Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple rocks
I had this album bought for me for christmas when I was about 13/14. It was my request having heard it on radio luxembourg. In 1970 people didn't constant exposure to much apart from 'family favourites' or 'the clitheroe kid' so when I played this album on my dansette Christmas afternoon the whole family went into apoplexy. Their reaction just obviously increased my...
Published on 23 Feb. 2008 by JP

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poorly mastered
This is not just the best Deep Purple album, it is even after all these year the one that still sets the standard for heavy rock and IMO has never been bettered by anyone anywhere.
Now i'm not one of these "it can only be vinyl or nothing" wallahs as to my ears there is nowt wrong generally with CD sound now they've learned how to do it properly.
In this case...
Published on 12 Nov. 2012 by Peter Anderson


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple rocks, 23 Feb. 2008
By 
JP "Keith Parfett" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Rock (Audio CD)
I had this album bought for me for christmas when I was about 13/14. It was my request having heard it on radio luxembourg. In 1970 people didn't constant exposure to much apart from 'family favourites' or 'the clitheroe kid' so when I played this album on my dansette Christmas afternoon the whole family went into apoplexy. Their reaction just obviously increased my affection for this album which remains to this day. Speed king starts the album with a massive cacaphony of sound driven by RBs frenetic guitar and JLs massive organ sound. (oh, er. sorry) then moves into the driving blues rock that marked Deep Purple out from the chaff. 2nd is bloodsucker recently reintroduced to the live set. 3rd Child in time One of the first anthems of rock predating Stairway I believe. 4th Flight of the rat a hugely riff laden song often forgotten and underated by many 5th Into the fire a slower bluesy rocker 6th Living wreck which opened my eyes to a life I was still to taste the classic lines "You came along for the weekend, But you only stayed for one night, You took off your hair, you took out your teeth, I almost died of fright." 7th Hard lovin' man this is really beutifully heavy but descends back into the choas that Speed King was born from. Throughout the album you have the driving rhythm section of Ian Paice and Roger Glover which has rarely been bettered. The soaring vocals of Ian Gillan who must rate in anybodies top three vocalists. Jon Lord a better player than virtually all others although perhaps not the showman that a Keith Emerson or a Rick Wakeman was. And then finally Ritchie Blackmore, mean, moody, argumentative, probably the best guitarist of his age including EC and JP. Even the faces imposed on Mount Rushmore seemed to add to the anti-establishment feel. This should be in anybodies top ten albums to buy. It switched me on to nearly 40 years of listning to rock music in it's many guises, but one I still return to regulaly. Keith Parfett
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps THE milestone of hard rock, 12 Jun. 2005
By 
This album deserves recognition for the way its stunning power, volume and energy completely blew away practically anything people had heard at the time, and perhaps even moreso that you can play it to modern metal/hard rock fans and they will often be blown away by the same qualities. Superb, musical performances all round from perhaps the highest quality hard rock band ever. Combining monster riffs, insane solos, and musical passages, In Rock gets closer to Deep Purple's live, raw sound than any of their others. In my mind this makes it Deep Purple's best studio album.
Into the Fire and Bloodsucker are big as a house and showed many groups the way to Metal.
Speed King, Child in Time, Flight of the Rat and Hard Lovin' Man are superb adrenaline-fuelled bouts of hard rock/rock 'n' roll on speed.
Living Wreck is lighter than the others, but really grooves, and still hold power.
No weak tracks, plenty of variety within the album, and yet it seriously ROCKS throughout.
If you really like this, and want to hear more of Deep Purple from this era, look out for 'Live in Stockholm', for similar tunes, but further soloing and Deep Purple character
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Rock: Deep Purple - It ROCKS!, 16 April 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following their three previous albums with Tertragrammaton, which provided an initial breakthrough with Hush but mainly found them struggling to find a direction with wild swings between psychedelia and prog rock, Deep Purple changed label, singer, bass player and style to produce the classic album that would define them, and heavy Rock.

Moving away from the prog and hippie trippy stuff of earlier albums, they finally committed themselves to the heavier rock sound that they had been occasionally toying with, but never fully realised. Their vision of a new sound finally sublimated itself into this stunning, never lets up, heavy rock album which still thrills over 40 years later.

At the heart of the album is the epic Child in Time, a track that just sums up what the band were about at the time. It's a dense sound, you get caught up in it and almost have no room to breathe. The bass of Roger Glover and drums of Ian Paice provides the skeleton around which Ritchie Blackmore plays some coruscating guitar and Ian Gillan delivers a full throttle howling vocal.

The rest of the album is just as good, with several tracks such as Speed King that have become enduring classics. It's a classic of the hard Rock genre, and as essential to your collection as Black Sabbath or Led Zeppelin's Signs.

This 1995 25 anniversary is a pretty classy affair with a great job having been done of the remastering. There is a host of bonus tracks, consisting of studio chat and remixes by Glover of the classic tracks. In the most part these are interesting, but to be honest I tend to programme these out and listen to the album in its original form.

5 stars all round. A real must have album in anyone's music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A class act, 19 April 2001
By A Customer
Deep purple's first album with their new line-up was a dramatic change to their earlier releases. Deep Purple, their last album was in comparison a very mellow record (even so another superb album), and does not really sound like the predecessor to In Rock. A truly explosive sound from start to finish, and definitely THE pivotal hard-rock album of the seventies. Perhaps a very under-rated track is Living Wreck as I have not seen anything written about it anywhere...those who haven't got this album are missing out purely on that song.
If it's riffs, solos, bass lines, lyrical genius you're looking for, it's written everywhere, all over this album. Not much more to say than a truely great sound.....one to have for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Rock, 6 July 2011
By 
Kingcrimsonprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Deep Purple In Rock, the band's fourth studio album (and first under the MKII line up of Ian Gillan, Ian Paice, Roger Glover, Jon Lord and Ritichie Blackmore) is one of the all time classic rock albums, streets ahead of its time and full of absolutely classic material.

The album starts as it means to go on with energetic opener `Speed King,' a furious and surprisingly heavy song that perfectly illustrates both what the album has still to come and what the MKII Deep Purple line up has to offer. The album is hard, direct and thoroughly captivating throughout, treading the line between reckless energy and expert musicianship really well.

Tracks like `Blood Sucker,' `Flight Of The Rat,' and `Living Wreck,' are some of the best rock songs you are likely to hear in your lifetime, and perfectly demonstrate why so many people still love this band, line up and album.

In Rock also contains the ten minute moody epic `Child In Time,' which features one of the best vocal performances anyone has ever recorded and which is one of the best Deep Purple songs period.

If you have any interest in rock or metal music at all, at some point you really ought to try Deep Purple In Rock. You'll find a very enjoyable listening experience if you do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The spring board for all sorts of heavy rock!, 21 Nov. 2002
As a great fan of hard rock and heavy metal from the seventies, "In Rock" is of course one of my favorites. On this classic album, made in 1970 there are hard, brutal and sometimes even dirty hard rock. The silver voice of lead singer Gillan and the violent riffing of the well known Blackmore is enough to make this a classic. But then there are also the talented Lord on the organ and young Paice on the jazzy drums, makes "In rock" a clear and steady five star LP. Everyone who is interested in some eldery rock n' roll should have this nasty little seven-track LP. I may also recomend "Machine head" and "Made in Japan", both from -72 if you are in it for Purple, but in my opinion "In rock" is the ultimate LP of all Deep Purple marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have hard rock album, 4 Dec. 2009
By 
This album has been described as seminal, groundbreaking, an all time-classic. It is Roger Glover's favourite Deep Purple album. From the striking Mount Rushmore cover to the first bars of Speed King to the end of the 8 tracks the album never lets up.

This is first album with the "classic" Deep Purple line up of Blackmore, Gillan, Lord, Paice and Glover and they all perform brilliantly on it.

It's hard to pick favourite songs. "Speed King" is a rip-roaring starting track. "Child in Time" is a ten minute plus epic with Lord's keyboards playing a blinder. "Black Night" is a great short sharp single. Gillan's vocals were never better than on "Into The Fire". But there really is no bad song on the record.

The CD I have features a lot of bonus material including studio chat and different versions of some songs. I can take or leave that stuff to be honest. However the revealing sleeve notes by Simon Robinson on how the band formed and how "In Rock" was made are well worth reading.

Quire simply anyone with any interest in rock music must have this album in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple In Rock, 17 Jan. 2009
By 
Mr. Raedwulf Ingham (Cumbria,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have never heard any vintage Deep Purple,and want to know what all the fuss is about,look no further,this remastered extended edition of'In Rock'has it all.If you think Jimmy Page was good in Led Zeppelin,just listen to'Child In Time',Blackmore's solo is something Page could only dream about,not to mention Ian Gillan's astonishing vocal performance.The unedited version of'Black Knight'is amazing,and can strip paint from a thousandyards.This album is for adrenalin junkies,and was a statement of musical intent for the 1970s and beyond.Maybe if Deep Purple could have had Zeppelin's Peter Grant as manager,it would be 'Purple'that would be universally venerated as'Rock Gods',and Ritchie Blackmore recognised as Britain's greatest guitar export.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grandpa's Generation Didn't Rock Hard ? Listen Again, 19 Jan. 2013
By 
Kamil Othman (Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nothing much to add to what the others have already said. This is one of the most enduring and brilliant rock albums ever made. Considering this is more than 40 years old, little need to be said about its staying power and how our children's children children will still be listening to it long after we are gone (yes, grandad's generation has its share of musical firepower too) . Why not five stars ? The vinyl version I have is the US version where they have clipped off the mayhem that was the intro to Speed King, the very hor d'oeuvres that give this album its unmistakable identity. A sacrilege. Sad but true. How about a UK version vinyl release ? Then even five stars would not be enough .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic rock - still a gem, 1 July 2011
I bought this CD because iTunes doesn't have the full album available and for some reason I never bought the CD - I have the vinyl of course. (iTunes version doesn't include Sweet Child in Time - huh?)

If you know the original album I don't need to tell you how good it is, but if you haven't heard it for a while (some years in my case) it's worth revisiting - it deserves to be in anyone's top - what - 40?

This version has a load of extra stuff - interesting if you like that sort of thing, but not really worth buying it for if you already have the "standard issue".

If you're into 60's/70s rock, you should have this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews