Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.8 out of 5 stars13
2.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2013
The video quality is very impressive and the camera copes with changes from light to dark and back with very little delay. The screen is spot on for lining shots up and reviewing footage but the laser is OTT. It takes good still shots and the sound is better than I expected. It's not the most intuitive operating system I've ever come across but It's not intolerable.
Unfortunately the mounting systems are absolutely useless, as you will read in every other review on this, or any other site. It's such a shame a potentially good piece of kit is let down at the last minute by such an important aspect of an action camera. Every one of my mounts has broken or just didn't fit/ hold in the first place. Also It seems that replacement parts are not readily available, although this would be a false economy.
Also, as a warning to all action camera buyers-Buy the best memory card you card you can afford. I strapped this to my bike and risked my neck around the Nurburgring (Infamous race track)3 times and it didn't record 1 F'ing lap. I've since found out that if the file exceeds the memory size then NOTHING will be recorded/saved. This applies to all action cameras, not just this one. Make sure you get a memory card with the largest memory but also the highest class (10) as this will make any footage you record much smoother.
In conclusion follow the crowd. I've seen lots of footage from mates Go-Pros. Top quality stills and Videos and a never ending array of OE and after market mounting systems and accessories. Well worth the extra pennies.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2011
Good Camera very good picture quality.

But I would never by another one because of the quality of the mounting bracket. After about a day it cracked and you can't replace the bracket or use the camera in any way without it.

As I also bought a GPS unit & spare battery separately, I had to glue the mount together and hope for the best.

"Tough Enough to Follow you anywhere".

At least Oregon have a sense of humour.

I'm sure the bracket would be fine as long as you never take it out of the box, as it cracked before I even had a chance to use it.

The rest of the mounting kit looks to be of equal quality,
review image
22 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2010
Myself and a few friends did some New forest cycle tracks on the weekend and it was the first 'proper' try out of the camera. I must say it was great, we had a good day and it was really added to by sitting around afterwards with beers and icepacks(!) watching the footage.
The image quality is top notch (Various plugs means we can watch it on the TV in HD). There is a little laser pointer on it which meant we always knew where we were filming. Was light enough that didn't notice it most of the time. Had a few bumps too and it seems fine. This will now be going with me on every run I do. Really glad I bought it!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2012
I am really pleased with the quality of videos that this camera produces.

Over the last few years I have had many good cameras with bulky underwater housings and none of them have worked as well as the ATC9 underwater.

I have also had a few camcorders and none of them have been as easy to strap to my bike helmet or to the handlebars of my bike (or the roof bars of a car...) And the videos look bright and colourful in HD.

I have not had any problems with the quality of the mounts and straps.

I whole heartedly recommend this camera!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
It was good while it worked, but when it filled up with water... i had used the camera a few times to less than the recommended depth and then i noticed what looked like condensation on the inside of the lens. The camera then stopped working. Fortunately it was still under guarantee so I managed to get my money back - this tended to be a bit of a drawn out process as the suppliers were in Germany. Oregon in this country could not help as they required the supplier to deal. Eventually things got sorted. The screen is very small and difficult to read - the photos and video and sound are quite good. The camera is a little difficult to control, especially with gloves on, as it is quite small. I used it mounted to my wrist with a rubber strap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2010
I strapped it to my helmet (strap provided) and went kayaking, it gave excellent results.
The only reason it lost a star was that the first one I received was faulty.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2011
Well it's only been a month and now it's winging its way back to sender, On day two the clip on the yellow ring that holds the camera to the head or bike mounting system snapped, with out much pressure and that was just after placing it on to the helmet mount, not best pleased but after a quick superglue fix all was well, The camera when it was working (will not switch on now), is fantastic the HD video image quality both underwater and on dry land and even the still shots are very impressive, and I cant really fault them, it is packed with lots of features a very handy laser,rear monitor speaker and more, I would also recommend the extra GPSOregon Scientific ATC9K_GPS ATC9K GPS Module module as, you can track your outing with Google maps, see your speeds (AVG, DIST and MAX), G-forces, and a graph of other stuff. The software that comes with it could be better but you get full support from Oregon Scientific. However with all the good things its capable of it's the build quality that lets it down, as an item designed with extreme sports or adventure in mind the feeble plastics are letting it down big time. It does look good and the bright yellow will catch people attention when helmet mounted. Would I recommend it, well im not sure, if it was just about the features performance and looks then yes, but for something able to take a few knocks then No. I think I would have to GoPro GoPro HD Motorsports HERO not as good looking as the ATC9K but with stronger plastics. You might be more lucky than I was. if so you'll have a great camera. ***UPDATE***(bought another since my last review 17/08/2011, works perfect and seems stronger 08/11/2011)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2011
Camera quality is good, sound is not as good as the Go-Pro.

For an action camera that is tough enough to follow you anywhere, one would assume that it would get damaged. And the most vunerable area is the glass lens protector.

I broke this glass unexplicably, so I did what was the norm...Contacted Oregon Scientific. All I wanted to do is fix the glass, even at my own cost. Unfortunately, the camera cannot be fixed by any camera specialist, nor can Oregon provide a cost effective solution (as it would have to go to China).

At least GO-PRO have lens repair kits. I am now left with a camera with a crack in the glass piece, which reduces quality and if humid creates a blurry image - of course is no longer waterproof.

Beware!
55 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2011
I bought this adventure camera / camcorder for my recent Philippine for use when snorkelling around coral reefs and sunken WW2 Japanese war ships. It was superb, excellent imagery, easy to use, and the GPS accessory very useful. I also strapped it to a jet ski, again great footage although internal condensation problem occurred when jet skiing, it was very quickly rectified afterwards. Underwater no problems, it was simply magnificent. Highly recommended.Oregon Scientific ATC9K HD Action Camera
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2010
As a Microlight pilot I am looking at using this camera on my helmet. The strap supplied was too short and does not fit on my helmet, I now discover that you cannot operate this below zero degrees (it is cold up there). This is not mentioned on this site - where I purchased it from. Apparently it is somewhere in the operation manual (they do not make a cold weather sleeve for this model)...so basically it is no good for flying
44 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)