Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 13 Sep 2013
This review is from: Hits (Audio CD)
I love this carefully chosen selection of Joni Mitchell's 'hits.' Of course, 'River' really needs to be heard in its place on the 'Blue' album for it to have its full, devastating impact, and the cohesion that I'm used to on a Joni Mitchell album is lacking. But that's a given considering that these songs come from throughout her long and illustrious career.
Thank you, Joni, for the fantastic music over the years.
This is a brilliant introduction to Joni's music. Special enjoyment to be found in the inclusion of the full version of 'Come in From the Cold,' and of course the beautiful first track, 'Urge for Going,' which I had never heard before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have Joni Mitchell Album, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits (Audio CD)
This is the very best on one album, best get it while you can, don't think it'll be around forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this as I'd been meaning to listen (properly!) to some Joni for some time. I'm loving this so far as it has all the songs I knew already and some fantastic ones I hadn't. A great introduction to a legendary singer and writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits (Audio CD)
another brilliant album from a top lady singer song writer. A great list of hit records on the one album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 6 Jan 2012
By 
A. WINFIELD (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hits (Audio CD)
A wonderful compilation. Sheer poetry set to wonderful tunes. I must have played this dozens of times. I use my MP3 most nights whilst my wife is snoring and I never get tired of hearing many of these tracks. Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Mar 2011
This review is from: Hits (Audio CD)
I had not listened to Joni Mitchell for over 25 years when I didnt fully appreciate the music. Now, olderand more relaxed, I saw this album for sale and for less than a fiver bought it.
It is quite brilliant, the songs are thoughtful and Mitchells voice is not what I had heard all those years ago.
A superb set and I would recommend to anybody looking for something different and wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just Fine, 19 Jun 2005
By 
Peter Reeve (Thousand Oaks, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hits (Audio CD)
Joni Mitchell is one of the finest songwriters of her generation and certainly one of the very finest lyricists, Dylan not excepted. In fact, Urge For Going stands as a very fine poem in its own right.
Joni does not have as clear and tuneful a voice as Joan Baez or Judy Collins, her most notable peers and rivals, but she is a more accomplished musician. And her voice has a quirky, lyrical lilt to it that is very appealing and perfectly suited to songs like Chelsea Morning. Although the Judy Collins version is more famous -- and was the one that inspired the Clintons to name their daughter -- Joni's version has a special playfulness and charm about it. Her Canadian accent, especially notable on The Circle Game ("Rownd and rownd...") adds to the charm.
Her rendition of Woodstock is not so good. It is out of her range and degenerates at the end into wailing that is painful to listen to. It is worth pointing out also that she never made it to Woodstock.
Despite that caveat, this is a thoroughly enjoyable album. Joni has had a long and varied career and has not been shy about repackaging songs, but if you want to sample her music, or want her most famous songs, this CD will suit you just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not totally brilliant but worth having, 21 July 2014
This review is from: Hits (Audio CD)
Features some classic tracks that brought back a lot of memories. Not totally brilliant but worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits (Audio CD)
brilliant album joni is an icon and these tracks go to show just why
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both Sides Now, 27 May 2010
This review is from: Hits (Audio CD)
Joni's music is wonderful. It was conceived at a time when folk perfomers were experimenting with style and content, both of which were unique in Joni's case. 'Both Sides Now' is the perfect vehicle both for the songwriter's often sad but clever slant on things and for her amazing voice. 'Big Yellow Taxi' is a kind of anti-Modern protest song, beatifully and humorously expressed. It all still works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hits
Hits by Joni Mitchell
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews