Customer Reviews


228 Reviews
5 star:
 (201)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I MISS MUMMY
ONE WORD AMAZING! COULDNT PUT THE BOOK DOWN. CATHY GLASS IS SUCH AN INSPIRATION AND SHE WRITES IN THE MOST AMAZING WAY. VERY SAD STORY BUT SO WELL DICTATED
Published on 4 April 2011 by CARA

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but pretty basic
If you enjoy reading something with a bit more depth, this may not be for you. However, it's not a bad story (based on fact). It just feels a bit lightweight and the text is over explained. If you lack the ability to read between the lines, don't worry, as this book will do it for you.
Published 20 months ago by Avid reader


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I MISS MUMMY, 4 April 2011
ONE WORD AMAZING! COULDNT PUT THE BOOK DOWN. CATHY GLASS IS SUCH AN INSPIRATION AND SHE WRITES IN THE MOST AMAZING WAY. VERY SAD STORY BUT SO WELL DICTATED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i miss mummy, 9 Jan. 2011
This review is from: I Miss Mummy: The true story of a frightened young girl who is desperate to go home (Kindle Edition)
a fantastic read from ther first page you are hardly able to put the book down the wee girl goes through a lot and you the reader are there with her will have you reaching for the tissues such a fantastic book i myself have read it twice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Miss Mummy, 11 Aug. 2010
Once again you are taken into the home of this incredible fostercarer with a true gift of nuturing children. Alice is a most precious little girl who wants nothing more than to be with her Mummy. Cathy and her family welcome Alice into their home as one of them knowing that at some point she will be moving on, but to where? In the collection of Cathy Glass books you see a variety of children with different personalities but Alice will grab your heart and not let go! Thank you again to Cathy for sharing her stories with the hugs and snuggles she shares with her extended family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another CLASSIC by Cathy Glass, 20 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read ALL of the books by Cathy Glass and this one is up there with the best of them!
I love the way that Cathy writes her books to make you feel like you are going along that journey with them!

She is a fantasic writer and I really hope she will have more books out soon.

A must-read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gripping memoir, 1 July 2010
Four year old Alice is brought to Cathy after she was found by the police. She had been snatched by her drug-dependent, mentally ill mother just before she was due to be placed with Cathy. Her mother is unable to look after her and Social Services decide that her grandparents are too old (in their 60s) to take care of her. The authorities are convinced that Alice should go to live with her father and his new wife. However, when her father is shown to be violent and has had little contact with Alice the dilemma is revealed.
As always with Cathy's books this one keeps you on the edge of your seat right to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure brilliance, 1 July 2010
As always Cathy Glass has brought out another stunning book. I miss Mummy is about a 4 year girl that is brought into the care system, it shows how children can get lost in the system with all the changes of social workers especially those that shouldnt be there. i was hooked from the first page and could not put it down. if you have read Cathys other books then this will not let you down. as a student social worker, i always value cathys books as it helps show the other side of the social work system and shows just what foster carers do and how their experience can be invaluable when working with children and families. a must read for everyone, a true life story with a very happy ending!
well done Cathy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i wept at his book, 29 Dec. 2011
By 
Dyane (Sheffield U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How i wanted to shout at these people in power who potentially ruined lives and caused horrendous heartache for all involved. How could they be so blind - i couldn't begin to imagine what they all went through - speaking as a grandparent I'm amazed they managed to survive. I won't say what happened in the end as it could spoil the book. This just proves that the 'one' social worker that isn't any good the damage they can do; and do. Thank goodness for the 'ones' that are good.
Thank you Cathy for another wonderful insight into fostering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, 19 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Miss Mummy: The true story of a frightened young girl who is desperate to go home (Kindle Edition)
Just finished this book from Cathy Glass ,such a lovely story and had a lovely ending .Ready to read my next book from Cathy she is such a good foster carer and her books are all worth reading .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i miss mummy, 3 July 2010
AMAZING!!! I read this book in a day as with all of cathy glass books once you start reading it is hard to put down. i would recommend this and ALL of Cathy Glass books to anyone. It is so well written and truthfully told and at the end it brought me to tears at the joy of Alice having a happy ending. It brings an insight into the world of foster caring and social services and what an amazing job that foster carers like Cathy do.I wont write to much about the book itself as a dont want to ruin this amazing story for anybody.I am now counting down the months for her next book to be published :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Miss Mummy, 6 Oct. 2011
What a truly amazing book, i just couldnt put it down and it had me reaching for the tissues on more than one occassion. As I was reading this book i really hoped that Alice got the happy ending that she so badly deserved, i dont really want to say to much about this book as i really dont want to ruin it for anyone that hasnt read this book. Cathy Glass is an amazing writer and as i normally struggle to find a good, easy to read book, i have found that all Cathy's books are just that and they are definately the type of book that you read and find yourself almost being part of the journey, as you can imagine all of the scenes the hi's and the low's. Cathy does an amazing job and i feel that all of her books show just how difficult it is for foster carers and i also feel that foster carers dont always get the credit they deserve. I highly recommend this book as i do with all of Cathy's books, just make sure you have a box of tissues to hand before you begin reading any of them :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews