Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Savvy guide to developing a moneymaking, personal brand online
Although many people advise against turning your hobby into your day job, Gary Vaynerchuk, an Internet and business phenomenon, vehemently disagrees. He boldly promotes quitting your job to pursue a profession that is your passion. An immigrant from Belarus, Vaynerchuk rose to fame in his mid-30s because of Wine Library TV, the popular, highly publicized video blog he...
Published on 22 Feb 2010 by Rolf Dobelli

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Admire the man, don't admire the book
When you realise how successful Gary has been in using web marketing and social media you have to tip your hat to the man. He talks the talk and also walks the walk. He's the real deal and I admire what he's achieved.

Unfortunately I felt let down by this book. Not because Gary doesn't share his enthusiasm for marketing and promotion using his methods - he does...
Published on 12 Feb 2011 by Andrew Lloyd Gordon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Savvy guide to developing a moneymaking, personal brand online, 22 Feb 2010
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Although many people advise against turning your hobby into your day job, Gary Vaynerchuk, an Internet and business phenomenon, vehemently disagrees. He boldly promotes quitting your job to pursue a profession that is your passion. An immigrant from Belarus, Vaynerchuk rose to fame in his mid-30s because of Wine Library TV, the popular, highly publicized video blog he started in 2006. Through his imaginative Internet Webcasts, Vaynerchuk has made himself a leading authority on wines and a respected expert on online brand development and marketing. His style is unpretentious, a welcome change from the reserved mien of tuxedoed wine critics. Vaynerchuk provides step-by-step explanations on how to create a personal brand and promote it using social media such as Facebook and Twitter. Although the advice is overly simplistic - Vaynerchuk somewhat naively assumes anyone can emulate his success - and the topic is well-worn, getAbstract appreciates Vaynerchuk's sincere advice and recommends his clear, lively book to new entrepreneurs and others who want an introduction to the world of social media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How following your passion is fulcral, 5 Nov 2009
By 
Pedro Mendes (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had great expectations for this book, being a fan of Gary's style. I must say that Crush It! doesn't disappoint. Gary's tone gets you energised from the first page. He really believes in his message, and it comes across. He guides us in creating our own personal brand. If you have a passion (as most of us do), you must follow it, work like hell, and the results will come. But you must read the book to know all the details, from the man himself. Ah, and it's small book. I finished it in two evenings. The essentials are all there, with no beating aroud the bush. A must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great! (yet not what it says in the title), 1 Nov 2010
By 
J. Linder - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed this book, Gary sure knows how to share his passion for things and what made him successful in a easy, straight forward way.
Unlike other authors of similar books, Gary is quite a humble person, yet quite intense, who insists on us being true to ourselves and not follow step-by-step his approach..
he gives many tips and tricks on how to develop you passion, but most importantly he talks about the human side of it, about discovering your own DNA and building on it towards success.
I say 'its not what the title says' because Gary himself insists that its not about the money, its about building on your passion, and that happiness is the goal.. not 'cash in on your passion'.. although this could be a result and is exactly what happend to Gary himself.. but there are not tips and trick about how to make money here, but only on building your brand and sharing your passion.. which could lead to money if thats what YOU want, you decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The power of passion, 20 Jan 2010
By 
Steven Aitchison "Steven Aitchison" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought the audio version of this book and it has more info than the hard copy, simply because it is more up to date. Gary's enthusiasm, passion, drive and personality totally shine through in this book, and it's easy to see why he has gained such popularity. He is literally giving you a blueprint to brand yourself and your company and become the person and business you are meant to be. the theme that ran all throughout the book is listen to your customers and interact with them and do so with honesty and integrity - isn't that a wonderful thing to be finally doing in business. The small man is now the giant of media and Gary shows you how to Crush it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crush It! - Gary Vaynerchuk, 15 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gary Vaynerchuk(@garyvee) is famous for his approach to personal branding on the web. He spent years building his family business from small origins into a multi-million dollar industry leader. Using his video cast to promote himself and his business, he has become an Internet personality.

Gary's book Crush It! is about grabbing the bull by the horns and cashing in on what you love doing. His basic principles are 1. Love your family, 2. Work superhard, 3. Live your passion. And basically this is his mantra. So he recommends that you go and work out what you want to do with your favourite thing or your dream, and just live your passion.

The book covers a bit of personal background starting with his family's move from Belarus to America early in his life. His family had a business selling discount liquor. Gary decided that wine was a good thing to get into because there is a whole world around choosing, tasting and picking wines. This became his passion.

The book covers how Gary used Facebook and Twitter to build up awareness of himself and his business. Another principle in the book is that you should build your personal brand. It does not matter if you work for a large corporate and don't want to set up a business on your own - you should still build your personal brand anyway because it will help you with your career. Gary covers how one can do this easily and for free.

He talks about his web cast Wine Library TV (a.k.a. The Thunder Show). He admits that his approach is "in your face" and suspects he loses 10-12% of his viewers because of it. However his passion is evident and this is what keeps the 90%. This was an interesting point in the book because I nearly stopped watching his web cast the first time I watched after that first few minutes, but I carried on because the wine he was tasting was interesting. It grew on me. Gary clearly knows his own faults.

The book is easy to read and only one nitpick from me - he mentions that Internet hasn't been around long and Gary really means the web here.

For success though, you need to temper the work superhard advice with the methods from The 4-hour Work Week: Escape the 9-5, Live Anywhere and Join the New Rich.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential crash course in crushing it, 26 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been following Gary's rise over the past few years closely as I produced a UK based wine tasting video podcast - Inspector Grape up to a year ago. During our initial research we found his US based wine podcast. But we didn't know exactly how to plan, execute & MONETIZE ours. Now he has stuffed everything we knew, everything we didn't know & so much that the future will reveal into an easy to read crash course.

I read the book during an evening & following morning with 3 hours sleep in between, i was that juiced! Thanks Gary we are now reorganizing ourselves & tackling the challenge with passion but this time also with the right tools. The man is a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thought-provoking stuff, 27 May 2010
To be honest, when I bought this book it was more out of curiosity, as there appeared to be a great number of positive comments about it so I was intrigued.

Anyway from the time I opened the packaging and opened it to the first page I couldn't put the book down and read it in one sitting, and so enthused by what I read, I immediately sent an e-mail to the author and to his credit, he responded.

This book is the reality of working in a 21st-century, after all, we are all living in an information thirsty age, and our knowledge will be the traded commodity.

Read the book, and more importantly, put it in action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just awesome!, 27 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lot of the things in this book you'll already have heard, but the way Gary combines the ideas and gives examples from his personal experience gives everything a new twist. It's as if you were staring at the answer the whole time, but then you read this book and everything just comes together. I've already read it once, but I want to read it again, it's that good! I have never ever read a book twice, so that says a lot. If you feel stuck or are unhappy about what you do, THIS is the book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Admire the man, don't admire the book, 12 Feb 2011
When you realise how successful Gary has been in using web marketing and social media you have to tip your hat to the man. He talks the talk and also walks the walk. He's the real deal and I admire what he's achieved.

Unfortunately I felt let down by this book. Not because Gary doesn't share his enthusiasm for marketing and promotion using his methods - he does so very well - but more that the book itself isn't that great.

As other reviewers have noted, this is a short book. There can be advantages when books keep to the point. However, with this book I felt that there wasn't enough 'flesh on the bones'. There are lots of 'do this and try that' without much actual information you can follow.

To be fair, I guess there are many, many other books you can read to find how to do the things Gary has done. But I would have preferred a little more detailed information.

So, if you're looking for inspiration and rousing 'You can do it too!' copy, then this is a book for you. But if you're looking for a practical guide that will move your marketing forward, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Happy that I bought this book, 31 Dec 2009
Its great book for someone who is:
1. New to online social networking and how to use it for benefit for your business
2. Planning to setup a log for his business
3. Starting business online

I have to admit considering the size of book you will find many things you can try with your business. Its great book for someone who is starting online business or has already started and thinking about using blogs/social networking to grow more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CRUSH IT!
CRUSH IT! by Gary Vaynerchuk
£3.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews