Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as great (if not greater) than Rumours
Every critic will tell you that Mcvie, Nicks and Buckingham were at their writing peak during the Rumours album. However, I would definitely disagree. The songs on this album are some of the finest ever written in Mac history.

Although it came under scrutiny in 1979 for being over-preduced and too experimental, it is nothing compared to the wacky and...
Published on 14 Jan 2011 by JamesN

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars buy the double this has edits on it
Tusk was Fleetwood mac's answer to Punk or should I say Lyndsey Buckingham's answer to not doing Rumours part 2. Although not as successful as Rumours, Tusk has some great highlights including the title track. However Be warned of the single disc version with a single edit of Sara. When this was originally issued record companies felt it better to edit tracks or omit...
Published 21 months ago by Mr. R. G. Prizeman


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Dec 2012
By 
K. S. Hutchence "Kelland" (Paris) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tusk (Audio CD)
I first heard Tusk about 30 years ago (can that be true???!!) when after listening once I could find nothing in it. But experience over those many years taught me that what has instant appeal doesn't always last, whereas music that doesn't at first grab the attention can be found to have a depth and quality that needs to be looked for. Good example for me was Hooty and the Blowfish and even extends to classical music. In my 20s I certainly found nothing in Rachmaninov's piano concertos on first listening but - WOWW!!!Thanks to the reviews of Amazon I was prompted to by Tusk and try again, especially as I love all other Fleetwood Mac CDs. Again, at first listening I was disappointed. But I expected that, so I listened again, then a third time. By the fifth playing I was totally hooked and since I received it I've played Tusk at least twice each day. The depth of the music is amazing and the haunting rythms with Nick's great drumming (on a shoe box in some cases!) revolve inside my head, so much so that I really think I like Tusk even more than Rumours or Tango in the Night. No question in my mind - buy it and listen. You'll not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen several times before judging this, 20 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tusk (Audio CD)
Firsly make sure you buy the remastered full version. I for some reason had never got around to listening to this album in full, maybe I discounted it due to the mention of it being too experimental and reports that it sounded nothing like their other excellent work. I had previously only heard what are probably the most well known tracks, Sara and Tusk.
After the first listen I found a few of the tracks decent enough but was not blown away, however after a few more listens (the whole album through headphones) I can say that the album is absolutely stunning. It is full of excellent invention and emotion ( haunting as the cover sticker describes well). The production, ideas and playing by Buckingham (who is the clear driving force)really are all top drawer, Stevie Nicks voice is the best it's ever been and the whole band sound excellent throughout. It is certainly not Rumours (of course also brilliant but in a different way) and is not full of radio friendly instantly likeable chart hits, however in my opinion many of the tracks are superior. Real music fans that seek out the talent thats sadly lacking in todays music world should learn to love this. Just give it a proper chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the `mac go their own way, 4 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Tusk (Audio CD)
After the success of "Rumours" which was one of the best-selling lps of all time, a heavy weight of expectation lay on the band to repeat the magic formula, from record company executives and fans alike. Instead of taking the easy route they holed up at the village recorder in los angeles and created a very different and possibly their finest album. They embraced the new digital recording technology which was still in it`s infancy and applied it to some of the best material they had written to date. Stevie Nicks is at the top of her game here with absolute stand-out tracks like "Storms", "Sisters of the moon" and the lovely "Sara". Christine McVie contributions are equally outstanding with "Over and over", "Never forget" and "Brown eyes" vying for top honours. Curiously, Lindsay Buckingham, who, received wisdom has it was the genious and creator beind the album, doesn`t fly as high as on the previous two albums although he contributes the mighty "Tusk" and "That`s all for everyone". All too often his contributions seem like filler. He was probably trying too hard to be too different and the country-punk of "It`s not that funny" and "that`s enough for me" are just embarrassing. But his guitar work, especially on "sisters of the moon" was rarely bettered. Yes, "Tusk" would probably have made a better single album but there are more treasures here than on any other late `70s / `80s era fleetwood mac album and it bears repeated listening. For me the greatest buried treasure on the album is at the end of Christine`s gorgeous "Brown eyes", where, right on the fade out,Peter Green contributes a trademark solo, as only he can (apparently he was visiting L.A. at the time and stopped by to say hello).If, like me, you are Peter Green fan, this is worth the price of the album alone! Many people consider this album a failure, if you call four million worldwide sales a failure! I personally think is is the best body of work they created ouside of the Peter Green years. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fleetwood Mac. The Return, 7 Mar 2006
This review is from: Tusk (Audio CD)
What can you do after "Rumours"?. Well, another masterpiece seems certainly a good idea. "Tusk" was a double LP in its time, and maybe people didn't like it then for that reason. There are few double CDs or Lps really worth while, but this is one. It may need more than one careful listening, but it catches you in the end. Sara, Brown eyes, That's all for everyone, Beautiful child... These songs may haunt you from the beginning, as it happen with me, or after a few times, but they're gems, like the rest of the songs. "Tusk" stands alone in FM's discography, without any obvious relation with the sound of "Rumours" and "Mirage". But I would say that it also stands alone as the peak of their careers, and their greatest achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music only the Fleets could make.., 1 Mar 2002
By 
Damien Boyd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tusk (Audio CD)
Talk about pressure! Fleetwood Mac were the biggest band in the world and had to follow up on "Rumours"! They took up that challenge with great gusto because this album is a gem. Yes, there is some repetition from previous albums but there are also some great breakthrough tracks. The album is typically split between the fast and serious ("Not that funny","Storms", "Tusk") and the slow ballads ("Beautiful child", "Honey Hi", "Thats all for everyone"). FM fans can see for themselves the various contributions from the individual members. Overall, it gels well with repeated listens. I think 'Honey Hi" is the highlight of the album, a terrific, delicate love song.
It makes me sad when I remember the poor reviews it received but at least it took off some of the pressure of being "the best". 1982's release "Mirage" would show there was (abundant) life left in the old dog!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hyper-Creativity ..., 8 April 2011
This review is from: Tusk (Audio CD)
I've always classed 'Rumours' as a very good but not incredible album - the cover art perhaps selling it more than the content. Tusk IS incredible for Lindsey Buckingham's sheer nerve & creativity - his tracks are off the wall even by today's standards. Stevie Nicks' contributions are also fantastic, Storms, Sarah, Beautiful Child. (I'm NOT a huge Christine fan, musically, she is the MOR Queen who plays it safe and I tend to skip a lot of her tracks, sorry!) I've seen the Mac's most recent concerts (2010), Buckingham is always on fire, love his hyper-creativity & stage persona (check out, also, FM's brilliant 'Say You Will' (2003) album if you haven't already & Stevie's track, 'Illume', - power, power, power to her!) But, I digress, if you like New Wave combined with freshness and experimentation, go for Tusk. this album, in my opinion, IS the MAC's seminal album, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Second Best Ever Double Album, 14 Mar 2004
By 
John Heaton (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tusk (Audio CD)
Yes, this is Fleetwood Mac's masterpiece, because this album more than any other allows three awesome songwriters to show in depth what they were capable of. Only The Beatles' White Album surpasses it as a double album. And that is Saying Something. Better than Exile On Main Street, better than Songs In The Key Of Life, better than Goodbye Yellowbrick Road. Primarily because Fleetwood Mac are, apart from The Beatles, the only band I can think of with 3 songwriters of such sheer brilliance all contributing AND complimenting eachother. And a pretty mean rhythm section to boot. Buckingham is IRREPRESSIBLE throughout on his own songs - daring, beautiful, exciting, melodic, absorbing...I have RUN OUT OF ADJECTIVES and also on his bandmembers' songs....he takes Sisters Of The Moon to an ALTOGETHER HIGHER level, just to name BUT ONE.
From the ecsquisite opener right through to the mournful closing track, both from Christine McVie incidentally, this is an album to MARVEL at. Just as much so, 35 years or so after the event. Thank You guys, this album never fails to bring joy, warmth and happiness, not to mention a struggle for the appropriate words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great double albums of all time, 21 July 2001
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tusk (Audio CD)
'Tusk' is an album I picked up 2nd-hand in the mid-90's, after reading an excellent review of it in the NME's 'Unknown Pleasures' & Greil Marcus' tome 'In the Fascist Bathroom'...EVERYTHING THEY SAID WAS TRUE AND SOME OF IT MAY BE RE-STATED HERE.
'Tusk' is an excellent double-album: the follow-up to the multi-million unit shifter 'Rumours'...The best tracks from that bestseller, 'Gold Dust Woman', 'Dreams' and 'The Chain' point to this record. Which nobody bought!
So, this was their follow-up to 'Rumours', a bloated double album a la Yes or Led Zep?
The production is excellent- the Mac, as with Steely Dan or the Beastie's circa 'Paul's Boutique' or REM circa 'Automatic' or Brian Wilson or-ETC, spent two years experimenting in the studio and came up with this classic.
Yes, it's as good as other necessary double-LP's: 'Physical Graffiti', 'Electric Ladyland', 'The Basement Tapes', 'Warehouse (songs & stories), 'Sign 'o' the times', 'Kiss me, kiss me, kiss me', 'Metal Box/2nd Edition', 'Trout Mask Replica', 'Bitches Brew', ETC...All of these tracks on this CD provides excellent value (tho' the editing of 'Sara' is irritating- and along with the gatefold aspect of the original vinyl version I have (it makes an excellent tray!)is the only plus-point against this version). It might be nice to have a double CD, with out-takes etc?
The songs are great, for the last time- the follow-up's 'Mirage' and 'Tango...' would be dull and appalling yuppie rock...'That's all for Everyone' reminds me of Wilco and contains wonderful harmonics and a soulful vocal from Buckingham...Nicks' 'Angel' is an upbeat 'Dreams'type song, with a keyboard undertow that tugs the heart and is better than anything on 'Rumours'...'Brown Eyes' is the best McVie song, a mellow organ number and a vocal like honey...'The Ledge' is a blend of rockabilly a la 'Shake your money maker' meeting the tuneful songwriting of Buckingham on 'Fleetwood Mac' and the production of Sly's 'There's a riot goin' on'. 'That's enough for me' is another flipside, the problem-or rather it's most attractive quality is it's moodshifting schizophrenia: the title track a tribal-jazz slab of nonsense, 'Storms' & 'Sara' as otherworldly as 'Stoned Soul Picnic' or THe Cocteau Twins. 'Think about me', a sequel to 'Second Hand News'. 'Over & Over'the soothing beginning, suggesting recurrence.
This has to be listened to in one go, severaltimes. A superb record from a band that I don't have much time for...One of the great double albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Rumour has it, 15 July 2014
By 
Peter Hill ""yoghurtknitter"" (Waterville Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tusk (Audio CD)
I've been disappointed before by double albums that have followed on from an earlier classic album, Yes' Topographic Oceans & Genesis' Lamb lies down on Broadway' spring to mind but whereas both of those albums had something to offer i really just don't understand the praise heaped upon this one.
I loved 'Rumours' (along with 20+ million other souls) and that album was obviously going to be a hard act to follow but due to the poor reviews this album received at the time of release, when the music press was mostly respected & believable, i never actually bought Tusk but decided recently to rectify that oversight.
I expected it wasn't going to be an easy listen but have grown to love 'difficult' albums and was quite looking forward to getting my teeth into this one but after numerous plays i'm just underwhelmed.
The liner notes state it was "ambitious, diverse & experimental" but are those statements correct?
Ambitious..probably Yes. Two years in the making (way too long) with personal frictions within the band and a double album to boot.
Diverse..Not really. Most of the tracks are basically just ballads (some are nice but none especially memorable) and the few more upbeat numbers are average country rock with a strange hillbilly(?) guitar sound flowing through them.
Experimental..Maybe. To change your style so dramatically that you're virtually unrecognizable as the band you were could be said to be brave or foolish depending upon your point of view.
The album is partially rescued by the excellent title track but although lyrically not doubt profound at times and with some nice vocals throughout i found little else within the songs to make me love this album.
I'm no doubt in the minority but for me this is just disappointingly uninspired generic AOR in the guise of a 'classic'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fathers Day, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tusk (Audio CD)
this gift went down really well, unfortunatly we already had a copy, so have since passed it on to a friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tusk
Tusk by Fleetwood Mac
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews