Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but would hold off till it is mid price
Let's get the bad points over first;

Crysis 2 is a better FPS and is currently half the price, get that if you have neither this nor Crysis 2.

Fear 1 was a better suspense shooter; this is more of a conventional FPS.

This is another console port; some low res textures even on maximum settings, and auto aim is set by default so you have to...
Published on 25 Jun 2011 by M. Bhangal

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Game - Ruined
When I first started playing FEAR 3 I thought it was fantastic. Nothing too complicated, amazingly smooth and detailed graphics, excellent sound as well.
But it has two things wrong with it. One is a minor thing, the other a huge annoyance. So annoying in fact that my PC is lucky it's not found itself being heaved out of the window.

The minor point is that...
Published on 18 Nov 2011 by Snuffy


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Game - Ruined, 18 Nov 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F.E.A.R. 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
When I first started playing FEAR 3 I thought it was fantastic. Nothing too complicated, amazingly smooth and detailed graphics, excellent sound as well.
But it has two things wrong with it. One is a minor thing, the other a huge annoyance. So annoying in fact that my PC is lucky it's not found itself being heaved out of the window.

The minor point is that FEAR 3 does not know what type of game it wants to be; one minute you are running round, shooting solders, and the next minute it's all horror scenes and screams of who knows what.

The horrors parts are the best; very spooky and it even makes you jump at times.

But the most annoying thing ? The thing that makes we want to launch my PC in to the air ? You can't save your progress. What a really fantastic idea that is. So, if you're maybe not that good at it (like me, it would appear) then you can find yourself having to reply a hard section maybe 20 or more times, each time you are killed (which is often in my case), back you go the last check point, having no choice but to start it all over again.

Which cretin thought that was a good idea ? Cus I can tell them now; it's not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Even worse than FEAR2!, 3 July 2011
By 
RGP (Maldon, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F.E.A.R. 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The original game has now been diluted to the point where it is just a standard FPS, and not a very good one at that. There is no depth to the story at all, its just an excuse to shoot things in increasingly improbable environments. One of the great things about the original game was that a lot of the action took place in everyday places, like offices or warehouses. FEAR 3 is just one generic "game level" after another, with convenient things to hide behind and balconies to shoot from.

Once again the PC version seems to be an afterthought, but the feeling of this being a console game is even greater this time around. Worst of all, there isn't even a health level anymore. Forget the first aid kits because you can now auto-heal - that really makes the game tense, when you know you can just hide for a while and everything will be ok. Despite this, because the game only saves through checkpoints, some parts are ridiculously difficult to the point where I just gave up because I got bored of playing the same thing over and over again from the start of the checkpoint. Also, there are now achievements. Just as you're getting into the game, the atmosphere is totally ruined by a message box telling you that you've completed some pointless achievement. To top it all, there seems to be no improvement on the graphics at all and the sound quality is terrible, especially on the cut scenes.

There are a few good ideas, playing as Fettel is quite fun and different, but on the whole it would forget about this game until its in a clearance sale somewhere, just replay the original again and have some real fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but would hold off till it is mid price, 25 Jun 2011
By 
M. Bhangal "S" (Somewhere in Northern England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F.E.A.R. 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Let's get the bad points over first;

Crysis 2 is a better FPS and is currently half the price, get that if you have neither this nor Crysis 2.

Fear 1 was a better suspense shooter; this is more of a conventional FPS.

This is another console port; some low res textures even on maximum settings, and auto aim is set by default so you have to disable it if you want a good game with a keyboard/mouse (but then Crysis 2 did that as well...!).

Fear 3 is very much a corridor shooter in terms of level design; the levels feel a tad too cramped for my liking, especially at the beginning. Also, although the characters in the game look current-gen (high textures, ragdoll physics, good movement animations and AI), the levels are more of a mixed bag and some look distinctly previous generation: very 'boxy' buildings with little or no curvature, low poly and low texture, and flat surfaces stay flat (i.e. no DirectX 10/11 complex shaders to liven them up).

Occasionally, there is only the most tenuous link between the end of one level and the beginning of the next. Even having seen the connecting cutscenes, some of the levels could have been switched around and the storyline would not care.

This is certainly not a game I can recommend at full price; wait a month or so until it drops to mid price.

That's the main bad points (and perhaps showstoppers for some) out of the way. Lets get to the good points.

I like Monolith games. Although never cutting edge, and never with standout set-pieces or graphics, they were always enjoyable as they are a little different from standard fare. Shogo, Blood 2 and Fear 1 all come to mind.
As an aside, the single player campaign reminds me a lot of a very old (and obscure) game from the same timeframe as Shogo/Blood (late 1990's) - Requiem: Avenging Angel. The mix of spell-casting and bullet time go some way to this feeling of similarity, but its mainly the atmosphere that does it; both nail that sense of an 'End of time' biblical story arc.

The main technical point in favour for Fear 3 is that it is simply a competent and out of the ordinary fps shooter. It's different because the AI is better than usual (although it does occasionally get confused, but not enough to kill immersion) and there is a rather good cover system. Not only is it good, but the AI know how to use it too!

The AI really shines at the higher skill levels; you are doing yourself and the game a disservice if you play at the low skill levels, because its only at the high skill levels you see how good the AI is.

You also have two playable characters; once you have cleared each level as the main character (`Point man'), you unlock the ability to play as Fettal (a character who uses psychic abilities rather than conventional weapons). This adds to replayability. The multiplayer options looks VERY interesting, but because I am an early purchaser, I haven't found many people to game with yet.

Fear 3 is more of a straight shooter, but it does have moments of the original Fear: here's a rather creepy supermarket section for example (with some rather cool double Uzi zombie ahooting... creepy and cool at the same time!), and later there is a haunting trip to the genesis of Project Origin (part of the backstory from the original Fear game), which shows off some cool lighting and sound effects (and which finally gives you the 'I am the hunted here!' feel of the original game).

The sound generally is very good; very atmospheric with good chunky weapon effects. I particularly like the bullet ricochets during intense shootouts.

Fear 3 runs well; FRAPS see a healthy 60-70 frames per second with all settings maxed out on 1920x1200, using FXAA. Thats pretty good for a DirectX10/11 game, especially when I have a very mid range system; AMD 6870, Q6600 quad core over-clocked to 3.6Ghz ( putting it on the heels of an i5, gotta love core 2; well overclockable!), and 8Gb memory, all running on Windows 7. Not a single crash or issue from start to finish, ao not a game that needs patching to complete.

So to conclude, 3 stars at full price (if I were being tight), 4 otherwise, but 5 stars when the price drops to post release mid price levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FEAR3, 23 Dec 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F.E.A.R. 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I am 52 and ran lot's of shooters, beginning with Wolfenstein.
I have played fear and fear2. Because of the amazing in-game atmosphere, gameplay and very smooth "shooting". Thus I purchased fear3. Running the first 2 levels made it clear that fear3 has improved again. Especially the artificial intelligence of the openents is amazing. My other favourite shooter is still UT99 (played also ut 2003, 2004, "3").
Amongst First persons shooters, fear3 is just great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not scary at all., 12 Aug 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F.E.A.R. 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This is a fun game, provided you play with a friend online. If i hadn't played with a friend, it wouldn't have been as fun. I was very disappointed at the lack of scares, and the length of the game. When it ended, me and my friend were still expecting more. The online modes are pretty good, but the length and lack of scares gets this game an overall score of 3/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (M.)F.3.A.(D.I.O.C.)R.(E.), 11 Jan 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: F.E.A.R. 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I could think of a lot of other acronyms to use for this game but FEAR was not one of them. The levels are linear, gone are the abilities to stealth and blitz, no more outwitting the enemy and forcing tatical retreat. In this game you can sit behind a piece of scenery and wait for the enemy to come to you or heal your health. Levels are short, you have auto-heal and there is barely any ammo restrictions on later levels. Theres even the autosave feature. It's almost everything I've come to dread from a simple console port. FEAR was about tatics and thought. It's nice to see both those were cut... for game pacing. It looks okay and fills a weekend and you even get to play as Fettel but that's pretty much all the game has left to offer. For under a tenner it'll do...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just another generic big budget shooter without any heart., 1 Aug 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F.E.A.R. 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Finally this series has reached the point where you get served just one more generic big budget military shooter.
No more thrills, no more trying to tell a story. Just the usual run down level after level and shoot all soldiers for no apparent reason.
No one needs this kind of product anymore, though publishers once more tricked me into buying another one
by slipping in in under the well known label of the originally very interesting and unique "Fear" franchise.

Yes maybe the new asymmetric multiplayer-co-op is fun, or maybe it is not. I don't know since I was relieved to uninstall
the game quickly right after having the end-game credits flash by.

If you are looking for just another mindless shooter, do get this game. It offers lots of weapons, crash, boom and bang.
If you instead are looking for a title that can entertain you beyond click quick head shots, then do not bother with the Fear-franchise anymore
as it offers nothing more than very simple entertainment for easily excited twens, who actually due to the mature nature of the content should not be the
target group of the product at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but still worth trying, 16 Oct 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F.E.A.R. 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
As an owner of first two parts, I wanted see if the third installment can keep up with it's predecessors. Virdict - not really, but it's still nice game. Not horror anymore, although video intercuts with forest wandering (like in mass effect 3) are cute, and little alma is as lovely as ever. Plenty of shooting, braindead AI (enemies just rush at you without strategy, at least on recruit level, probably will be better on harder levels). Design is ok for me, levels dont look like copy/paste of each other and graphics are good. What I really dont like are achievement popups and it's impossible correctly redefine button mapping (can't assign one button to multiple actions, like in default settings). There are better games out there, but this one is still good to go, especially if you liked previous ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 5 Jan 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F.E.A.R. 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Yes, the game is boring. I was bored 10 minutes into it this mind numbing point and click shooter. What has happened to the thinking mans shooter? Do developers really have such little imagination? Look at the original Fear and how fantastic that was. Why is there no exploration in the level design, no choices allowed besides the continuous drudge of moving forward and shooting more people. Come on guys, look back at the fantastic Far Cry games, Crysis and Deus Ex and give us something worth playing through to the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't hold a candle to FEAR but its better than FEAR 2, 24 Jun 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F.E.A.R. 3 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
As the title says its nothing like the first FEAR this is another console port. Graphics, Sound, the Weapons and even the horror is nothing like the first this is just dumbed down for PS3 and 360 just like FEAR 2 which is a shame because FEAR 1 on PC is one of my favourite FPSs of all time, but the action can shine in parts but its just an average FPS game on PC and I'd only recommend it to FEAR fans for the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

F.E.A.R. 3 (PC DVD)
F.E.A.R. 3 (PC DVD) by Warner Bros. Interactive (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£5.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews