Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming tales
This edition combines two books, Mrs Harris Goes To Paris and Mrs Harris Goes To New York. Both are set in the late 1950's. In the first book, Mrs Harris, a London charlady in her early 60's, dreams of owning a Christian Dior dress. She scrimps and saves to be able to realise her dream and the book follows the ups and downs of her personal journey. The story is light,...
Published on 15 Nov 2011 by Adrenalin Streams

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light and whimsical
This is actually two books in one: Mrs Harris Goes to Paris, and Mrs Harris Goes to New York. Mrs Harris Goes to Paris was originally published as Flowers for Mrs Harris, so be careful not to buy the same story under another title!

Mrs Harris Goes to Paris is an enjoyable light read, perfect for dull grey winter days. A London char, Mrs Harris has a knack of...
Published on 18 Jan 2011 by hiljean


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming tales, 15 Nov 2011
This edition combines two books, Mrs Harris Goes To Paris and Mrs Harris Goes To New York. Both are set in the late 1950's. In the first book, Mrs Harris, a London charlady in her early 60's, dreams of owning a Christian Dior dress. She scrimps and saves to be able to realise her dream and the book follows the ups and downs of her personal journey. The story is light, charming and uplifting in nature. Not only is the main goal interesting but equally the effect that the indomitable Mrs Harris has on those she meets, of whatever class or station in life. In the second book, set a few years later, Mrs Harris is invited to accompany one of her employers, an American woman, to New York while she and her husband (who has had a massive promotion) re-establish themselves in society. Mrs Harris uses the opportunity to smuggle the child who lives next door to her, abandoned by his English mother and US GI father and who is being abused by his foster family, into the US to try to find his father and re-unite him. Of course, such an act of blind faith and naivity has some unexpected consequences which make the book very entertaining. Paul Gallico was a prolific American author who lived for some years in the UK. As such he has a very good feel for both cultures and the class distinctions of the time. In Mrs Harris he has created a powerful character who demonstrates all that was seen as good and to be admired in the British working class, namely, the capacity for hard work, grit and determination, a fine sense of what is right, and an independence of spirit and charm that breaks down all class barriers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light and whimsical, 18 Jan 2011
By 
hiljean (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is actually two books in one: Mrs Harris Goes to Paris, and Mrs Harris Goes to New York. Mrs Harris Goes to Paris was originally published as Flowers for Mrs Harris, so be careful not to buy the same story under another title!

Mrs Harris Goes to Paris is an enjoyable light read, perfect for dull grey winter days. A London char, Mrs Harris has a knack of endearing herself to everyone she meets from the lowliest person to the highest in the land. Admittedly this is a little whimsical but if you can suspend your disbelief the story jogs along quite nicely and has a good, and quite moral, twist at the end.

Mrs Harris Goes to New York is somewhat less successful in my view. Apart from Gallico's inability to reproduce genuine cockney speech, which irritates after a while, plausibility really is stretched to the limit in this tale in which she tries to reunite a GI child with his father.

This new Bloomsbury edition of the two-books-in-one is littered with mistakes and has been poorly proof-read. A shame as the cover design is rather good.

If you are new to Gallico, I would recommend you start with his wonderful animal stories such as "Jennie" and "Thomasina".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming Little Gems, 13 Sep 2011
By 
bookworm "Sue K" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mrs Harris books are the ultimate feel-good stories. Paul Gallico pays homage to that British institution - the Char lady - and here we have a good, down to earth character who seems to possess a magic that works it's way through those that she meets on her journeys. Sensible, no-nonsense - these books could easily have bordered on the syrupy but Mr Gallico keeps Ada Harris's feet firmly on the ground. The stories are to be read and re-read when the days outside are gloomy.

They are written in the 50s and that must be taken into consideration when reading them and although some dialogue may look dated, Mr Gallico expresses himself eloquently and the writing is a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read !!, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Harris Goes to Paris & Mrs Harris Goes to New York (The Adventures of Mrs Harris) (Kindle Edition)
I saw the film and couldn't wait to read the book. It's brilliant, funny ,sad and moving all at the same time. A story of real folk you could almost believe it to be true. Just ordinary middle classes a good read for all and great fun too. I definitely recommend !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Game of Two Halves !!, 7 Jun 2013
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mrs Harris Goes to Paris & Mrs Harris Goes to New York (The Adventures of Mrs Harris) (Kindle Edition)
These two short stories are quite different in believability, the Paris one is a metaphor for goal achievement and common sense in that it shows that even the most humble of us can have goals that can be realized using determination and drive and even the Hoi polloi can feel comfortable in high society, it's just a case of knowing that you're as good as the next man. The second story about the kidnap and trip to the U.S.A is so ridiculous as to be farcical, it just wouldn't happen like that even in the wildest of your dreams, it's a pity that the second story was so silly because the first one gave us a good lesson about human nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old school writing and an enjoyable couple of stories., 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Harris Goes to Paris & Mrs Harris Goes to New York (The Adventures of Mrs Harris) (Kindle Edition)
A good choice for a holiday read and serves as a reminder of when life was pre computers and we didn't have all the mod cons of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!, 7 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Harris Goes to Paris & Mrs Harris Goes to New York (The Adventures of Mrs Harris) (Kindle Edition)
These two novels are priceless! I absolutely loved Mrs Harris the London char with buckets of charm. I highly recommend both books. They are highly entertaining and great stories - I love a good story and I was so disappointed when I finished both books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paul Gallico, 1 Aug 2010
I am a uk guy , 62 yrs old and watched tv during its formative years of the 50's and 60's. During this period there was a series called the Adventures of Hiram Holliday, based on the novels of the same name, by Paul Gallico.
Recently my wife, who is 11 yrs younger than I, were ata car boot sail when we saw what looked like a 60's edition of the Mrs Harris series which I bought for sentimental reasons. The next day I was looking for it at home when my wife told me that she had started reading it and was loving it. Hence me ordering this volume from Amazon.
She has subsequently finished reading it and was over the moon with it. She said it lacked sophistication, sex and violence.......FANTASTIC. It was thye type of read that we need at times to take us away from the harsh realities of this life. A simple pleasure well enjoyed. Thank you Paul Gallico and Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light reading, 21 Aug 2010
Written in a different age. 1930's, with different expectations but with basic good honest values underlying . Oh that some things could remain the same.
Mrs Harris, a "lady who does", always seems to have a twinkle in her eye for me, and is not afraid of anyone it seems. She is a cleaner in a posh part of London with a number of elegant and celebrity clients who rely on her totally to restore their apartments from chaos to order.She has a burning ambition to own a Dior dress and has been saving up . Aided by a small pools win she undertakes with help from her friends and clients to travel to Paris for the day to purchase her gown.
Her resulting adventures and the people she meets make this a delightful little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great condition,fabulous value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews