Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Break from the tedium
The mysteriously titled "Oh, Inverted World" is an excitingly unique album. Released in a time when artists are shamelessly making their influences almost as obvious as the inevitably comparisons that their work will draw, The Shins' latest offering presents a musical paradox and a refreshing change. Both timeless and modern, "Oh, Inverted World" has a familiar sound...
Published on 12 May 2002 by Chris Hinde (hindey@btinternet...

versus
3 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little saddened
I have never before felt compelled to write comments about an album. I was optimistic that I might enjoy The Shins album "Oh inverted world". The customer reviews were highly complimentary...
The immediacy of the acoustic versions are almost destroyed by 60s whispery harmonies. The album is for me very different from the beauty of the acoustic renditions of...
Published on 18 Aug 2002 by paulmccarthief


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Break from the tedium, 12 May 2002
This review is from: Oh, Inverted World (Audio CD)
The mysteriously titled "Oh, Inverted World" is an excitingly unique album. Released in a time when artists are shamelessly making their influences almost as obvious as the inevitably comparisons that their work will draw, The Shins' latest offering presents a musical paradox and a refreshing change. Both timeless and modern, "Oh, Inverted World" has a familiar sound while drawing no obvious parallels with any other album. At times The Shins sound like a band from the 60's, with occasional and subtle contempoary connections. Every track is melodic and unique and, although apparently unexciting on first listen, "Oh, Inverted World" is hypnotic and soon begins to invade the listeners consciousness. The simple guitar melodies and softly sung vocals complement each other perfectly, contributing to a thoroughly enjoyable and rewarding album.
Stand-out tracks are the catchy opener "Caring Is Creepy" with its lyrically excellent chorus, dark and intimidating "Your Algebra" and the highlight of the album, the fantastic "New Slang", with its relaxed lazy summer evening feel. The video for "New Slang" also features on the CD. Don't be put off with the pop label, this is an intelligent album perfect for relieving the tedium of the latest crazes for stripped down 70's rock, Brit-band indie and American pop-punk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Shins - unknown genius at work, 20 Aug 2003
This review is from: Oh, Inverted World (Audio CD)
What is there to be said about this album? Well, a heck of a lot really, but rather than go into great detail about its many fine points, I'll leave you to discover them for yourselves. Let me just say that this album is perfect summer easy-listening, a record full of breezy, melodic and occasionally haunting tunes. Lead singer James Mercer's soft voice is easy on the ears as are the poetic lyrics which he writes. There are literally no weak tracks - with the exception of spooky interlude "your algebra" which isn't really a song anyway. Standouts include the excellent opener "Caring is creepy" and the beautiful accoustic strum of "New Slang". It is easy to see how the vocal harmonies could draw comparisons to the Beach Boys or Simon and Garfunkel and while the Shins are unlikely to achieve the same level of recognition, they will remain one of modern music's best kept secrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knowing our onions could be a good thing, 28 Nov 2003
This review is from: Oh, Inverted World (Audio CD)
I don't want to hype this band too much but I wish they'd tour England! Having said that, would their live presence spoil my image of them lazing around on a sunny afternoon smoking, sipping cups of tea and reading from picture books and listening to various pet sounds. Yes, it's true that there are some obvious influences on this album: the Beach Boys is the most obvious, but there are very definite shades of The Kinks, Simon & Garfunkel, Pavement, REM and Blur. Many have said the standout track is "New Slang" and I'd have to agree - it's beautiful in every way. "Know your onion!", "Caring is creepy" and "Pressed in a book" all jump out at the listener too, but this is very much an album to listen to as a whole and just unwind too. The indie kids shouldn't be expecting to bounce around their Kinesis and Hundred Reasons CD-strewn bedrooms to "Oh, Inverted World", but those appreciating a simple melody, and the vocals of a guy, James Mercer, who you are left convinced wouldn't say boo to a goose, would truly adore this masterpiece. I bought this CD on the strength of purely stumbling across The Shins on the internet and reading some very favourable reviews. I've heard the new album is even better. Guess what my next purchase will be?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On a lazy afternoon.., 10 Aug 2005
This review is from: Oh, Inverted World (Audio CD)
The Shins are an innovative band, blending traditional indie rythms with an experimental use of reverberated and distorted melodies and stretched vocals. The prequel to 'Chutes too Narrow', 'Oh,Inverted World' is full of echoed chants, drifting melodies and lazy-afternoon lyrics. If you're looking for sing-along anthems then this is perhaps not the album for you (try 'Chutes too Narrow') but 'Oh, Inverted World' is the perfect Sunday soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh, Inverted World, 28 Feb 2007
By 
M. I. Popovski (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oh, Inverted World (Audio CD)
The Shins make great pop music. All of the songs on this album have a bright, catchy appeal. They are laid back but refreshingly original. My particular stand-out tracks are Caring is Creepy, Know Yr Onion!, New Slang, Girl on the Wing and Pressed in a Book. The only one I skip is the befuddling Your Algebra.

As well as the quality music, James Mercer's lyrics are a delight in themselves. Lines like 'a luscious mix of words and tricks' or 'no icicles stuck in my hide' show what an inventive lyricist he is. A pity you cannot always discern the words in the songs, but the CD jacket has them printed.

Chutes Too Narrow is the more accessable album so you may want to start your Shins experience there, but this is still amazing and well worth your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strange,very strange indeed!, 26 Sep 2005
This review is from: Oh, Inverted World (Audio CD)
On hearing this for the first time I wasn't sure what the hell I was listening to!
The first thing that strikes you is the production-the whole record has such an eerie veneer-as if The Zombies had composed the soundtrack to a long forgotten horror film.
The sixties references are easy to spot,from The Kinks to the above mentioned Zombies.Then as these nuggets of psych-pop wormed their way into my brain I stopped playing spot the influence and started to enjoy this great record. For lovers of Elephant 6/ Kinks/ Zombies and the first Simian album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mind expanding and eye opening, 25 Oct 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oh, Inverted World (Audio CD)
For all that Shins frontman James Mercer talks about the band's love affair with 'pop music', the Shins' full-length debut is anything but a stroll down pop music's well-trodden alleyways. 'On Inverted World' is as apt an album title as any - this is pop, but 1960's guitar pop put through a strange filter and turned inside-out.
From opener "Caring Is Creepy" that comes on like early Cure or Echo and the Bunnymen, it's a tour through the strange and psychedelic worlds of pop music. 'Weird Divide' is the Beach Boys on a bad trip, 'New Slang' owes as much to the spaghetti western maestro Morricone as it does to 1960's guitar pop, while 'Pressed In A Book' recalls Pavement at their experimental best. Album closer 'Past and Pending' is heartbreaking, a wonderful chord progression lamenting the end of summer and another winter sprawling out ahead.
It'd get five stars, but 32 minutes of music for a full-price album is a bit of a gyp. However if it's all about quality and you're not bothered about the quantity, go right ahead and get hold of this. A few listens and you'll have a new best friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh inverted preconceptions!, 16 Nov 2002
By 
Jon Miller (North West England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oh, Inverted World (Audio CD)
I was first aware of The Shins when Caring Is Creepy featured on a playlist on the Poptones website. More recently Girl Inform Me and the album were endorsed by Brendan Benson so I thought i'd give the album a try. I had thought The Shins would be part of the Strokes/Vines/Von Bondies bandwagon - how wrong can you be!
Although the album is retro it avoids the obvious reference points, so much so that it is redolent of, but never similar to or the same as, and this is a pretty astonishing feat in itself. It reminds me of early Pink Floyd, early REM, and more recently Super Furry Animals, but that's just a lazy attempt to get a handle on it. You could spend a long time trying to pin it down!
It's quite melancholy or at least wistful in places, which is a winner with me, and for an American band The Shins are very English without this seeming at all studious or forced.
Spending time with this album occasioned a good deal of pleasure and excitement, and repeated listening guarantees more of the same. If you want some you know what to do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 21st Century masterpiece..., 21 Nov 2005
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Oh, Inverted World (Audio CD)
2001's 'Oh, Inverted World' remains one of the great albums released thus far in the zeroes - a classic I'd rate alongside such albums as 'Yankee Hotel Foxtrot','Mass Romantic','snow borne sorrow','69 Love Songs','Carbon Glacier','Turn on the Bright Lights'& 'Lift Yr Skinny Fists...'
It was on some Sub Pop samplers I became aware of The Shins - the wonderful 'New Slang (When You Notice the Stripes' sounding like a more sophisticated Elliott Smith. The Shins album fitting into a similar spectrum to acts like Apples In Stereo,The Kingsbury Manx and The New Pornographers. There's a sense of pop here, alongside elements of folk and psychedelia - any fans of more recent bands like The Arcade Fire and The Decemberists should find much here to adore!
It's all wonderful, having that melancholic autumn feel to things - songs like 'Girl Inform Me' and the Blur-meets-Van Dyke Parks of 'The Weird Divide' are ideal songs to fall in or out of love to. As the sticker on a more recent reissue notes, two songs here the aforementioned 'New Slang' and opener 'Caring is Creepy' featured in the indie-movie 'Garden State'- though whether this is a good thing or not depends if you thought it was minor-pseudo indie fare which irritated profoundly, having the depth of an episode of 'The OC'!
I love this album, though it's not that long; the follow-up 'Chutes Too Narrow' was fine too, though as some reviews have noted - the weight of expectation and claims of greatness for this debut dilute its effect. The oddest track here remains 'Your Algebra', which reminds me a little of Pink Floyd's 'Alan's Psychedelic Breakfast' and a lot of Dead Can Dance's 'Severance' for some reason! Closing joy 'The Past and Pending' remains the highlight, gorgeous melancholic folk-inflected rock that veers off into psychedelic territory with some gorgeous french horn...A 21st Century masterpiece and an album no one should be without anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oh, Inverted World, 19 Dec 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oh, Inverted World (Audio CD)
I confess that I came to `Oh, Inverted World' after hearing `New Slang' and `Caring is Creepy' on a friends CD, but I am glad to say I am pleasantly surprised by the rest of the music on offer. Those two mentioned tracks are probably the most immediately accessible but that means that the other tracks require some patience and repeated listening to get the most out of them. There is a slightly Beatles-esque feel to this band at times and as others have noted a 6o's vibe about them. Also, if you sit and read the lyrics at the same time as listening to the music you can't help but be impressed by the poetry on offer; be it slightly off the wall and kooky! If you are aware of the Sub Pop record label then you will have a pretty good idea of what this music will be like. Most of their artists have a similar style or vibe about them and this is no exception. Overall this is an original band and a good collection of tracks that may take a few listens to get the most out of, but once you do you will be glad you took the time.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oh, Inverted World
Oh, Inverted World by The Shins
Buy MP3 Album£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews