Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year contender - already
I believe I possess everything that Mark Lanegan has recorded. Not bragging, just stating a fact to support my absolute admiration for what he has done, and my belief that he has one of the great voices in rock. The only album that I didn't really like was his Ballads of the Broken Seas with Isobel Campbell - which won awards for goodness sake, but just didn't cut it for...
Published on 4 Mar 2008 by Big Jim

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars New (Lanegan)solo work please
Compared to the worst Lanegan album this album is ten times worse.Even after giving it more then 10 chances I don't like it. The albums together with Isobel Campbel are also not as good as his solowork, but at least I can play it when my mother visits me. Saturnalia is not good for anything.
Please go solo again. Let Greg and Isobel make an album together. I hope for...
Published on 5 Nov 2008 by E. Keek


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year contender - already, 4 Mar 2008
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Saturnalia (Audio CD)
I believe I possess everything that Mark Lanegan has recorded. Not bragging, just stating a fact to support my absolute admiration for what he has done, and my belief that he has one of the great voices in rock. The only album that I didn't really like was his Ballads of the Broken Seas with Isobel Campbell - which won awards for goodness sake, but just didn't cut it for me. Otherwise his solo work is of singularly excellent quality, he has the standout tracks on any Queens of the Stone Age album and as for the Screaming trees, easily the best and most innovative of the "grunge" bands.

Greg Dulli? Don't know so much about him but enjoyed a couple of Afghan Whigs albums, especially 1965.

So put them together and what do you get? An exuberant slice of psychedelic, rocky americana. On this album you will hear rocking beats, mental metal guitar, slower acoustic folky numbers, excellent vocal harmonies and truly superb, proper songs. Just look at the instruments that are played on this album. Guitars - electric and acoustic of course, drums, bass and keyboards, so far so ho hum. But there are violins and cellos on some tracks which add a warmth to the affair, the harmonium is hauled out to lend an ethereal rasp to "God's children". "Each to each" features sequenced beats merged with mandolin, and the closer "Front Street" is a slow burning, more traditional epic, kind of creepy, poem set to music.

Maybe I'm being over zealous in my support for this album but anything released this year that overtakes this as my album of the year (or indeed the last few years) will have to be special indeed. This album is that good! In the past couple of weeks we have had an excellent album by Gary Louris which knocked my socks off and now this one. Maybe 2008 will be the year of "New Americana". You heard it here first!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning collaborative effort from grunge veterans, 31 Mar 2008
By 
Matt Pucci "mattpucci.com" (Here, there and everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saturnalia (Audio CD)
If you're reading this, then the chances are you're already au fait with either, if not both, of the individuals that make up the Gutter Twins, and to a certain extent will know what to expect here (clue: QUALITY). Of course, there will be newcomers; curious and hopeful listeners, drawn in by the reputations and the rave reviews, and it's at those folk that this review is primarily aimed.

Saturnalia - the first complete album of collaborations between Greg Dulli (ex-Afghan Whigs/Twilight Singers) and Mark Lanegan (ex-Screaming Trees/Queens of the Stone Age) - is a dark and moody affair; blues of the blackest kind from two of music's great survivors. While it's difficult to decipher the exact details of the experiences that inform this set of songs, it's pretty safe to say that these guys have "seen some stuff" in their time, and so if you're of the introspective, heart-broken, love-lorn, or occasionally cynical ilk, you're likely to dig this. It's serious stuff, for sure, best listened to late at night, with a glass (or bottle...) of whiskey at hand, or during a long drive in the dark. Just check out the ominous opener 'The Stations' for proof, or the dirty rock-out of 'Idle Hands' (built around a hulking riff that simply could not have been written for anyone other than Lanegan) or even the Dulli-led, shamelessly covetous closer, 'Front Porch' ("if she's fine as your missus, then she's fine enough for me").

It's weighty stuff throughout, but Saturnalia stops well short of being depressing, thanks to the simplicity of the compositions, the lushness of their arrangements and the conviction of their delivery. There is also a surprising lightness of touch - most notably on the Lanegan-sung 'Who Will Lead Us?' - that you just don't get with the majority of today's bands, which elevates this album further into the realms of genius. These two guys - regardless of what you know of them or their previous incarnations - are once again proving to be masters of their craft and the whole of this album reeks of quality and class.

Matt Pucci
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saturnalia: The Gutter Twins - Dark and moody heavy rock from the most distinctive voices in the genre, 28 Aug 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saturnalia (Audio CD)
I have long been a fan of the collaboration between Isobel Campbell and Mark Lanegan, and as a result have been exploring other work by both musicians. My first port of call was this collaboration between Lanegan and Greg Dulli, and whilst it was a bit of a surprise it was a very pleasant one.

This is a dark album of heavy rock, with many layers and textures as Lanegan and Dulli tell us of the price they pay for their hedonistic lifestyles and the things that they have seen over the years of excess. Musically it is genius, one of the best heavy albums I have ever heard. Lanegan in particular is on fine vocal form, his ravaged and gravelly voice dominating the album for me. It's a masterpiece, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A grower....., 13 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saturnalia (Audio CD)
I brought this as Gentlemen by The Afghan Whigs is one of my favourite albums and I have also been enjoying Mark Lanegan's solo output lately. When I first received the album the first track was the standout for me but the rest of the album I wasn't too sure about. I put it to one side and came back to it a few weeks later. It's definitely a grower and is one of my go to albums at the moment if I'm not sure what to put on. I think if you enjoyed the grunge era, soulful indie or any of Lanegan's solo work then it's worth taking a punt on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black is the Colour, 3 Sep 2012
This review is from: Saturnalia (Audio CD)
When 'grunge' was taking off in the 90's there were a few bands who stood somewhat in the shadows. Left behind by the likes of Nirvana, Pearl Jam and even the lesser 'grunge-lite' acts that came along a little later (Silverchair, Candlebox, Creed). Among those left behind where The Afghan Whigs and Screaming Trees, the bands fronted by The Gutter Twins. Since the break-up of both bands, they've kept exceptionally busy while remaining just under the radar - Dulli has been busy with his Twilight Singers project, while Lanegan has added a few more records to his incredible solo cannon (and that's not even touching on the wealth of collaborations).

Saturnalia isn't their first collaboration together - Lanegan has appeared on a number of Dulli's Twilight Singers' records - but it marks their first as The Gutter Twins. In many ways it's the record that you would expect from them both, it explores the same darkened streets (Seven Stories Underground), embraces the darkness that surrounds them (Idle Hands), yet never giving up hope (Who Will Lead Us?).

Sonically, there's the soul of the Whigs, the gospel of the Trees and I Was In Love With You sounds like a gothic Beatles number. It's not often that you can say there's a real etheral quality to guitars that seem be sparring ferociously (see the excellent Circle the Fringes), but Saturnalia is one of those records. It's not Black Love or Dust, but it finds Dulli and Lanegan right where they feel comfortable. In the shadows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In the gutter, looking up at stars, 8 April 2012
This review is from: Saturnalia (Audio CD)
Dark, brooding with undertones of menace. Saturnalia is a gothic delight right from the start. Put on a black trenchcoat and black eye-liner and take a trip to the dark side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven's Quite A Climb, 8 April 2008
By 
Tom Chase (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Saturnalia (Audio CD)
Where "Saturnalia" succeeds most is in fusing the styles and sounds of the two artists. Like all of Lanegan's solo albums, there is an overwhelming sense of maturity and wisdom in his delivery. His voice is as gravely and whiskey-drenched as it has ever been. The two voices are constantly shifted to great effect; the best examples of this would be "Circle The Fringes" in which Lanegan rips through Dulli's melodic lines with a rumbling quake, instantly blackening the song's atmosphere. If not within the same song, the two deliveries are often placed side by side, such as with Lanegan's Tom Waits styled romp "All Misery" and Dulli's beautiful ballad "The Body".

"Saturnalia" is yet another remarkable outing from Mark Lanegan, and for me, some of Dulli's work best since the Afghan Whigs heyday. Perfect for fans of either artists, or those simply wanting some real gritty folk blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British bands, take note!, 6 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. C. J. Waldron "mhsob" (UK & Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saturnalia (Audio CD)
North America certainly has the edge at the moment for great innovative music. Apart from Nick Cave who is in a league of his own, bands like the Gutter Twins are showing the way forward. This is a blinding collection of songs that will be in any serious top ten cd's of the year for 2008. The highlights are tracks 1 to 12, such is the strength of the music and its such a relief to hear outstanding vocals that are powerfully blended instruments in their own right. "Gods Children" and "Idle Hands" are the most easily accesible but to be honest, any track here is a winner. You will find it very difficult to stop listening to Saturnalia. British bands should take note - stop rehashing old stuff and follow the innovative raw beauty of the Gutter Twins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sympathy for the devil, 4 May 2008
By 
C. O'Brien (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saturnalia (Audio CD)
As always with these two masters of American Gothic, the sacred and the secular entwine like two sides of the same coin. Lanegan can sound like the very devil, his gravelled growl rising from the depths to add weight to Dulli's lapsed choirboy croon. Their writing styles are also complementary: Dulli's deft way with a rock song produces some of the album's smoother moments, like the swooping Radiohead-meets-Alice-in-Chains "God's Children" - while Lanegan gives us tracks like the lycanthropic "Bete Noire".

When they write together, they produce everything from rip-roaring single "Idle Hands" to the album's centrepiece - the swirling, ritualistic "Circle The Fringes". Probably the album's only weak point is the rather dated "Each To Each", over-decorated with mellotron and synths. Emotionally, though, it feels like a redemptive closing track, the light at the end of the long dark tunnel.

Then, abruptly, we come out into the light and birdsong and acoustic guitars welcome us back...into hell. Closer "Front Street" is perhaps the darkest song on this penumbral work; seductive, weary, yet glinting with malevolent glamour. When Lanegan snarls "we're gonna have us some fun", you know he isn't talking about a trip to the seaside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
By 
Ian Birch "Ian Birch" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saturnalia (Audio CD)
Another good offering from Greg Dulli and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saturnalia
Saturnalia by The Gutter Twins
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews