Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this album
It's interesting how Hot Chip have managed to progress into this album with acquiring a fuller more produced sound, but retaining the same eclectic originality of their earlier work. This Album is full of inspiring songs, which combine sometimes moving lyrics with a very inventive sound world with interesting harmonies and altogether a coherent musical journey. I have...
Published on 26 Mar 2010 by maximus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good-but not a bit repetitive
Love the band,
good album,but wa hoping for more of a progression from the last album.
A but tedious at times...unfortunately-but there are some
excellent high lights and worth it just for that.
Published on 5 Mar 2010 by The Spyridon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this album, 26 Mar 2010
By 
maximus (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
It's interesting how Hot Chip have managed to progress into this album with acquiring a fuller more produced sound, but retaining the same eclectic originality of their earlier work. This Album is full of inspiring songs, which combine sometimes moving lyrics with a very inventive sound world with interesting harmonies and altogether a coherent musical journey. I have played this to people who were a little puzzled by Hot Chip's earlier albums which I had played to them over the years, and all commented how fresh this one sounded even though it's more accessible to the more mainstream taste. The best way I can describe it is that it retains the Indie Electronica sound at the same time as widening appeal.

Enthusiastically recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "yes i love technology but not as much as you you see...", 21 April 2010
But yes I love technology. Always and forever!" Napoleon Dynamite's older brother and his band produce a good album of heart on sleeve "loving" electro. Title track is especially good - goose bump inducing in this reviewer. Last two songs are a bit damp mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one, 2 April 2010
By 
Mr. R. J. Matthews (Exeter, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've tried to like Hot Chip for a long time. They've made some of the most infectious pop for the last 10 years. The singles are always a revelation but the albums are always left wanting. That was until One Life Stand came out.

This is the album they've been trying to make for the last few years. A wonderfully put together album in 3 parts. The first four tracks tread familiar ground - The catchy, singalong, perfectly crafted but heartfelt dance-pop tunes which have progressed another step since 'Ready for the floor'. Then things slow down for two tracks and we hear a new side to Hot Chip - The love song - but that's a lot better than it sounds. Then the third part of the album is the real surprise: Some of the best disco since 'I feel love' mixed with some darker minor key sounds along the lines of Meat Beat Manifesto mixed with the brooding but minus the self parody of Nine Inch Nails.

This will be a very strong contender for album of the year 2010.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Made By Robots, 1 Feb 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Hot Chip have one particularly subtle, enduring and
endearing quality. They make electronica with a heart
(and a big warm heart at that!). They achieve this through
good tunes, witty lyrics and the inestimable pathos and
fragility of Alexis Taylor's instantly recognisable voice.

Their fourth studio outing finds them in fine fettle.
'One Life Stand' has a remarkably bright and vivid presence.
The ten songs in this collection deliver the band's best work
so-far. I loved all three of their previous album releases
but there is something distinctive and special about this
one which sets it apart by a mile.

There is an openness and expansiveness in the fresh-faced
production which brings the music to life in an addictive
and affecting way. Take the four-square magic of the title
track as a perfect example of the fusion of a strong melody,
big, danceable beats and the laugh-out-loud charm of the
sweeping, swooping and zooming synthesiser interventions.

Opening track 'Thieves In The Night' contasts the wonderful bump
and grind of the synth and percussion obliggato with Mr Taylor's
preciously vulnerable vocal delivery to stunning effect.
The edgy and slightly dodgy central guitar solo is a hoot!

'Brothers' is an unashamedly new-blokeish examination of the
value of male comradeship. A soppy and risky and rare idea,
brought to life with touchingly unsentimental authenticity.

'Alley Cats' is another enchanting lyrical and musical highlight.
Warm and bubbling and full of summer sunlight. For my money the
loveliest song of the band's time on earth so-far! Truly magical!

Final track 'Take It In', with its shifting patterns
of light and shade and incandescent vocal harmonies
brings the project to a stunning and uplifting close.

Hot Chip tick all the boxes with this little cracker.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evene better than the last time!, 13 Mar 2010
By 
D. Elcock "Dammo33" (Peterborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having grown up through the emergence of electronica in the late 70s and 80s, after reading all the press coverage about their style of music, when Hot Chip released their first album I immediately bought it. Impressed, yes, but blown away, far from it. This time round the purchase wasn't as immediate, but I bought the new album anyway for two reasons, firstly, I do a lot of driving and listen to a lot of music along the way, and secondly, quite frankly a lot of the music "out there" at the minute leaves me cold. Have to say I was completely surprised at the difference bewteen the two albums, and One Life Stand remained entrenched in the car CD player for the best part of 3 weeks! The variation in tempo and tone of the tracks made me pay more attention to the lyrics, which quite frankly made me chuckle at times, whimsical at others. I love this album - buy it, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Life Stand, 2 Mar 2010
The title track has production that wouldn't be out of place on I Am Robot and Towers of Asia's debut record, or Postal Service outtakes. But like these artists, Hot Chip focuses more on song arrangements and structure rather than technology and programming showmanship.

It sums up the core of what made The Warning so accessible and enjoyable right from the onset: it's like listening to early New Order records for the first time, waiting for the next one with a little bit of excited anticipation to see what's going to happen next with every new song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Life Stand (MP3 Download)
I'm a Gary numan, like hot chip too especially this album brilliant so glad I bought them def love them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One Life Stand, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Life Stand (Audio CD)
Never having heard anything from this band but reading good reviews I decided to buy this one. And even though it's not excellent , the music is well worth listening to. Nicely crafted pop songs with a touch of electronics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Life Stand (MP3 Download)
Such a brilliant album - great to get you through the day. Really enjoyable listening - highly recommended to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lush, 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: One Life Stand (Audio CD)
Loved it, although anything Hot Chip do I love, they have a distinct sound and every song is different stirring the emotions or making you want to dance round your room. An absolute treasure to have in your cd collection and well worth a listen if your new to them. Nothing more I can say, just buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Life Stand
One Life Stand by Hot Chip (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews