Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get on board this DVD for hours of memorable slapstick fun! "Ring the bell, sound the horn"!
Created by Glyn Jones in 1970 and loosely based on the 1930s film serial Our Gang (AKA The Little Rascals) The Double Deckers, or Here Come The Double Deckers to give its full title, is a kids comedy and music show that will have stayed in the minds of any one of a certain age who watched it when it was originally shown in January 1971 and then repeated every summer on...
Published on 1 Nov 2010 by Dee-en

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Childhood Memories
My husband wanted this for Christmas. Think he wanted to re-live his childhood. It's funny how many people you recognise. It's a great laugh to watch !
Published 18 months ago by Tania


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get on board this DVD for hours of memorable slapstick fun! "Ring the bell, sound the horn"!, 1 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Come The Double Deckers [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Created by Glyn Jones in 1970 and loosely based on the 1930s film serial Our Gang (AKA The Little Rascals) The Double Deckers, or Here Come The Double Deckers to give its full title, is a kids comedy and music show that will have stayed in the minds of any one of a certain age who watched it when it was originally shown in January 1971 and then repeated every summer on BBC TV until at least 1978.

Originally 26 episodes of the show had been commissioned to be followed by further series, but production stopped after just 17 episodes and no further shows were made. The reason for the this has never been fully explained because the show was an immediate hit on both sides of the Atlantic (it was partly funded by an American production company). The show is about a gang of seven children whose HQ is a customised red London Routemaster bus in a scrap yard in London's East End. Each week they get involved in a different adventure be it making a film, raising money for guide dogs for the blind, doing a spot of painting and decorating, going camping or visiting a country mansion and finding lost treasure. Along for the ride was their adult pal Albert (Melvyn Hayes) who more often than not ended up as the butt of their jokes.

Everyone will have their favourite episode. Mine is 'The Pop Singer' where they become pop moguls and help guest star Anthony May become his alter ego The Cool Cavalier. But all the shows are highly memorable and once you start watching you won't want to stop. The young cast including Peter Firth, Gillian Bailey and Brinsley Forde are all excellent and also appearing are a stellar line up of guest stars including Clive Dunn, Pat Combs, Roy Kinnear, Jack Haig, David Lodge, Frank Thornton George Woodbridge, Hugh Paddick, Betty Marsden, Liz Fraser, Julian Orchard, Jane Seymour, Michael Sharvell-Martin, Graham Stark and Sam Kydd.

The bonus features are not plentiful but are very welcome being an interview of memories of making the show by two of its stars, Brinsley Forde (who played Spring) and Michael Audreson (Brains). The soundtrack album has already been released on CD and so now with this DVD you have no excuse but to "get on board for fun and laughter".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'SEE YOU NEXT WEEEEEE...K!, 8 Dec 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Come The Double Deckers [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Oh my - what a trip down 'Memory Lane' this was! Hadn't seen this since it aired originally way, way back in 1971 - almost forty years ago. Remembered it all vividly though; including the theme song, the kids names, and all of the action! Made in the American style (but still very British) this was an action-packed show for kids that was originally shown on a Saturday morning long before 'official' children's TV began - along with other shows like 'The Banana Splits' if I remember correctly.

Where so many TV series take time to get off the ground; this classic kicked-off immediately with the very first episode which is one of the best and funniest when 'Tiger' falls into an invention (the 'thingy' Craft) made by 'Brains' and literally 'takes off'! This is a real tonic and will have you in stitches! Unable to control the strange 'Hoover' vehicle (as she calls it); Tiger seems to be chasing the other kids all over town - priceless stuff! May not sound very original today, but these talented kids - the slapstick, and the way things were back then makes it all work somehow.

'The Case Of The Missing Doughnut' episode - and the very second, is brilliant too! Simply a masterpiece of comic slapstick! 'Doughnut' makes himself invisible via one of 'Brains'' inventions and has some fun at the expense of shopkeepers in both a Toy Shop and a Bakers. Some hilarious scenes ensue in the Toy Shop in particular, featuring comedy greats: Julian Orchard and Jack Haig as the 'taunted' shop keepers! You'll be in stitches as Jack Haig shouts at some toy guns 'don't shoot, don't shoot'! as both fight to get into a toy cupboard for safety from the seemingly attacking toys! And Get a load of those board games on the shelf above; Monopoly, Cluedo, Spy-Ring and the 'Computer Car' - they're all there and we owned them all, and what golden memories too! Only one complaint; these eps. weren't long enough, but then again; that was one of the most successful tricks of the trade years ago; it all left you wanting more...

'Get A Movie On' was hilarious too - Melvyn Hayes's custard pie slapstick constantly in the mush is merciless! All so innocent, and not one of the kids was one of those that you couldn't stand like nowadays. Is it me, or our generation? But none of these kids suffered from that awful teenage 'attitude' we see so often today. We were obviously very fortunate and grew up in a golden era. We all had our favourite characters too - mine was 'Billie' played by Gillian Bailey. For some reason I remembered her best of all.

I loved much of the slapstick in this which you don't see today; cars, vehicles and even people just 'speeded up' - totally hilarious! The scene with the Fork Lift Truck in 'Starstruck' is a classic example! Also, the Benny Hill type chasing that occurs in the 'Happy Haunting' episode with the late great Pat Coombes is also another fine example of this. They all begin running away from something individually - only to end up running behind one another in a long line - marvellous! Another where slapstick features highly is 'Summer Camp' starring a handsome Hugh Paddick. 'Invaders From Space' and 'Robbie The Robot' are two more of the funniest and 'Scooper Strikes Out' is extremely artistic which stars a very young Jane Seymour and is reminiscent of the tale 'Alice In Wonderland' with its very own unique 'slant' to the story! In 'The Popstar' which features 'Anthony May' - at one point, you could be forgiven for thinking you'd tuned into an episode of 'Top Of The Pops'!

The quality of most episodes in general is pretty good, though a couple are slightly 'duller' in quality - both in picture and sound. Some of the dubbing is slightly out of synch too for some reason on a couple, and there's one episode where the character 'Billie' is saying a line - and her lips don't even move at all!

In reference to any 'Extras' - there's only one; namely Brinsley Ford (Spring) and Michael Audreson (Brains') reminiscing about their work on the show. Though nice to see them, it's clear that no expense went into this - or heart come to that, and from this angle, it's very disappointing... Considering how popular the show was and still is; I think it's criminal they've been so mean - in view of the fact I would have thought that most, if not all of the cast would have wished to take part - particularly since many have done little else in TV since. (with perhaps the exception of Peter Firth who played 'Scooper')

'See You Next Weeeee....k' - oh those golden memories...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here come The Double Deckers, 30 Nov 2010
By 
G. Hill (Reading UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Come The Double Deckers [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Welcome back to 1971, I bought this to remember sitting down on the floor and watching a twenty to thirty minute episode of the antics of the Double Deckers, this was made when children used to go out and play in the street or park and have all kinds of fun, where there was no mobile phones, computers, networking sites or hundreds of crappy tv channles to flick between.

Seventeen episodes of pure fun consisting of cunning inventions from the mighty leader called Brains.
Episodes include Raising money for a guide dog, Hovercraft, Helping out a homeless clown, Invisable Doughnut and many more.

The music from the beginning title will have you singing along and in moments you will be back to your childhood grinning ear to ear, sipping orange squash from a plastic beaker or glass and eating Ready salted crisps or Wagon Wheels.

Buy it and enjoy

Official Website [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT NOSTALGIA - PITY ABOUT THE PICTURE QUALITY, 27 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Come The Double Deckers [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
As I write this, all the other reviewers have given this 5 Stars - clearly everyone is extremely happy.

- it's time to put a stick in the spokes - let's rock the boat a little.

The picture quality on this release is poor - the producers have not bothered to strike a transfer from the original 35mm negatives/prints, and have instead used inferior analogue tape masters - I suspect these are copies of the 2" Quad transmission masters that were supplied to the BBC in 1971.

Shame on the producers and the distribution company - it stinks of both greed and incompetence.

They should bow their heads in shame - clearly a case of minimum outlay for maximum return.

The only good thing here is that Amazon are selling this DVD at far less than the RRP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why has this taken so long, 25 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. G. G. Geddes "bearded" (tarves aberdeenshire scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Come The Double Deckers [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
bought this for the kids,but secretly it was for me really.i had`nt seen this since it was first shown.it does`nt disappoint either.although the picture quality is poor as is the sound quality.i still enjoyed every last bit of it.this deserves the full digi -remaster thingy.my kids loved it too.my wife on the other hand said "grow up".so will someone please get this redone.i would buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ride again with the Double Deckers, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: Here Come The Double Deckers [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Forty years after this show first aired it is finally out on Dvd and remains as fresh and funny as it was then. Bright, cheerful and amusing it knocks all the modern American Hannah Montana type stuff into a cocked hat.....or should that be into the large hamper Sticks emerges from in the opening titles. It is so obvious that all involved were just having a whale of a time and getting on like a house on fire, Production values, cast performances and staging get a definite ten out of ten. Several laugh out loud moments and an inspired Rowan and Martin spoof in one episode stick out, Lots of custard pie moments and the total lack of parental influence and restrictions mark this one as special. A watch that will cheer anyone up after a bad day at work and no, you don't need to have kids to appreciate it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get on board, get on board ...Double Deckers, 4 Nov 2010
By 
A. Thom "Tex" (King's Lynn, Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Come The Double Deckers [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Here Come The Double Deckers [DVD] [1971]

I have waited ages for this to be released on dvd, and was not dissapointed when it arrived. It was like revisiting my childhood.I have already watched 4x20 minute programs and thought how much I've missed this well made and very funny series. You can imagine yourself getting up to similar pranks when you were younger!
I particularly like the episode when Doughnut is invisible!
Brrriiiilllliiiaaannntttt!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic entertainment, 27 April 2011
This review is from: Here Come The Double Deckers [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
I bought this partly for myself and partly for my 8 year old daughter. I would have been about her age when i watched it originally. She absolutely loves it and has watched it over and over again and she loves all the characters. It seems to have many of the elements that children love such as a den they all hang out in away from grown ups, good music and lots of slapstick fun. I would thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pure shot of nostalgia, 7 Feb 2011
By 
Gonzalo Jimenez "nostalgia searcher" (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Here Come The Double Deckers [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
This was one of my favorite shows when I was a child in Venezuela. Just recently I found the show's intro on YouTube and decided to find out if the series could be bought in Amazon. I It was! Being able to buy and see it with my 9 year-old son is one of the great pleasures of 2011. A great series and a perfect image of growing up in the early 70's. A must-watch for fans of Britisth TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I never knew a Routemaster could be so much fun!, 19 Oct 2011
This review is from: Here Come The Double Deckers [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Pure nostalgia and great fun - the high production values have stood the test of time. I particularly like the cute and cuddly character of Doughnut, played with great verve by Douglas Simmonds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Here Come The Double Deckers [DVD] [1971]
Here Come The Double Deckers [DVD] [1971] by Peter Firth (DVD - 2010)
12.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews