Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
I really loved this album, as for me it is a classic.
It has all of the things that an album should have! There are up-tempo songs and slow songs. Also, if you like to sing along, the lyrics are in the booklet. The best song is "There you'll be" as featured in the movie Pearl Harbour.
I bought the album after hearing a friend singing it, and I asked her what it...
Published on 30 Dec 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars first time with faith hill
i had never heard of faith hill till i saw this cd on amazon,but at that price i gave it a go.its much in the style of shania twian,she has a great voice most of them are country rock ballards.the only song i knew was piece of my heart which she does a great job with,so all in all a nice easy listening album for chilling out with a glass of wine or the one you love well...
Published on 15 Nov 2012 by robin smith


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 30 Dec 2004
I really loved this album, as for me it is a classic.
It has all of the things that an album should have! There are up-tempo songs and slow songs. Also, if you like to sing along, the lyrics are in the booklet. The best song is "There you'll be" as featured in the movie Pearl Harbour.
I bought the album after hearing a friend singing it, and I asked her what it was so I took a gamble, as I had never heard any other Faith Hill songs before.
Amazon is the best price for this album I have seen e.g. in HMV it was £6.99.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest hits- but so what?, 2 Feb 2003
I seem to be going backwards with all of the Faith Hill albums. I bought her latest one, Cry, when it was first released, and since then, I have been going backwards in finding all of her earlier albums! Having said that, each one is of an extremely high standard and her voice never changes.
This album begins with the well known song There You'll Be. I know many people who like this song, but not the rest of her music. This could certainly be true, but it doesn't mean that you have to like one or the other, in fact I love it all.
The rest of her album is in a totally different style, and it includes a collection of songs that, yes, could be labelled her Greatest Hits, but does that really matter? Not really, as there are sure to be songs which you haven't heard here, and they're all brilliant! From This Kiss to You Give Me Love, you need this album! Even if the original The Way You Love Me is not included, it doesn't really make any difference to the quality of the music, and if you really need the original, it's there in other albums!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faith Hill - There You'll Be, 28 Mar 2003
By 
You must buy this. I bought the album after going to the cinema to see Pearl Harbour I heard this particular song from the film and wow! I had to get it. The album itself is just as good and it is very rarely that almost every song on any album is wonderful! this is. A must have for those girlie fans of love music! combined with some really catchy songs you can really get singing with. A definite 5star for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, Smashing, Splendic, Crazy, Supereb, Immaculate, Metal, 24 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Faiths Finest Realse In Music!
All the tracls are classic and really make you happy. The 1st track "There You'll Be" is the perfect intro to this immaculate album. Out of Faith's 4 albums this one contains new, old tracks which are a fine, definative, greatest hits collection which has a song for everyone. The Inlay Booklet Conatins all the lyrics and some nice pic's of Faith. She is the new Madonna. Buy this album and it will be the perfect christmas token.
a music breaking ballad collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff from Hill again., 7 Mar 2007
Faith Hill is a legend in country music, but I do find her to have a more `rock' take on country, which I love. You do also get the great slow, sad songs which are just so well written.

In this greatest hits album you have some of the best songs faith has done, although there are some even better songs which failed to make it on to this cd, don't know why, but its still an amazing collection .

Every song on here is great ( with the exception of `over the rainbow' never cared for that song).

A classic collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb compilation of this top lady of country music., 6 Dec 2011
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At £3.99 from Amazon what are you waiting for!! this is a must buy album for anyone interested in country music or for those who just likes great music.

Faith is not only a beautiful lady but has a beautiful distinctive voice which at her hight of fame was equal to or better than any of her contemporaries. This album has a mix of fast and slow. I think her voice is better with the slow ones but that is just nit picking. I think this album is worth the money just for the tracks 'There You'll Be' and 'Breathe' the other 12 tracks are just a bonus! A nice booklet with all the words finishes this off nicely.

Instead of buying a bar of chocolate, a bag of crisps and can of pop, spend the money on this album instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars first time with faith hill, 15 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i had never heard of faith hill till i saw this cd on amazon,but at that price i gave it a go.its much in the style of shania twian,she has a great voice most of them are country rock ballards.the only song i knew was piece of my heart which she does a great job with,so all in all a nice easy listening album for chilling out with a glass of wine or the one you love well worth a listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the best of faith hill, 11 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did'nt care for this ,making every note last forever,the sooner she gets back to plain ole country music the better .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AKA "The Greatest Hits"., 20 Nov 2001
Normally any Faith Hill release I review would get 5 stars immediately. The quality of her material is of a consistently high standard and although critics and particularly the CMA may not agree I believe that each new album has been of a higher standard than the last in terms of diversity, quality of song and strength of voice.
Part of the appeal of being a big Faith Hill fan is watching her popularity steadily grow in the UK so this collection of songs entitled "There You'll Be" after her biggest UK hit was eagerly awaited by myself. All the UK singles are present and correct but I feel the collection could have been much stronger for new listeners and this was a perfect opportunity to release some rare Faith Hill gems difficult to get hold of in this country, "Just To Hear You Say That You Love Me", "It's Your Love", "Where Are You Christmas" etc etc etc.
Before analysing the ommissions I'll focus on the actual content. The high point is "Breathe". A soaring new country pop ballad taken originally from the album of the same name. "Breathe" features both in it's original version and the Tin Tin Out remix recently released in the UK. The remix should have done for Faith Hill what the remix of "What Can I Do" did for The Corrs but this was not to be, perhaps due to a lack of a real marketing drive, even though the song did always seem to be on the radio. The Tin Tin Out remix stays true to the sentiment of the song and although does not improve upon the original certainly does it no harm, however to include the new version without the original, which thankfully turns up at the end would have been a travesty! Unfortunately this is just what happens with "The Way You Love Me", the UK remix was a stomping dance mix, good as a B side to a single but not to promote a song which stayed at the top end of the US charts for the good part of a year! The remix although fun does the original no justice and although it has earned it's place on the album as one of Hill's bigger UK hits should have been as an alternative to the original.
The rest of the songs are taken from either the album "Love Will Always Win" or the aforementioned "Breathe" with a few exceptions, "You Give Me Love" and "My Wild Frontier" have both been previously released on the album "Faith", the US version of "Love Will Always Win" and also as the B-Sides to the UK single "Let Me Let Go". The only new material as far as I'm aware is a fairly dull by usual standards "Somewhere Down The Road" and a cover of 30s classic "Somewhere Over the Rainbow" which is one of the album's high points, fantastic production and vocal.
Every song on this album is impressive, with Faith Hill singing it could them they could not be anything but. However I feel the choice of material is a little strange, not so much what has been chosen to be included on the album, more what has been excluded. Two whole albums of work at the beginning of her career have not been touched, the second album in particular spawning some major US country hits which could easily have crossed over to the UK with as much ease as tracks such as "My Wild Frontier" could. "It Matters To Me" is like the prequel to the song "Breathe" and would have fitted in perfectly. "You Can't Lose Me" would have kept Faith's country feel and provided a much needed up-beat track.
However, the most surprising exclusion is one of her greatest works. "Let's Make Love" is one of Faith's three recorded duets with her husband Tim McGraw, it is widely regarded to be the highlight of her last album, to include "There Will Come A Day" and not "Let's Make Love" seems to me a very strange choice. I would be interested to know who makes those kind of decisions.
Although every song is special on this album it doesn't have the feel of one of Faith's studio albums. A very enjoyable album nonetheless, although I would have subtitled the album "Great Hits", I wouldn't feel comfortable using the superlative as I simply wouldn't believe it to be a true statement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shouldn`t it be titled "Greatest Hits", 7 Nov 2001
By A Customer
The gorgeous Faith Hill is one of my fave performers and it`s great to see her trying to do a Shania and get noticed in Britain.....BUT,isn`t this album a big con? I mean, for those of us who have enjoyed her music for the past 7 years, we already have most of the songs on this album on her previous albums and therefore it`s a con to release a new album but including nearly all old tracks. Great tracks but as i already have most, i feel cheated and think this should`ve been titled "Greatest Hits".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews