Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art horror brain melt
Possession is totally extraordinary.
Packed with symbolism it can be read on so many possible levels of interpretation it's bewildering.
Set in a European city (obviously Berlin during its partition) in an alienating mixture of ultra modern buildings and decaying grandeur, visually it evokes a sense of dislocation. The plot can't easily be summarised without...
Published on 17 Sep 2009 by Doc Benway

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray version won't play on at least some BR players
Hello. I recently ordered this movie and found that it wouldn't play on three different players that I tried (one standalone and two BD-R/BD-ROM drives). It would get ~78 minutes into the film and then freeze up immediately after the infamous subway scene. I got a replacement from Amazon. The replacement did the same thing.

I eventually turned to a couple of...
Published 11 months ago by Tom


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art horror brain melt, 17 Sep 2009
By 
Possession is totally extraordinary.
Packed with symbolism it can be read on so many possible levels of interpretation it's bewildering.
Set in a European city (obviously Berlin during its partition) in an alienating mixture of ultra modern buildings and decaying grandeur, visually it evokes a sense of dislocation. The plot can't easily be summarised without foretelling too many of the surprises the film contains. Thematically, it seems to be a study of a marriage in the last phase of destruction, with Sam Neill returning from doing a mysterious job (spying?) and meeting his wife played by Isabelle Adjani, whose agitated reaction to his arrival only hints at the deep levels of disturbance she enacts as the film progresses.
What follows is a nightmarish and surreal two hours of startling images, bizarre acting and frequent bloodletting.
If you liked Antichrist you will be interested to see a lot of similar themes in Possession - misogyny, madness, faith, evil and lust permeate a fractured dreamscape with a sustained and unique oddness.
I was put in mind of J.G. Ballard, William Burroughs, Polanski, Cronenberg and David Lynch, but Zulawski's film is totally unique.
Possession was put on the banned list during the Video Nasties era, but don't come to it expecting anything like any of the more exploitation films I've seen off the DPP 39, Possession is as challenging an art-horror as I've ever seen.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very strange film..., 25 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Possession [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
I like horror films. I rather enjoy 'video nasties' as they were called, though merely to laugh at what was considered the worst of the worst back in the day before internet access to anything... This film however wasn't like anything I'd expected. I thought it would be silly to watch, a mess of cheap gore and over acting. Instead it contains one of the most phenomenal - and disturbing! - performances I've ever seen. Isabelle Adjani quite simply goes insane. Her performance is riveting. I found my fists clenched on numerous occasions, near breathless at the sheer depths she must have delved to find such energy, such madness! Zulawski's direction - his use of tracking shots, relentlessly following his actors, keeping the camera right in their faces, pulling out the very last morsel - must have been a nightmare to contend with.

The film is filled with symbols. It has no clear story, seeming at its heart to explore the break down of a marriage, but there is a great deal simmering underneath, and too much to fully comprehend on a single viewing. I found the whole film so oddly disconcerting, and yet for no specific reason. Though bloody, there is nothing overtly over the top in the gore department, while the near instant shifts in Neal's and Adjani's acting, from stylised control, to absolute edge-of-your-seat hysteria is breathtaking. I'm sure this isn't a film everyone will warm to, but I most certainly did. I think the trick is to give up on finding meaning, and just sit back and be engulfed in a very strange experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...crikey...., 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Possession [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Right people... This film is tremendous. I knew hardly anything about it before I watched it & it blew me away.

What mainly grabbed me, is it's utter ferocity & intensity, it just keeps growing & growing as the film goes on (some real turned up to 11 stuff is delivered!) The performances are outstanding, Isabelle Adjani, Sam Neill, Heinz Bennent, all giving seemingly everything they have - blood, guts & gristle. It must be said Isabelle Adjani's performance is particularly outstanding, the metro scene is astonishing, pure, visceral & truly unforgettable.

Even though the genre `horror' seems to be tagged to this film, it is far more than that. The first half portrays a relationship `break down' in such a brutal, grizzly way it brings Lars von Trier's Antichrist to mind (which I'm sure Possession must have been an influence). Science fiction, art house, comedy, noir are all here in buckets & having the Berlin wall overlooking the story is a wonderful idea.

The superb build of the film & answers given heading to the end, gave me a Hitchcockian experience (dare I say... better). The pink socks, the kid, the bath, Sam at the door, Isabelle's look to camera & whatever is happening in the sky.

Again, this film is tremendous. Owing to it's cult & kinda unknown status the price is a trifle more than a standard DVD....... It's totally worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent release., 31 July 2013
By 
Mr. K. Arts "keirarts" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Possession [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
In Possession, Sam Neill plays a Spy who has come back to west Berlin after spending some time on assignment on the other side of the Berlin Wall. Upon arriving home he finds his marriage is slowly disintegrating and his wife has taken up with a new man called Heinrich, a free-spirited libertarian. However, as he investigates he discovers there is another lover in the mix, and uncovers a dark secret that his wife has been keeping from both him and Heinrich. Her new lover isn't human and she will kill to protect it!.

It's curious that Second Sight decided to release this so close to David Cronenberg's THE BROOD The Brood (Blu Ray) [Blu-ray] Both films are about the disintegration of the nuclear family in a bitter divorce and both films have their lead female protagonist give birth to a metaphor made flesh. In the case of THE BROOD Samantha Eggar's character gave birth to a physical manifestation of her rage, in POSSESSION Isabelle Adjani gives birth to something with a more political context than the psychological one seen in the Cronsnberg film. Set in Berlin and featuring plenty of shots of the Wall, and the guards observing things through binoculars, the film is set in a city divided both physically and psychologically. In essence the city is as divided as the characters who bicker, scream and self-harm and show little awareness of the people around them. As things continue to fall apart in their private lives, and the characters grow ever madder and the plot gets stranger, we get the impression the world itself is falling to pieces. It's also worth noting director Zulawski made this film after the sudden ending of his marriage (his wife ran of with a man named Heinrich) and the ending of his last film at the hands of Poland's Communist government so there is a strong element of autobiography to the film as well.

So then, anyone who says that horror films can't be intelligent or have anything to say about the world should really be directed to this wonderful and strange movie that sits nicely on the shelf next to the works of Jodorowsky, Lynch and Cronenberg. Previously banned in the United Kingdom by idiots who didn't really 'get' it. The film is now out on Blu-ray from second sight with a wealth of extras including two commentary tracks, a 51 minute making of, interviews and more. For the most part the picture quality is excellent, there is some 'noise' however in some of the darker scenes that gets quite noticeable, it doesn't look like DNR as there's plenty of detail in the image. I suspect it may be due to the source material showing it up in HD but i'm sure someone more knowledgeable than me might have an answer.

Overall though it's the best release of the film to date. I have the Anchor bay US release and the previous Second sight DVD release and this is still a noticeable step up from those. If you have not seen the film yet I urge you to buy it immediately and watch it. It's a genuinely brilliant slice of cinema. It nearly won at Cannes, and Isabelle Adjani won for her insane and over the top performance which was criticized by some critics but suits the tone of the film perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For lovers of the bizarre, 2 Jun 2010
I'd love to know if David Lynch saw this film back in the early eighties and if so, what he made of it. I was struck by the amount of Lynchian tropes here - shifting identities, acting that veers from mannered to hysterical in an instant, disregard of narrative in favour of the symbolic, hell, even a pair of blue velvet curtains put in an appearance. As this was made in 1981, years before Blue Velvet and Lost Highway I figure it must have seeped into his subconscious somehow. I'm not complaining by the way, I love DLs films and I loved this, it looks amazing - brilliantly shot and hypnotic and it uses its Berlin setting wonderfully well. My only quibble - we could have lost some of the rambling, pretentious monologues and still retained the essential core weirdness of the film. Recommended (although not if you are seeking a gory horror - forget all that video nasty rubbish, the terror here is mainly of the cerebal variety)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror Masterpiece, 8 Aug 2013
This review is from: Possession [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Andrzej Zulawski's 'Possession' was one of the most controversial releases of the early 80s, even whilst it boasted a very well deserved Best Actress award at Cannes for Isabelle Adjani.

A nerve-shredding study of paranioa, claustrophobia and the complete disintegration of a family, all set against the backdrop of a gloomy and sterile Berlin, will not be a clarion call to the tastes of many, but this visceral and explicitly violent drama boasts superb camera work, art direction and some of the best performances of its actors' careers. The pace may begin a little slowly, but the viewer cannot help but be drawn in to this increasingly terrifying and disturbing nightmare.

Sam Neill, in one of his early roles, is a perfect smouldering foil for the almost screaming-pitch performance from his screen wife Isabelle Adjani. Indeed Adjani's extreme hysteria and physical degredations are almost too exhausting to watch, but it's a testament to her commitment and acting ability that she is able to sustain such a degree of intensity through much of the film's running time. The revelation of the 'dark secret' which lies at the core of her madness, and its gruesome aftermath, has much in common with the metaphorical body-horror genre of films a la Cronenberg which were popluar at the time, but 'Possession' stands out from the rest for taking the concept and its explicit representations much further than the rest....!

The blu-ray disc offers a wondefully pristine widescreen print, highlighting the stark sterility of the environment and lending the gore a whole new level of intensity. There are some great extras too, lending insights into the film's production and reception.

Be warned though - this is the full uncut version and there are at least two sequences which many will find hard to watch. Pregnant women should definitely think twice before entering Adjani's world!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Transfixed by the screen, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Possession [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
It is hard to NOT watch this film, as Adjani's performance is incredible, but so is most everything else here. It all seems so alien, but there is a deep human truth running through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALMOST, 14 Jan 2012
This review is from: Possession [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Anna, a sadistic ballet teacher is married, to Mark, a spy of some sort. They are having marital problems and boy are those problems bad!
Possession is a gory perverse mash up of doppelgangers, crazed camera work and ultra alienating characters, that culminates in Anna enjoying angst filled graphic congress with a squid/man/octopus-thing, whilst repeating the word "almost. Along the way there's a miscarriage in a subway, a bisexual who lives with his mum, some nasty business with an electric carving knife and a very violent shooting. It's hard to say what this movie is actually about, but loosely if The Brood was about the physical manifestation of the damage caused by the break up of a marriage, Possession is about the even worse mayhem inflicted on everyone when two very nasty dysfunctional people are working things through. There is also a political dimension involved. It is important that Possession is set in Berlin against the backdrop of the Berlin Wall. This is a paranoid film about personal and political fear manifesting themselves as a pyschological and physical nightmare.

Isabelle Adjani goes at her performance with a blank, numb, suppressed fury and Sam Neill alternates between a weird bemused indulgent empathy for his wife and a deep inner sickness.

Possession is a one off. Too OTT to entirely work as art-house cinema, but not really a horror film either. There's a strong visual debt to 1970s Italian giallo horror thrillers and to an extent a thematic similarity to Cronenberg's body horror films.
Possession is by turns fascinating, ludicrous, and striking. It's a genuine oddity and a must for collectors the original Video Nasties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars we told you so., 24 Oct 2010
By 
boz (florida MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Possession [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
but no one was listening..
i used to watch this amazing black and apocalyptic horror comedy (that's surely what it really is?) with half a dozen still-at-schoolfriends in near empty London cinemas every rare time it was shown, for many, many years. sometimes we would be the only ones there. as at one particular Scala all-nighter.
glad but also a little sad that it's at last become installed as a "cult classic".
i guess we kind of felt we "owned it".

buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fore Lovers of the BIZARRE only, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Possession [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I don't have the skill to give a detailed description of this film but feel I must write something to recommend Possession to connoisseurs of the weird, grotesque and bizarre. It starts with Anna and Mark (Isabelle Adjani & Sam Neill - Both great)yelling at each other with such terrible intensity its almost funny like some extreme caricature of domestic hell. But after that it descends into nightmare, madness and mental torment one scene where Anna has some kind of frenzied fit and miscarriage (superbly acted by the beautiful Adjani) is as shocking and terrifying as anything I've ever seen on the screen. While not a horror film (though it was idiotically on the video nasty list once)it should appeal to fans of Cronenberg, Lynch, Polanski and Haneke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Possession [DVD] [1981]
Possession [DVD] [1981] by Isabelle Adjani (DVD - 2010)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews