Customer Reviews


487 Reviews
5 star:
 (243)
4 star:
 (106)
3 star:
 (81)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stranger Tides
If you ever needed proof why you shouldn't listen to critics, the Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, part 4 in the series, is it. Part 2 and part 3 received quite a thrashing from critics despite still cashing in pretty big at the box office. So, there's no reason why they would treat part 4 any different. But that's just it. It is different. Without Orlando...
Published on 30 Jan 2012 by M. Gazs

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film too far
Not nearly as good as the original trilogy - just Hollywood trying to make more money out of a tried and tested formula.
Published 23 months ago by cupoftea


‹ Previous | 1 2 349 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Indiana Sparrow and the Fountain of Youth, 28 Jun 2011
By 
Neil STUART BANKS (North Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides [DVD] (DVD)
As someone who thought that POTC1 was okay and 2 and 3 could have been used at Guantanamo to torture the detainees, I thought this was not half bad.
Captain Jack's doped up delivery seems less bizarre after 4 movies and his one liners in this movie are pretty good. Think 18th century Indiana Jones with wooden legs and cutlasses and you are pretty close.
Goes some way to redeeming the Pirates Franchise - let's hope they don't mess it up with a POTC5 as unredeemingly smelly as the Crystal Skulls crock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, 7 Jun 2011
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen all four Pirates of the Caribbean movies and to be honest I loved all of them. Each movie is different in their own way. The first one had ghosts, second one was about Davy Jones' still beating heart in a chest like a small treasure chest and the third one was about going to the ends of the world to bring back a fallen friend. This one however was about finding the fountain of youth and had zombies. As I said before all the movies are different but just as brilliant as the previous ones. The fourth didn't have any of the other characters from the other movies except Gibbs, Barbossa and Jack but I didn't mind that because this a completely different and new story. I loved to find Captain Barbossa had lost one leg which it was replaced with a wooden one which turned out to also be a bottle containing booze. That was hilarious. Can't wait for Pirates of the Caribbean 5 and 6. I would give this movie 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars On Stranger Tides, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant return to the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. I was really worried that, with most of the principal characters not present and the series continuing longer than expected, that the movie would feel lacking, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. The humour is fresh, the plot is captivating and the acting is impressive as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yo Ho - You'll Need More Than 1 Bottle of Rum To Enjoy This, 19 Sep 2011
Here's a little history: according to the book `DisneyWars', the execs at the studio were appalled by the rushes coming back during filming on Curse of The Black Pearl - Depp and Rush were vying to see who could produce the biggest, campest, most flamboyant performance - from their POV though, they were apparently having a great time. It clearly comes across watching them, that they're having FUN. The addition of Bill Nighy introduced another wonderfully camp OTT performance - and again, he seemed to be simply having FUN.

Which brings us to Stranger Tides, and my biggest complaint, which is that everyone's just `going through the motions' and picking up the pay cheque. I would strangle small puppy dogs for the chance of appearing in a pirate movie, and yet this lot approach it as another day at the office. The biggest disappointment is Ian McShane - did he actually watch any of the previous movies ? - who clearly didn't understand that flamboyance was the order of the day. Instead, he brought to the character of Black Beard, all the menace and venom of Lovejoy perusing a Victorian wardrobe.

No less wooden than the wardrobe, was Penelope Cruz, though I did feel some sympathy for her, as she'd only been cast as there was a rather tenuous Spanish plot device (thank God the fountain of youth wasn't in Lapp land).

The action sequences are adequate, but hardly inspired, and the storyline thin to say the least. Even these gripes could have been eased by good performances by actors clearly committed to the movie.

Ultimately though, Black Beard should have saved this movie - a perfect `baddy' with so much potential to steal the movie; a measure of how tame his portrayal is, is that one of the `true facts' we know from the real life Black Beard, is that he intertwined burning tapers in his beard while in battle, to appear more terrifying to his enemies. This image is never used in Stranger Tides - a strange decision, as it enforces the point that the real life Black Beard is a bigger character than his cinematic portrayal. A totally wasted opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars johnny is highly watchable again but...., 24 July 2011
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides [DVD] (DVD)
I only want to add this film to my collection because I am very fond of the way Johnny Depp portraits his character Jack Sparrow. But...it is not a POTC film. It looks as if Jack and only two left of his crew are featuring in a adventurefilm with pirates. Peneleope Cruz is a far cry from feisty Elizabeth Swann. Luckily the scriptwriters have spared us a passionate romance between Angelica and Jack. That would completely ruin the character of Jack Sparrow! Ian Mc Shane as Blackbeard is good, but he usually plays villains very well. But hang on! correct me if I'm wrong but doesn't Keith Richards play "Captain Teaque alias Blackbeard" as Jacks father????Who's the fake?? As a follow up with a promising plot the producers and writers could have done so much better! After seeing the movie, my first reactions were " I miss Gore Verbinsky " and " I miss the filming on these wonderful locations " and " I doesn't work not having Jack on his beloved Pearl " Johnny, Geofrey and Kevin do their best to bring back the POTC magic but they just don't stand a chance. I think Disney made a sad mistake by cutting down so heavily on the so successful POTC formula and it shows. Real fans will know the numerous " behind the scenes " pictures of the trilogy which show a wonderful atmosphere and actors and crew having lots of fun while making the films. Johnny Depp mixing happily with everyone from the highest to the lower ranks. All that reflected in the three first movies. Behind the scenes pictures of " On Strange Tides " show a friendly, polite and serious Johnny just doing the job, mainly on studio sets. The end of OST is good, leaving an opening to go back to the good old times and the return of the Black Pearl. Let's hope that Disney in its wisdom will let the familiar crew - Pintel, Ragetti, Cotton and parrot, Marty and monkey emerge together with the ship and perhaps Orlando and Keira will swallow their pride and admit it was stupid to declare themselves too good for playing pirates. So far both have not delivered a role which justified their statement. I'm sure the scriptwriters can come up with a plot in which Jack and Elizabeth desperately needs the help of Captain Will Turner and the Flying Dutchman. In other words: give us back the familar Pirates of the Caribbean films and Gore Verbinsky! I fear the worst, for rumours go that the next film will be filmed on the Pirates of the Caribbean attraction at Disneyland!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars better than the last two not as good as the first, 1 Mar 2012
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
The first three films in the Pirates franchise were marketed as a trilogy, but of course Disney couldn't just let the now-iconic character of Captain Jack Sparrow die, so here we are four years after At World's End with the fourth instalment, Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, which promises to be the start of a new trilogy, or at least the cash lovers at Disney hopes that's the case. However, this isn't the same old Pirates film with an overly complicated plot and a run time that would put even the most seasoned of moviegoers into a mild case of comatose; with Gore Verbinski out, director Rob Marshall breathes new life into the franchise with a streamlined story that's easier to follow than the hectic delirium of the originals.

Ian McShane fits his pirate boots brilliantly with a mixture of playfulness and dangerous unpredictability as Blackbeard. Visually, one of the best things in the movie is Blackbeard's ship, with its blood-stained sails and fire-breathing cannons, just the thing you need to punctuate the already-treacherous nature of McShane's character.

The cunning and voluptuous female lead, played by Penélope Cruz, is an old flame of Jacks and, apparently his one true love, I know this because the story says that is the case but the chemistry between the two says otherwise. They fight, they flirt, they sort of kiss, but their relationship feels unconvincing, and her character is so ill-defined that there's no romantic tension between the pair.

Really, though, at this point the Pirates franchise is all about Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow, the Keith Richards-inspired scallywag who always seems to oscillate between being drunk or hung-over. When the original Pirates appeared eight years ago, Jack wasn't the movie's main character; the films were mostly, and what seems baffling with hindsight, about Orlando Bloom's and Keira Knightley's characters (who thankfully are absent from this latest incarnation) which allows Depp the freedom to strut around mocking the stodgy, un-ironic bigness of the blockbuster in which he has found himself in. But Jack is the main event now, and while Depp manages to get his laughs, his act is starting to grow old. Still, he's like the party guest you can always count on to be the most entertaining, and he delivers.

Fans of the franchise will appreciate cameos by Keith Richards, who returns as Jack's dad. There is also a surprising and completely random cameo by Dame Judi Dench as a noblewoman who appears in an elaborate escape scene in London featuring swordplay, a wagon filled with flaming coal, and Jack swinging from a chandelier. The movie may not have all of the charm and vigour of the original Pirates film, but it's certainly worlds better than the last two instalments thanks to the renewed energy the new director brings to the table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sleep inducing!!, 26 Sep 2011
Loved the others but this one is just so bad.
Dont read the 5 star reviews because they certainly were'nt watching this movie with its long drawn out story.
Not sure what tempted Johnny Depp to make this awful film but i wish he hadn't.
Myself and the wife have officially re-named this film pirates of the caribbean on stranger turds!
Avoid...you have been warned!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sunken Pirates, 19 Sep 2011
By 
T. J. Wesker (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm not sure who's to blame for the travesty that is "Pirates Of The Caribbean (4) - On Stranger Tides". It can't be the writers as Ted Elliot and Terry Rossio penned the previous 3. It can't be the actors! Certainly Johnny Depp, Geoffrey Rush, Ian McShane, Kevin McNally and even Richard Griffiths put in good performances. I can only assume the responsibility for the dreadfulness of the film falls to the director Rob Marshall (revious films: "Nine", "Memoirs of a Geisha" and "Chicago"). The fact that the film lacked direction says it all! It was slow to the point of lethargic and I would not recommend this film to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear..., 17 Sep 2011
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides [DVD] (DVD)
Having enjoyed 3 of Pirates of the Caribbean, I was most unprepared for the disappointment of the film "On Stranger Tides" after borrowing it from a relative. I own the first 3 but will not be completing the set as I feel that sadly the 4th one lost story line, plot and was extremely slow and didn't even get going at all. I will be saving my money and buying the new Sherlock Holmes II when released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pirate of the Carri been had, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Keith T. Morris "skywatcher" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides [DVD] (DVD)
Good service from Amazon on this but the film was total rubbish! Nowhere as good or entertaining as the previous 3 films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 349 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides [DVD]
£9.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews