Customer Reviews


488 Reviews
5 star:
 (392)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTY AND THE BEAST [1991] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray]
BEAUTY AND THE BEAST [1991] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray] Disney’s 30th Animated Classic! Be Our Guest To A World Of Enchantment!

Acclaimed and treasured like no other, Disney's beloved modern classic, the first animated feature film in the history of the Oscars® nominated for Best Picture in 1991, is brilliantly transformed to a new level of entertainment...
Published 11 days ago by Andrew C. Miller

versus
84 of 97 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Careful - bonus disc is always Blu-Ray!
This "Diamond edition" contains 3 discs - one DVD copy of the film, one Blu-Ray of the film and one Blu-Ray bonus disc. Don't make the same mistake as me - this applies no matter which packaging you choose! I assumed that the DVD packaging would mean I got 2 DVDs and only a copy of the film on Blu-Ray.

The proper DVD copy will be released on 29 November and is...
Published on 30 Oct 2010 by Jen E


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTY AND THE BEAST [1991] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray], 16 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BEAUTY AND THE BEAST [1991] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray] Disney’s 30th Animated Classic! Be Our Guest To A World Of Enchantment!

Acclaimed and treasured like no other, Disney's beloved modern classic, the first animated feature film in the history of the Oscars® nominated for Best Picture in 1991, is brilliantly transformed to a new level of entertainment through the magic of 3D Blu-ray High Definition. The music you'll never forget the characters that will fill your heart and the magical adventure about finding beauty within all come to spectacular life in 3D Blu-ray. Plus, all-new, immersive bonus features will transport you even further into Belle's enchanted world. So be our guest and join the beloved, independent Belle and the Beast with the soul of a prince as they cast an enchanting spell like never before. Narrated by David Ogden Stiers.

FILM FACTS: 1992 Academy Awards® Nominated for Best Picture: Don Hahn. Nominated Best Sound Mixing: Terry Porter, Mel Metcalfe, David J. Hudson and Doc Kane. Won Best Music and Original Score: Alan Menken. Won Best Music and Original Score: Alan Menken. Nominated Best Music and Original Song: Alan Menken & Howard Ashman for the song "Be Our Guest." Won Best Music and Original Song: Alan Menken and Howard Ashman for the song "Beauty and the Beast." Nominated Best Music and Original Song: Alan Menken and Howard Ashman for the song "Belle."

Golden Globe 1992: Won Best Motion Picture for Musical or Comedy: Don Hahn. Best Original Score for Motion Picture: Alan Menken. Nominated Best Original Song for Motion Picture: Alan Menken and Howard Ashman for the song "Be Our Guest." Won Best Original Song for Motion Picture: Alan Menken and Howard Ashman for the song "Beauty and the Beast."

Grammy Awards 1993: Nominated for Album of the Year. Nominated for Record of the Year: Celine Dion and Peabo Bryson for the song "Beauty and the Beast." Won Best Album for Children. Won Best Pop Performance by a Group or Duo with Vocal for "Beauty and the Beast." Nominated Song of the Year for "Beauty and the Beast." Won Best Instrumental Composition Written for a Motion Picture. Won Best Song Written Specifically for a Motion Picture or for Television for "Beauty and the Beast." Won Best Pop Instrumental Performance for "Beauty and the Beast."

Voice Cast: Paige O'Hara, Robby Benson, Richard White, Jerry Orbach, David Ogden Stiers, Dame Angela Lansbury, Bradley Michael Pierce, Rex Everhart, Jesse Corti, Hal Smith, Jo Anne Worley, Kath Soucie, Brian Cummings, Alvin Epstein, Tony Jay, Alec Murphy, Mary Kay Bergman and Frank Welker

Directors: Gary Trousdale and Kirk Wise

Directors: Gary Trousdale and Kirk Wise

Screenplay: Linda Woolverton

Composer: Alan Menken

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1

Audio: English: 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, German: 7.1 DTS-HD Resolution, Spanish: 5.1 Disney Enhanced Home Theater Mix, Russian: 5.1 Disney Enhanced Home Theater Mix, Hindi: 5.1 Disney Enhanced Home Theater Mix and Portuguese: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English, English SDH, German, Spanish, Russian and Portuguese

Running Time: 85 minutes and 92 minutes

Number of discs: 2

Region: All Regions

Studio: Walt Disney Studios Home Entertainment

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: There's something about 'Beauty and the Beast' that resonates deep inside. It transcends children's animation and becomes something much more. When I think 'Beauty and the Beast' I immediately think of Disney. It's a connection without question that has become synonymous.

'Beauty and the Beast' is full of excitement, an enthralling story, and some of the most memorable musical numbers to ever grace the big screen. There isn't a song on 'Beauty and the Beast' that can possibly be ignored. Each one demands your attention as they shower you with nostalgic memories of Disney's hand drawn animation heyday.

Because he refused to give refuge to a haggard-looking woman, a young prince has been cursed, transformed into a hideous beast, and his entire staff of servants changed into living inanimate objects, like clocks and candlesticks. Like many of these stories go, the curse can only be broken by true love.

Belle is a beautiful young girl who lives in the neighbouring town. She loves reading, breaks into song on a moment's notice, and lives with her kooky father Maurice. Belle is a curious creature, and has her head on straight when it comes to life. The town macho, Gaston, has his eye on her. Gaston boasts about how many eggs he eats every day and how accurate his spitting is. He's a man's man. Only a manly man would use antlers in all of his decorating. Gaston is sure that Belle is going to marry him, who wouldn't want to marry him? He's the finest male specimen around.

Belle's father Maurice is an inventor, and on his way to a fair to show off his new invention he gets lost and finds himself at the steps of a strange castle (it's interesting that this castle has been there for some time, and the townspeople are only now realising it). Maurice is imprisoned by the beast. Once Belle realizes he's missing, she goes out looking for him, finds the castle, and trades herself for her father's life. We know what must happen from here. Belle must embark on the seemingly impossible quest of loving a beast. But compared to Gaston, the beast is a catch.

In a day and age when computer animation is all the rage, it's amazing to revisit 'Beauty and the Beast' and see just how beautiful hand drawn animation can be. The animation here is some of the most colourful and lively in all of Disney's long line of animated features. The music, created by Howard Ashman and Alan Menken (the same duo that worked together on 'The Little Mermaid'), has not only stayed in our minds ever since we first saw the movie (To this day, "Be Our Guest" still pops up in my head continually), but they have sunk into popular culture.

Nowadays, with the ten Best Picture slots at the Oscars, it's much easier for animated films to find their way into the awards picture. Back when 'Beauty and the Beast' was made, it was unthinkable that a children's animated feature could be nominated for Best Picture. 'Beauty and the Beast' is a classic fairy tale, and with Disney's touch, it has become one of the most memorable and influential animated features of all time.

3D Blu-ray Video Quality – For this 3D release, 'Beauty and the Beast' is presented in a stunning encoded 1080p image transfer in the 1.78:1 aspect ratio. Painstakingly converted, this is an absolutely stunning experience that opens the film up in new and exciting ways.

To be perfectly honest, I am a huge supporter of 3D, but always sceptical about conversions of already existing 2D films, so I went into this release with some pretty strong reservations. With that said, I must admit that this 3D Blu-ray disc has certainly made me reconsider my sceptical stance. Overall, the video here is simply outstanding and totally gorgeous. Wonderfully bold and rich colours light up the screen from the moment the film starts, and don't let up until the credits role at the end of the animation film. Detail is exceptional, showing off the intricately designed characters and locations, from cosy towns and spooky woods to Baroque castles and lush countryside’s, revealing every stroke of the animators' hard work.

Of course the real focus of this release is the 3D effect. So, how does it look? Well, with the exception of a few minor snags here and there, it's quite stunning, essentially offering a pristine window into a beautiful storybook world. Depth is fantastic, separating the various planes of the frame into distinct layers that still work organically together. While there certainly is a pop-up book quality to the presentation (and in this case that's not a bad thing), the 3D effect gives a slight curvature to the 2D characters and objects, making them feel a little more spatially rounded than completely flat. Wide shots tend to look the most striking, offering an immense perception of distance between foreground objects and background locations. Swirling leaves, soaring birds, and flying bats all provide some nice pop-out moments that extend slightly outward from the screen. Various forms of precipitation are particularly impressive, and a few shots that start indoors and then slowly track out into the falling snow feature a great amount of immersion. Even comparatively subtle moments, like a scene where Belle holds a flower and blows the petals away, causing them to dance inward and outward around the screen, are a treat to behold. All of the major set-pieces, including the playful "Be our Guest" performance, and the beloved title track sequence set in an extravagant ballroom, utilize just the right amount of subtlety and "wow" moments. Of course nothing really compares to the climax, which features the townspeople storming the Beast's castle. With a constant flow of rain drenching the foreground and splashes of lightning electrifying the frame, the moody atmosphere is taken to an entirely new level thanks to the 3D effect. All of the visuals swell with the rousing music in a way that simply couldn't happen in 2D Blu-ray version alone.

While this is a wonderful transfer, there are some very minor issues. There are a couple of instances in which the converted effects feel slightly unnatural or where proportions of distance between different parts of characters or objects feels a little off. Also, in some rare instances where there is a lot of detail, activity, and motion all at once, the image can get a little jumbled and a bit disorienting. Ghosting is present, but it's negligible and mostly occurs when there is a dark object in the foreground (various statues in the Beast's castle, for example). All of these issues are very minor, however, and don't detract from what is otherwise a nearly flawless conversion.

While this is a wonderful transfer, there are some very minor issues. There are a couple of instances in which the converted effects feel slightly unnatural or where proportions of distance between different parts of characters or objects feels a little off. Also, in some rare instances where there is a lot of detail, activity, and motion all at once, the image can get a little jumbled and a bit disorienting. Ghosting is present, but it's negligible and mostly occurs when there is a dark object in the foreground (various statues in the Beast's castle, for example). All of these issues are very minor, however, and don't detract from what is otherwise a nearly flawless conversion.

3D Blu-ray Audio Quality – Disney went back to the source with original sound mixer Terry Porter, who was nominated for Best Sound in 1999, and created an all-new 7.1 mix. After creating a 7.1 mix for the originally mono-track 'Snow White' and making it sound superb, I had no reservations that Disney would be able to take 'Beauty and the Beast' and remix it to perfection. In short, they have. I can't think of a Disney's film library that could benefit more from a 7.1 mix than 'Beauty and the Beast.' There's so much going on, and the musical numbers alone demand a mix that can support their sheer size and spectacle.

Dialogue is spread throughout the front part of the sound field, even finding its way into the side speakers for some stellar directionality that caused me to turn my head more than once. The Beast's voice is full of life, and the sub gets a heavy workout during his numerous yells and roars. Frankly, it's so deep and resonant; it's what you also experienced with the film 'Jurassic Park' and its awesome T-Rex. The rear of the sound field is almost just as busy as the front. There isn't a time where the rears aren't at the least engaged. The musical numbers bring the surround sound to life as the characters sing and dance, engulfing you in this stunning Disney 3D Blu-ray. The Sound effects are pristine, pans sound perfect. This is one of the best high definition sound presentations of the year, if not the best. Everything from the crystal clear dialogue and song lyrics to the chaotic cacophony of sounds that accompany the great battle scene at the end are perfectly remixed to give us the most wondrous sound design 'Beauty and the Beast' has ever enjoyed on home video.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Beauty and the Beast: 3D Version [1080p] [85:00]

Beauty and the Beast: Special Extended Version [1080p] [92:00] The biggest, and most notable, change to the movie here is the addition of the originally cut musical number called "Human Again." It has been seamlessly inserted into the film.

Beauty and the Beast: Original Theatrical Release [1080p] [85:00] This is being included in the special features, because there are a few versions of the film you can watch. This is how the movie originally appeared in cinemas when it was first released.

Beauty and the Beast: Original Theatrical Release [with Storyreel Picture-in-Picture] Fans can view the theatrical cut alongside the filmmakers' original storyreel, an incredibly early version of the film that features rough animation, hand-drawn storyboards and other preproduction artwork.

Audio Commentary [Special Edition Only] Producer Don Hahn and co-directors Kirk Wise and Gary Trousdale discuss the Special Extended Edition of ‘Beauty and the Beast’ and waste little time doing so. The trio dissect the story and characters, the animation techniques utilized throughout the film, its place in Disney history, the dialogue and songs, casting and the voice recording sessions, the challenges they faced during its long and complex production and much, much more. It's a thoroughly engaging and informative track that should not be missed. It's one of the better audio commentaries out there. Never does it feel dry or mundane. These guys get down to business and discuss everything you could hope to be discussed about the animation film.

Sing-Along Track: The Special Extended cut even offers a text-based "Sing-Along Mode" for anyone interested in belting out a Disney tune or two in the privacy of their own home.

Broadway Beginnings: Backstage Disney [Diamond Edition] [1080p] [13:00] A string of name-that-face celebrities, production team members and stage actors wax poetic about the Broadway adaptation of the film.

Family Play: Looking for yet another way to watch ‘Beauty and the Beast’? In a fit of overkill, the wizards at Disney have also devised a "Fast Play Mode" that allows users to customise and automate their viewing experience based on time and specific interests. It's rather extraneous, but I'm sure someone will enjoy it. Don't like it? Move along then, there's plenty of other content on tap.

Music & More: Music Video “Beauty and the Beast” performed by Jordin Sparks [1080p] [3:26] You get to see the singer Jordin Sparks, combined with selections from the Disney animation. Bet you thought that there wouldn't be another music video tacked on, but there is!

Composing A Classic: A Musical Conversation with Alan Menken, Don Hahn and Richard Kraft [1080p] [20:00] Composer Alan Menken, music agent and Disney historian Richard Kraft, and producer Don Hahn chat at length about the film's rousing songs and musical score, as well as the art of furthering a story through music.

Deleted Scene: Alternate Story Opening for ‘Beauty and the Beast’ [1080p] [28:00] Former Walt Disney Studios chairman Peter Schneider introduces a sprawling alternate opening (pieced together from a studio storyreel created before the official voice actors were cast) and story supervisor Roger Allers does the same for a deleted scene (composed of storyboards) involving Belle's exploration of the Beast's library.

Sneak Peaks: Cars 2 3D [Blu-ray]; Lady And The Tramp Diamond Edition [Blu-ray]; Cinderella Diamond Edition [Blu-ray]; Disney Nature: Chimpanzee [Blu-ray] and Disney’s Secret of the Wings [Blu-ray]

Finally, Disney has done it again. The Blu-ray edition of ‘Beauty and the Beast’ was already amazing; but the 3D Blu-ray release of ‘Beauty and the Beast’ is nothing short of astonishing. This 3D version gives viewers an impressive new way to experience this stunning animation film, that actually enhances the original content through some wonderfully immersive 3D effects. Like its 2010 predecessor, it stands as both a must-have release and a solid contender for the studio's best Blu-ray release of the year. Yes, even though it's arguably a mere re-issue of sorts. Fans will be treated to three full versions of the classic animated film, two reference-level video transfers, an immersive 3D experience, a monstrous 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio surround track, and hours upon hours of special features including a Picture-in-Picture Storyreel presentation, a filmmakers audio commentary, a three-hour branching documentary and much, much more. Without hesitation or clarification, ‘Beauty and the Beast’ in 3D earns my unabashed highest ultimate praise. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tale as Old as Time, 1 Nov 2010
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just consider for a moment that this film was nominated for an Oscar among other wonderful films of its day, such as Silence of The Lambs, Terminator 2, Hook and even JFK. Now that is rare for animation... This is pivotal in itself for so often in the past, the animated film has been considered expendable amongst the recognition of live action films. Beauty and The Beast broke that mould however with its throwback to the glory days of traditional Disney animation. The film does not try to be clever, nor does it hold any sophisticated meaning apart from one simple truth; that love can prevail when one looks beyond appearance. How fitting it is then that our protagonist 'Belle', the young book lover and son of an inventor, is at first horrified by the appearance of the ghastly Beast, living alone in his gloomy (yet enchanted!) castle - yet once she see's beyond the cover, the contents is undoubtedly loveable.

This is only half the value of the movie, for the soundtrack lends itself as an important motive to the films enjoyment. Every single song from the film is memorable both in lyric and melody, making it all the more sad that the lyricist Howard Ashman passed away before the movie was even released. It's also challenging to say that much of Beauty and The Beast's music is more emotionally captivating than many of the studio's efforts beforehand. This is no fluke - it was a need and a wanting to return to importance of sound within animation.

'Diamond Edition' - Disney's latest blurb for their hand-picked movies that they consider to the studio's finest, though I would argue this entirely given that 'Fantasia' was dropped from the line only earlier this year (for some reason...), and that itself was pivotal in movie history. Needless, Beauty and The Beast has had possibly Disney's best ever treatment. Not only do you get a nice selection of extra features on the movie discs (both Blu-Ray and DVD), but the package as usual has yet another Blu-Ray disc dedicated to extras - so many that the back of the case can't fit them all. A week of owning this product has not been enough to join Lumiere in the virtual-castle and seek all the extra features that are on offer. Disney have frankly pulled out all the stops here, and it doesn't disappoint in any single way.

On a note of Disc formats, a few people are confused about the whole 'Double Play' description and what you get with the product. This is made all the worse because Disney, in a vein attempt to move people to Blu-Ray, have released the exact same product only in a DVD case. Essentially, the disc layout is the following, and this applies to ALL Diamond/Platinum Editions;

1 x Blu-Ray [Movie Disc, With Extras]
1 x DVD [Movie Disc, With *limited* Extras]
1 x Blu-Ray [Extras Disc - "Bonus Material"]

Therefore, PLEASE be aware that the dedicated "Bonus Material" is a Blu-Ray, NOT a DVD. If you want just a DVD only product, you will have to wait until it is released;

Beauty and the Beast [DVD]

On a final note, 'Double Play' simply means that the FILM can be played in both Blu-Ray and DVD formats within that product. Furthermore, a 'Triple Play' product means you get a Blu-Ray, DVD and Digital copy of the film to watch in that product. I know, it's all rather uncalled for and I have sympathy for those who are confused to find the alternative 'DVD Packaging' of the same product in the DVD section of high-street stores.

Picture quality needs very little mention, essentially because the film itself was mastered on digital files, and therefore does not require the same 35mm film scanning that older Disney films require from Lowry Digital. However, it will look dramatically different. The colour timing has been shifted away from any release seen before and into, what was stated, the "intended palette', meaning even the theatrical release never looked this good. Background paintings are stable and lush, revealing gorgeous water-colour detail. The animation is pin-sharp, itself revealing all the original pencil lines. It's as pristine as it will ever look. The sound also benefits Blu-Ray for the lossless format booms with emotion, just increasing that dynamic range and giving the Beast a menacing growl, while the music pierces the top ends.

Presented in a glorious slip-case and intuitive menu system, Beauty and The Beast has reached the treatment it deserves. With bags of humor and lessons of love, it is truly the ultimate family film and couldn't have been released at a better time. There is just something so majestic about this film that, as Belle and Beast dance through the Ball-Room and the camera tracks down from the ceiling, it is obvious animation can go beyond what live action may offer - possibly even touching the viewer and placing them in that very scene, such is the beauty of the artwork and relationship to the title song 'Beauty and The Beast'. It was just the right film at the right time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Disney Classic, 4 Sep 2003
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Belle is bored with life in her village. Her only escape is her books, and she longs to have an adventure of her own. When her father heads out to a fair, he gets lots, and Belle finds him in an enchanted castle. The objects are thrilled, because if she and their master, the Beast, fall in love, they will all be freed from the enchantment. But will Belle be able to see past the outward appearance? And what about the handsome bore back home who wants to marry Belle?
I feel in love with this movie the first time I saw it, and that love has only grown over the years. The story is the right mix of fun and uncertainty. Gaston was a wonderful addition to the mix because his story was the part I was most uncertain about the first time around. The artwork on the film catches your eye from the first shot of the castle, and doesn't let go. Beside the incredible background shots are wonderful drawings of the characters. I especially love the boyish excitement they manage to give the Beast in several scenes. Finally, there's the music. Every song adds to the story and is memorable in its own right.
This DVD is perfect for any fan of this movie. Disc 1 includes three versions of the film. The first is the "in progress" version shown to the New York film festival 6 weeks before the premier of the movie in 1991. While it's fun to have, I won't be watching it regularly. The second version is the original release. And finally comes the special edition, with the added scene and "Human Again." Ironically, this is probably my least favorite of the songs added to the Broadway version, but it does advance the story. And, there's always the option of watching the original version. Obviously, the version that you are supposed to watch is the special edition, as the audio commentary and sing along bonus features only work with this option. All three come in Dolby 5.1 sound, which sounds great.
The second disc features hours of bonus material. Most of it focuses on the making of this movie. Everything is covered, from original idea through characters and the Broadway version and special edition. Galleries show character designs over the course of the project. Also featured is the original treatments for "Human Again" and "Be Our Guest." Celebrity voices give background on the original story and Disney versions of classic tales. And there's a fun documentary as the stars of "Even Stevens" take a backstage look at all the work that goes into making a feature animated film.
This is the only film so far to be nominated for an Oscar for Best Picture. Watching the film, the reason is clear. This is something the entire family can enjoy. Don't miss your opportunity to get this classic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3D Disney Magic !, 5 Oct 2011
Beauty and the Beast has always been my favourite Disney film since I first saw it at the cinema 20 years ago (!)
Since then I must have watched it over a hundred times.On video with my children when they were young,in Imax some years later ,the excellent live stage production and then on DVD.
So when I heard Disney were making a 3D version from the original I was expecting,at best,something that looked like a 3D 'pop-up'book.
It has however far exceeded my expectations ! From the opening scene to the end titles the quality of the 3D is nothing short of amazing ! You would think it was originally made in 3D rather than a conversion 20 years on which made the whole viewing experience like watching it for the first time all over again !
Stunning 3D picture and beautiful sound make this special release very special indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An achievement, 20 April 2007
By 
sam hrt (Lancs, England, Uk) - See all my reviews
Everyone has a childhood memory and mine is sitting near the fire in winter munching on popcorn/chips/sweets watching the magic of beauty & the beast unfold. I'm still a big kid at heart so give me this movie any day and I will be a very happy person. The beauty of this movie can't be distinctly pin pointed because so many aspects that contribute towards it like the great music (they sing & dance to almost anything) the great characters (beautiful Belle, moody Beast/handsome, joyous prince, the flirtatious candle, the pompous clock, the busty wardrobe are just such a pleasure to watch. The graphics are/were incredible for its time, so Disney has done well! This is a story hopefully many generations will continue to enjoy down the years & the magic of Beauty & the Beast will live on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 97 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Careful - bonus disc is always Blu-Ray!, 30 Oct 2010
This "Diamond edition" contains 3 discs - one DVD copy of the film, one Blu-Ray of the film and one Blu-Ray bonus disc. Don't make the same mistake as me - this applies no matter which packaging you choose! I assumed that the DVD packaging would mean I got 2 DVDs and only a copy of the film on Blu-Ray.

The proper DVD copy will be released on 29 November and is available for pre-order. Unfortunately, thanks to this bizarre Blu-Ray confusion, I now have to return several copies of this version, as I bought for my family too :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Beauty Than Beast, 20 Mar 2003
Whereas some people would dismiss this sort of film as "kids stuff", whenever I watch this film I am constantly amazed with its moral undertones, amazing musical score and animation. This film is without doubt one of the greatest Disney movies made and offers enjoyment to all that view it, within the top ten movies ever made in my opinion.
This D.V.D also heightens the enjoyment of this film by offering an overwhelming amount of special features, such as the fascinating 'making of...' and the wide range of games and quizzes. Don`t miss out... buy this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure magic, 4 Mar 2003
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a film to appeal to children and to adults who are still young at heart. It has beautiful animation, catchy songs and a gentle love story to appeal to all.
The dvd features an extended version of the film (the song 'human again' has been added ) which I was concerned may spoil what was already an excellent film. I need not have worried, the additional song fits in like so well you would think it had always been there.
This is surely Disney at its best and well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Film Of All Time, 29 April 2006
I've loved this film ever since I was tiny and I got the collector's edition for my thirteenth birthday. That may seem a little old to be getting a Disney film, but it is just so, so good and this edition is brilliant. The games provided aren't particularly good, but the extra versions of the film are fantastic and the new song (When We're Human Again) is really excellent. I would recommend this film to anyone, young and old. A true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gift for my daughter, 31 July 2013
By 
A. Dalleywater (Mayfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a 19th birthday present! She loves her Disney. It has also helped her cope with a troublesome three year old that she's currently looking after, so it has been much appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beauty and the Beast [DVD]
Beauty and the Beast [DVD] by Kirk Wise (DVD - 2010)
£11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews