Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toast as it SHOULD be !
Back in the early Sixties, when my wife and I were first married, the toaster to have was a Morphy Richards, so that's what we bought, and it gave Sterling service.
When it finally gave up the ghost 44 years later, we replaced it with a different (big-name) brand of toaster, which turned out to be utterly useless. The problem was that the elements took an eternity to...
Published on 2 April 2012 by Jim Alexander

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Smells like burning plastic upon first use, but toasts bread as promised.
First use this morning reeked of plastic and chemicals. I also don't like that crumpets get stuck- how can you sell a toaster in the UK that doesn't work well with crumpets anyway- surely illegal.

Anyways, it's stylish and delivery was next day with prime. For the price I'm happy.
Published 11 months ago by Nicholas J. Stoneman


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toast as it SHOULD be !, 2 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VTT201 Red Stainless Steel 2 Slice Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
Back in the early Sixties, when my wife and I were first married, the toaster to have was a Morphy Richards, so that's what we bought, and it gave Sterling service.
When it finally gave up the ghost 44 years later, we replaced it with a different (big-name) brand of toaster, which turned out to be utterly useless. The problem was that the elements took an eternity to reach "red-heat", resulting in the bread being "baked" from the inside out, rather than being toasted. It eventually went in the bin, to be replaced by this Breville.
To make perfect toast, IMHO, the bread should be toasted quickly, to the point of being slightly caramelised, but leaving the inside still soft. If this is how you like your toast, then this Breville toaster could be for you.
Is it perfect ?? No, there are a couple of small niggles (1) normal size slices of bread are too tall to be completely toasted, leaving an inch or so of un-toasted bread at the top. Also, the slots are not wide enough to accommodate the slices horizontally, unless a sliver is cut off one end, and (2)the dot on the round "browning control" knob to show the setting is not very easy to see. A pointer-knob would have been better.
Knowing what I know now, would I still buy this toaster ?? Yes, absolutely. The toast it makes is mouth-watering !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent toaster, much better than cheaper alternatives., 7 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VTT201 Red Stainless Steel 2 Slice Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
I thought £40 for a toaster was quite excessive but the good lady wanted a red one that matched the rest of the kitchen.
I looked at an alternative that had quite poor rating so decided to pay a little more for this one.

Toasts very quickly to a golden brown on the 3rd heat setting so I imagine the higher settings would be great for those who like it cremated.

I would give this full marks but the toast is noticably more browned on one side than the other. A little dissapointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good toaster, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VTT201 Red Stainless Steel 2 Slice Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
Does the job, also can do thick sliced bread, nice colour, nice price, so no complaints from me. worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great toaster, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VTT201 Red Stainless Steel 2 Slice Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
Great toaster. Looks great. Does great. I was staying at my parents house for a bit, and their toaster broke, so they ended up using this one, and they loved it so much they didn't want to give it back and I ended up having to get another one (this time with four slices!) when I moved out.

The only negative side was that it made a bit of a plasticy smell the first few times I used it, and it takes up a decent amount of space on the worktop.

The slots are wide enough to fit half a bagel or a bit of baguette cut lengthways, and the sides move in as you push the button down, so that the toast is always in the middle of the slot if it is a thin bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VTT201 Red Stainless Steel 2 Slice Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
A quality product which performs its design task without difficulty. Produces toast of a standard expected from a reputable manufacturer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful toast, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VTT201 Red Stainless Steel 2 Slice Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this for my Mother in Law as we've had one foe a long while and it's good stuff, she feels the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bookworm, 10 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VTT201 Red Stainless Steel 2 Slice Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
This is an excellent toaster. Easy to keep clean outside and a good easy to empty crumb tray. Lovely colour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Toaster, 17 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VTT201 Red Stainless Steel 2 Slice Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
Exceeded my expectations. The bread slices come out perfectly browned all over. Really very pleased with the item. The best toaster I have ever had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good one, 12 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VTT201 Red Stainless Steel 2 Slice Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
So far, an excellent buy. I have tried many toasters and this one seems to be the best. Looks nice too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Smells like burning plastic upon first use, but toasts bread as promised., 22 May 2014
By 
Nicholas J. Stoneman (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville VTT201 Red Stainless Steel 2 Slice Toaster (Kitchen & Home)
First use this morning reeked of plastic and chemicals. I also don't like that crumpets get stuck- how can you sell a toaster in the UK that doesn't work well with crumpets anyway- surely illegal.

Anyways, it's stylish and delivery was next day with prime. For the price I'm happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews