny and I got the collector's edition for my thirteenth birthday. That may seem a little old to be getting a Disney film, but it is just so, so good and this edition is brilliant. The games provided aren't particularly good, but the extra versions of the film are fantastic and the new song (When We're Human Again) is really excellent. I would recommend this film to anyone, young and old. A true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beauty & the beast 3d, 8 Oct 2011
had to buy this item when i found out this was being released in blu ray 3d as this is one of the best walt disneys a true classic... as soon as it arrived i had to put it in the player and omg from start to finish absolutly amazing the best disney 3d film it is the same as the original just 20 x better in 3d for those of u that own 3d i would definatly suggest adding this to your collection 10 out of 10 from me ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beauty and the Beast [DVD]
Beauty and the Beast [DVD] by Kirk Wise (DVD - 2010)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews