Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stunning early Technicolor film proving the value of Blu-Ray upgrades on classic films
This blu-ray is barebones except for a music and effects track, but it certainly makes a point in favor of high-definition upgrades of classic films. The Universal region-1 DVD was quite impressive in showcasing the original color elements of this Technicolor matinee movie, but the the blu-ray gives it a detailed rendering that closely resembles an original film print...
Published on 19 Oct. 2010 by Gary Vidmar

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Colourful family-friendly hokum
Throwing away most of the original story except the oil jars and "Open sesame!", Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves is a handsome and undemanding Forties' Arabian Nights romp with those famous Persian actors Jon Hall and Maria Montez as Ali Baba - here the son of the murdered Caliph of Baghdad who fell among Fortunio Bonanova's band of Robin Hood-like thieves - and his long...
Published on 16 Feb. 2011 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stunning early Technicolor film proving the value of Blu-Ray upgrades on classic films, 19 Oct. 2010
By 
Gary Vidmar (Colorado Springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves [Blu-ray] [1944] (Blu-ray)
This blu-ray is barebones except for a music and effects track, but it certainly makes a point in favor of high-definition upgrades of classic films. The Universal region-1 DVD was quite impressive in showcasing the original color elements of this Technicolor matinee movie, but the the blu-ray gives it a detailed rendering that closely resembles an original film print. Noticeable brightness and detail is the big plus; and while the blu-ray colors are less saturated than on the dvd, this is a result of more accuracy in the transfer. The original soundtrack and optional music and effects track are presented in lossless DTS 2.0 that will correctly matrix to a monaural center-channel delivery; the blu-ray is region free in the correct 1:37 to 1 standard projection ration.
The film is a lavish, cheeecake adventure, campy in it's excesses, but beautiful to behold as a glorious Technicolor remnant of Hollywood in the forties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ali Baba & the Forty Thieves, 22 Oct. 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves [Blu-ray] [1944] (Blu-ray)
Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves [Blu-ray]
I have various copies of this film in other media but this Blu Ray is stunning. There appears to be no color registration problems causing halos around moving figures due to shrinkage of one of other of the 3-trip Technicolor negatives. The sound is clean & clear.

The only disappointment is that there is no trailer or any other extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Colourful family-friendly hokum, 16 Feb. 2011
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves [Blu-ray] [1944] (Blu-ray)
Throwing away most of the original story except the oil jars and "Open sesame!", Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves is a handsome and undemanding Forties' Arabian Nights romp with those famous Persian actors Jon Hall and Maria Montez as Ali Baba - here the son of the murdered Caliph of Baghdad who fell among Fortunio Bonanova's band of Robin Hood-like thieves - and his long lost childhood sweetheart who is now betrothed to the Mongol Khan who has stolen his kingdom. You can pretty much write the plot developments yourself from there, but if originality is in short supply, it's colourful family-friendly hokum that should satisfy the less jaded palate. Like the thieves who sing as they ride (and they're much better riders than singers) it's not too successful at hitting the high notes, settling for pleasantly average, but if you're in the right mood that's just about enough. Andy Devine, effectively playing down his role as comic sidekick, steals the acting honors while Frank Puglia and Kurt Katch provide the villainy and Turhan Bey is the starry-eyed sidekick-wannabe recruited to the outlaw band. You'll probably forget it as soon as it's over and no-one will ever mistake it for another Thief of Baghdad, but for the hour-and-a-half it takes to go through its paces, director Arthur Lubin ensures it does its job efficiently enough. Eureka's extras-free (unless you count an isolated music and effects track) UK BluRay boasts a beautifully detailed transfer, though the colour doesn't seem quite as vivid as Forties Technicolor should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting early Technicolor, 25 Oct. 2010
By 
This review is from: Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves [Blu-ray] [1944] (Blu-ray)
This high-definition version of the Technicolor restoration is pretty amazing. I've watched it up close on a high-quality monitor, and it's virtually flawless. The detail is so great that the matte paintings used in numerous scenes really jump out. The acid test is of course the 32-year-old Montez's close-ups which work well; the diffusion is VERY deftly done and doesn't draw attention to itself even in HD which is impressive, and means that the cinematographers REALLY knew what they were doing.

My only qualm is that the color in the original Technicolor release-prints would have been much more saturated and eye-popping, and the experience of seeing them in a theater would be dramatically different than viewing a restoration like this. I love seeing the restorations, but they offer a very distinct experience.

I was surprised that my estimations of Montez's acting ability went up a bit watching this; some subtlety comes through that doesn't normally show. She actually was fine when doing simple material that didn't exceed her abilities. Unfortunately I don't think that enough original material exists to create a similar restoration of "Cobra Woman".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully restored and wonderful Technicolor classic from the early 1940's, 2 Dec. 2010
By 
Mr. David Rayner "David Rayner" (STOKE-ON-TRENT, STAFFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All in all, one of the best, if not thee best, of the Universal American Arabian Nights fantasies made during the 1940's, with rousing action; glorious early Technicolor and a wonderful music score by the little known, but obviously very talented, Edward Ward that captures the atmosphere of the film superbly. Even Miklos Rozsa himself couldn't have done a better job on it. Scotty Beckett's performance as young Ali throughout fourteen minutes of the first reel (seventeen minutes) of "Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves" is totally mesmerising and wonderful. If only he could have played Ali throughout the whole film. From the start of the second reel, with Jon Hall playing Ali as a grown up, the film seems to change mood abruptly. It's still very good and entertaining, but never regains the heights it achieved in the first reel. In turn, Scotty looks so proud: "I will never fail you or Baghdad, father!", he says, with his head held high. Genuinely afraid (the murder of his father in the ambush and the burning of the boats and his first encounter with the magic stone doors in the mountain wall) and touched by magic and an incredible childlike sense of wonder as he discovers the treasures of the thieves' cave. You are there with him and feel just as he feels. It's an incredible performance for a boy of 12, going on 13.

I love watching him in this first reel and he is what you see on the screen and what you see is what you get. He must have been wonderful to know and to have as a friend in those days and it's obvious that after that, as he grew into his teenage years, something terrible must have happened to him. Why? Perhaps he was let down and abandoned and betrayed by those he misguidedly loved and trusted. The same thing happened to the likes of Bobby Driscoll and Darren Burn. A human tragedy of immense proportions in all three cases. Nonetheless, it's still wonderful to see what a fine and unique young boy and child actor Scotty Beckett was, before his world came crashing down around him. Wherever he is now, in some heavenly world of spirit, I hope and pray he has found contentment and happiness. His portrayal of young Ali in this film was, in my opinion, his crowning achievement and it's worth buying the DVD of this film just to see him in it.

I highly recommend this film, which has been so beautifully restored from the original Technicolor negatives, that it looks marvelous and both sound and picture are as clear as the proverbial bell and the film looks like it was made yesterday, although it is, in fact, sixty-seven years old, having been made in 1943 and released in 1944. In fact, the image quality is so good that the film has also been released on a Blue Ray disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I NEED MORE DVD'S LIKE THIS, 19 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I AM VERY HAPPY AND I BE CONTACED TO BUY MORE RARE DVD'S.I LIKE OLD MOVIE WITH PERFECT PITCURE LIKE THIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray gem., 8 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves [Blu-ray] [1944] (Blu-ray)
Just like Saturday morning pictures ! great fun and fantastic Blu Ray. Would have thought it was filmed yesterday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Give me more of these stuff please..., 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dear Amazon
The same remarks as for Arabian nights.
Beautiful restored nostalgia for one's youth!
It's a pity that five stars is the maximum.
Thanks also for the punctual delivery.
Great work!
Till meet again!
René Nys -Hove (Antwerp)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sheer nostalgia for many people, 2 Dec. 2010
By 
Mrs. S. F. Fitzgerald "FILMBUFF" (HERTFORDSHIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw this film when it first came out years ago in my youth, I loved the magic of it then and I was not disappointed, Jon Hall was the current hearthrob then and Maria Montez was so beautiful, considering the time it was filmed, I think it is still magic I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ali baba and the forty thieves, 29 Sept. 2011
fantastic film well filmed brilliant acting out standing story line one off the best golden oldies no one can outdo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves [Blu-ray] [1944]
Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves [Blu-ray] [1944] by Arthur Lubin (Blu-ray - 2010)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews