Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple rocks
I had this album bought for me for christmas when I was about 13/14. It was my request having heard it on radio luxembourg. In 1970 people didn't constant exposure to much apart from 'family favourites' or 'the clitheroe kid' so when I played this album on my dansette Christmas afternoon the whole family went into apoplexy. Their reaction just obviously increased my...
Published on 23 Feb 2008 by JP

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poorly mastered
This is not just the best Deep Purple album, it is even after all these year the one that still sets the standard for heavy rock and IMO has never been bettered by anyone anywhere.
Now i'm not one of these "it can only be vinyl or nothing" wallahs as to my ears there is nowt wrong generally with CD sound now they've learned how to do it properly.
In this case...
Published on 12 Nov 2012 by Peter Anderson


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple rocks, 23 Feb 2008
By 
JP "Keith Parfett" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Rock (Audio CD)
I had this album bought for me for christmas when I was about 13/14. It was my request having heard it on radio luxembourg. In 1970 people didn't constant exposure to much apart from 'family favourites' or 'the clitheroe kid' so when I played this album on my dansette Christmas afternoon the whole family went into apoplexy. Their reaction just obviously increased my affection for this album which remains to this day. Speed king starts the album with a massive cacaphony of sound driven by RBs frenetic guitar and JLs massive organ sound. (oh, er. sorry) then moves into the driving blues rock that marked Deep Purple out from the chaff. 2nd is bloodsucker recently reintroduced to the live set. 3rd Child in time One of the first anthems of rock predating Stairway I believe. 4th Flight of the rat a hugely riff laden song often forgotten and underated by many 5th Into the fire a slower bluesy rocker 6th Living wreck which opened my eyes to a life I was still to taste the classic lines "You came along for the weekend, But you only stayed for one night, You took off your hair, you took out your teeth, I almost died of fright." 7th Hard lovin' man this is really beutifully heavy but descends back into the choas that Speed King was born from. Throughout the album you have the driving rhythm section of Ian Paice and Roger Glover which has rarely been bettered. The soaring vocals of Ian Gillan who must rate in anybodies top three vocalists. Jon Lord a better player than virtually all others although perhaps not the showman that a Keith Emerson or a Rick Wakeman was. And then finally Ritchie Blackmore, mean, moody, argumentative, probably the best guitarist of his age including EC and JP. Even the faces imposed on Mount Rushmore seemed to add to the anti-establishment feel. This should be in anybodies top ten albums to buy. It switched me on to nearly 40 years of listning to rock music in it's many guises, but one I still return to regulaly. Keith Parfett
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A class act, 19 April 2001
By A Customer
Deep purple's first album with their new line-up was a dramatic change to their earlier releases. Deep Purple, their last album was in comparison a very mellow record (even so another superb album), and does not really sound like the predecessor to In Rock. A truly explosive sound from start to finish, and definitely THE pivotal hard-rock album of the seventies. Perhaps a very under-rated track is Living Wreck as I have not seen anything written about it anywhere...those who haven't got this album are missing out purely on that song.
If it's riffs, solos, bass lines, lyrical genius you're looking for, it's written everywhere, all over this album. Not much more to say than a truely great sound.....one to have for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps THE milestone of hard rock, 12 Jun 2005
By 
This album deserves recognition for the way its stunning power, volume and energy completely blew away practically anything people had heard at the time, and perhaps even moreso that you can play it to modern metal/hard rock fans and they will often be blown away by the same qualities. Superb, musical performances all round from perhaps the highest quality hard rock band ever. Combining monster riffs, insane solos, and musical passages, In Rock gets closer to Deep Purple's live, raw sound than any of their others. In my mind this makes it Deep Purple's best studio album.
Into the Fire and Bloodsucker are big as a house and showed many groups the way to Metal.
Speed King, Child in Time, Flight of the Rat and Hard Lovin' Man are superb adrenaline-fuelled bouts of hard rock/rock 'n' roll on speed.
Living Wreck is lighter than the others, but really grooves, and still hold power.
No weak tracks, plenty of variety within the album, and yet it seriously ROCKS throughout.
If you really like this, and want to hear more of Deep Purple from this era, look out for 'Live in Stockholm', for similar tunes, but further soloing and Deep Purple character
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple in Rock, 17 Dec 2012
By 
Stephen J. Edwards (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One for the heavy rock fan. To my mind the best Deep Purple album. Jon Lord's organ playing inspired me to take up keyboards - I love the chunky percussive Hammon on Child in Time. I was saddened to hear that he dies this year. Concerto for Group and Orchestra is still on my regular play list. 4 stars because I'm not wild about every track but still a great album IMHO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make sure you get the re-mastered version!, 29 Oct 2009
By 
R. Kane "Listener" (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Tons of material has been added to the re-mastered version, make sure you get that version!!

A very nice job, too! Much improved sound over the old version of this CD, it really comes to life. Extensive liner notes to busy the listener as vintage 1970 hard rock issues forth. "Into The Fire"!

I keep my Harvest UK LP of this title, with it's wonderful sleeve and decent pressing. I wonder why the American version has a different track order?

I can readily defend this album after all these years - sounds great, really good songs - very "heavy" sound.

Deep Purple have opther very, very good albums - but give this one a try if you're wondering which mid-line CD to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 27 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Its impossible to put this release in any other way! Hard rocking from start to finish. When this issue came out in 95 I listened to it non stop for 8 months. Don't even think about buying it, just buy it. Hard rock at its best, possibly the standard ALL hard rock albums should be judged by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique album that will live on well beyond the musicians!, 12 Jan 2001
'DEEP PURPLE IN ROCK'is the first and the greatest Purple album.This cd version also has a bonus selection of humourous studio chat in between different versions of some of the original seven tracks found on vinyl.Also 'Black Night'has been added to make the first seven into eight.A masterpiece from a brilliant group of musicians.A must for lovers of Hard Rock/Seventies music.BUY,BUY,BUY!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The spring board for all sorts of heavy rock!, 21 Nov 2002
As a great fan of hard rock and heavy metal from the seventies, "In Rock" is of course one of my favorites. On this classic album, made in 1970 there are hard, brutal and sometimes even dirty hard rock. The silver voice of lead singer Gillan and the violent riffing of the well known Blackmore is enough to make this a classic. But then there are also the talented Lord on the organ and young Paice on the jazzy drums, makes "In rock" a clear and steady five star LP. Everyone who is interested in some eldery rock n' roll should have this nasty little seven-track LP. I may also recomend "Machine head" and "Made in Japan", both from -72 if you are in it for Purple, but in my opinion "In rock" is the ultimate LP of all Deep Purple marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have hard rock album, 4 Dec 2009
By 
This album has been described as seminal, groundbreaking, an all time-classic. It is Roger Glover's favourite Deep Purple album. From the striking Mount Rushmore cover to the first bars of Speed King to the end of the 8 tracks the album never lets up.

This is first album with the "classic" Deep Purple line up of Blackmore, Gillan, Lord, Paice and Glover and they all perform brilliantly on it.

It's hard to pick favourite songs. "Speed King" is a rip-roaring starting track. "Child in Time" is a ten minute plus epic with Lord's keyboards playing a blinder. "Black Night" is a great short sharp single. Gillan's vocals were never better than on "Into The Fire". But there really is no bad song on the record.

The CD I have features a lot of bonus material including studio chat and different versions of some songs. I can take or leave that stuff to be honest. However the revealing sleeve notes by Simon Robinson on how the band formed and how "In Rock" was made are well worth reading.

Quire simply anyone with any interest in rock music must have this album in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple In Rock, 17 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. Raedwulf Ingham (Cumbria,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have never heard any vintage Deep Purple,and want to know what all the fuss is about,look no further,this remastered extended edition of'In Rock'has it all.If you think Jimmy Page was good in Led Zeppelin,just listen to'Child In Time',Blackmore's solo is something Page could only dream about,not to mention Ian Gillan's astonishing vocal performance.The unedited version of'Black Knight'is amazing,and can strip paint from a thousandyards.This album is for adrenalin junkies,and was a statement of musical intent for the 1970s and beyond.Maybe if Deep Purple could have had Zeppelin's Peter Grant as manager,it would be 'Purple'that would be universally venerated as'Rock Gods',and Ritchie Blackmore recognised as Britain's greatest guitar export.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews