Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You may be taken away by this
What a fantastic book... I have to admit i haven't read it all yet cos i start reading and then get completely carried away by the pictures.

This book captures the band at its best and captures the most important time for Rock N' Roll.

Pictures, storys, scripts.. what more could you want..

Buy it... It's worth it, weither your a gnr fan or...
Published on 3 Oct 2008 by A Customer

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great, If you like looking at pictures.
As the title suggests. Great if you like lookin at pictures.
I had read reviews about this book online as well as in Classic Rock magazine and it had favourable reviews so i decided to buy it at 15 instead of waiting for the price to drop which generally happens. I now wish i had waited for the price to drop as i was expecting MORE.
The pictures are great if...
Published on 14 Feb 2010 by Dep Rocks


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You may be taken away by this, 3 Oct 2008
What a fantastic book... I have to admit i haven't read it all yet cos i start reading and then get completely carried away by the pictures.

This book captures the band at its best and captures the most important time for Rock N' Roll.

Pictures, storys, scripts.. what more could you want..

Buy it... It's worth it, weither your a gnr fan or not your bound to love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best GNR book not written by a band member, 14 Dec 2007
By 
K. A. Daffarn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is an essential must-read for anyone who is a fan of Guns N' Roses.

At first I was highly sceptical, there have been some truly terrible books written about this band in the past, but this one proved to be the exception to the rule.

The book is 348 pages long, excellent quality and every page has something of interest to GNR fans, either pictures or stories about the bands formation, or both. Much of it you will not find anywhere else, either online, on TV or in other books (in some cases including Slash's autobiography). Like most GNR books it claims to have stories and interview sections with friends of the band, but unlike most GNR books the people interviewed here really did know the band, and in many cases still do. Many of them played with one or more band members as they were starting out, others were friends throughout the bands formative years. There are none of the typical dodgy interviews with someone who lived down the street from Axl for a month, or went to Slash's high school just 1 year after he left, it's all the real deal.
It also includes a lot of information from the band members themselves, some of it contributed specially for the book.

And the pictures are all up to the same high standard as the text. No fuzzy re-prints of magazine shots, nothing stolen from websites or videos, it's all excellent quality and predominantly from the personal collections of the same friends and band mates who contributed the text.

As if that's not enough the book also includes a code that gives you access to audio and video recordings and more photos via a website. Again it's all great quality and stuff you're extremely unlikely to have seen before.

In short this is the sort of book that most band biographers wish they could have written and a must have for all GNR fans. It's just a shame so many other people got there first and did such a bad job of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guns n Roses, 10 Dec 2010
I bought this for my husband who is a mega gnr fan and i have read it too. It is brilliant and has some fab colour pictures of the boys. It is a great insight to the band. I think you have to be a fan to appreciate this stuff though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reckless road book, 6 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought for my brother for christmas he saw it when he was in america but did not have enough money (end of holiday) so purchased it from amazon at a very good price and he was thrilled to bits with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i have to agree, 26 Dec 2007
i have to agree with the previous review of this book as this is the best thing to be written by somebody who knew the band from the beginning but wrote about them in the spirit of appetite for destruction thanks to being pals with Slash from his high school days and getting to know the rest of the band as the amazing photo's show which are not reprinted carbon copy's or cuttings from magazines this is the real deal.

This book is a perfect appetizer till Axl Rose give us fans a proper official release date for chinese democracy to hit the shelves hopefully next year if not after we all cease to exist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RECKLESS ROAD, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reckless Road Guns 'n Roses and the Making of Appetite for Destruction (Kindle Edition with Audio/Video)
Reckless road is a fabulous book it has great photographs and has quite a few video clip of the band worth the money well spent xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really cool book, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really cool book worth buying in my opinion. Many pictures and a lot of detail of what was going on while the formation of Guns was taking place. Worth buying as a collectible item, I am sure I will re-read it again at some point, its quite pleasant and not tiring at all. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fan fookin tastic, 2 Aug 2011
By 
Kaz (Warrington) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reckless Road Guns 'n Roses and the Making of Appetite for Destruction (Kindle Edition with Audio/Video)
all i can say as a massive G n R's fan is i cant put it down!!!! love it xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great pictures of the days gone by, 5 Nov 2010
By 
. Tommi "Dela Von Affenbach" (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
By looking at the backcover of this book you can see that the author Marc Canter is definitely a Guns n' Roses
inside man. There is a lot of great never before seen pictures of the band just moments before their big break.

You find a lot of poor, rip-off books about Guns N' Roses but this one is not one of those. Do yourself a favor and
order yours today. No GN'R fan should let this one pass.

Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Proof Read?, 9 July 2008
By 
M. Stoney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great book, apart for the typo errors throughout. I know it doesn't really matter, but come on, would employing a proof reader have been too much to ask?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews