Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spiritual evocations
I remember buying this album shortly after buying his'Winding Sheet' during the height of the grunge evolution from a small store in the backstreets of Soho. I guess setting the scene is important in reliving the memories. It captivated me from the beginning. His voice had always been a favourite since the days with 'screaming trees', but only on the solo albums do we...
Published on 24 Mar 2001 by Premkumar Jeyapaul

versus
4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, but he's done better
Mark Lanegan's gorgeous cracked purr of a voice against a suitably moody backing will ALWAYS stir the soul, but this perfectly acceptable album lacks the songcraft to really land a suckerpunch.
Though effective in conjuring up reflective weariness and woe the songs rather blend into on another and fail to stick in the mind. The acoustic/electric guitar melange is...
Published on 22 Dec 2002 by kit7635


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spiritual evocations, 24 Mar 2001
By 
I remember buying this album shortly after buying his'Winding Sheet' during the height of the grunge evolution from a small store in the backstreets of Soho. I guess setting the scene is important in reliving the memories. It captivated me from the beginning. His voice had always been a favourite since the days with 'screaming trees', but only on the solo albums do we hear the pure unadulterated haunting and tortured undertones. Exemplified in songs such as 'Riding the Nightingale' and 'Kingdoms of Rain'; he incorporates biblical themes and intervenes them in a spiritual landscape, where the shores of hope are dashed by the waves of inimical pain and unrequited love. When he sings 'I'm going to cry' no-one meant it more. I've read him stating that this album was created in the midst of his battle with heroin and it's clearly evident in both its dark and psychedellic themes. Most of the music is choreographed by Mike Johnson with Mike Agnello adding to the the folk apects of this album with his violin musings. I cannot get away from this album, the songs are timeless and sear into every chamber of my heart, if there was an album that changed my life this would be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anyone who rates this less than 5 stars is WRONG: it's science, 7 July 2007
By 
This is not just Mark Lanegan's finest solo album, it's his most beautifully evocative work to date.
As has been previously mentioned, there will always be a certain popular feeling summoned up by listening to Lanegan's whiskey-weary, "just-give-me-somewhere-to-sit-down-and-smoke" vocals, which could lend itself to an artist resting on his or her laurels and allowing themselves to become a one-trick-pony who's bound to sell, as is the case with such acts as Motorhead (these days).
As it stands, Mark's songcraft has developed leaps and bounds since his instrumentally-sparse debut "The Winding Sheet", while retaining its lyrical intensity. It is in essence the next logical step: there are some actual just heart-achingly beautiful arrangements displayed in songs such as 'Kingdoms of Rain': a funeral procession of a song, where the vocals are harmonised by an organ to incredible effect. 'Borracho' - literally, "drunk" in Spanish, builds up a storm of swirling, angular rhythm guitar until you DO feel drunk, and the desert really does turn to ocean over you, you can FEEL it. 'Carnival' is possibly my favourite song of all time, and not far behind is 'Sunrise': it will move you intensely to listen to this song when no one is up yet, you've poured a glass of wine for yourself and the most important thing in the world is how the light shining in from behind the blinds is falling across your face, and when the saxophone filters in, a moment of complete musical perfection is achieved.

Also, it is completely recommended that you purchase this if you've heard the Soulsaver's cover of 'Kingdoms of Rain' with Mark Lanegan on vocals. That, and this, is soul music at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lanegan's second masterpiece, 7 Dec 2001
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
'Whiskey for the Holy Ghost' is the brilliant follow-up to Lanegan's solo debut, 'The Winding Sheet'...It begins with some whistling and Mike Johnson's take on Morricone-territory with 'The River Rise'- a dark-country lull with minimal drums by Dinosaur Jr's J Mascis. This will be popular with anyone who likes Giant Sand or The Handsome Family- though it is delivered in Lanegan's distinctive croak. 'Borracho' ups the tempo, Lanegan howling over a drum-roll provided by Mudhoney's Dan Peters. Johnson and Lanegan cook up an electric guitar maelstrom, as lyrically Lanegan continues his love affair with Mexican/Spanish imagery ('Juarez', 'El Sol')...'House a Home' was a single and is an example of a more-approachable Lanegan that tracks such as 'Stay', 'Don't Forget About Me' and 'Mockingbirds' personify.'House a Home' is not a million miles away from the sound of REM's 'Automatic For The People' (itself influenced by Lanegan's 'The Winding Sheet'). 'Kingdoms of Rain' is another dark number- Lanegan's voice accommpanied by acoustic guitar & organ and Sloan Johnson's backing vocals (evoking some wonderful harmonies). 'Carnival' is the highlight of the album- as good as anything by The Band- a magical lyric accompanies an alt-country backing (the violin emanates from the space between The Band and Michael Nyman)'Riding the Nightingale' is a relative of 'Wild Flowers' and uses the female backing vocals to great effect (and Tad Doyle guests on percussion). 'El Sol' is another stoned-acoustic number:a gothic-Burrito Brothers?; 'Dead On You' has an atmospheric minamilism that fans of Gillian Welch and The walkabouts will appreciate. 'Shooting Gallery' reminds me of 'Led Zeppelin III'- though obviously with a darker-undercurrent: "I'll see you in another hallway/some other time". 'Sunrise' is another highlight, moving from a Harry Smith Folk Anthology closeness to a fusion of female backing vocals and heartwarming saxophone. 'Pendulum' is a concise song regarding the passage of time and existential doubt. 'Judas Touch' functions as 'Juarez' did on the first album; imagine Nick Cave with soul. 'Beggar's Blues' ends the album with a fusion of stoned-bluesgrass, ex-Screaming Trees drummer Mark Pickerel adds to the building sound: "You'll forget me when you're gone".
'Whiskey for the Holy Ghost' is one of those classic dark albums- the Whiskey, cigarettes and Bible on the cover are the perfect accompaniements. For those who like dark, tuenful songs and alt-country/new-west artists like Wagon or Rainer there is a lot here that will be most welcome. Excepting the average-'Uncle Anesthesia' (let down by poor production/mixing)everything that Mark Lanegan has appeared on in Screaming Trees or as a solo-artist (not forgetting QOTSA 'In The Fade) has been classic. This album merely confirms that; Lanegan's second solo masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drunk ghosts and demons on the road., 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exciting Album rich in chiaroscuro of guitars coloring an ancestral voice dark and velvety at the same time. Early solo maturity, from the dreamlike "The River Rise" to the anarchist violin escapism in"Carnival", meeting drunk ghosts and demons on the road in "Borracho". With"Pendulum", almost at the end, there is the "opus dei" of Lanegan in a hoarse and arpeggiated mass. To say that Whiskey For The Holy Ghost has been the record of the confirm of Mark Lanegan would be a bit 'simplistic for this perfect blend of rock, blues, country and folk. A really masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not his best, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this cd as another reviewer had said it was Mark Lanegan's best. It's good but I have to disagree as in my mind Bubblegum (a classic) and Blues Funeral are both better. Still worth a listen and still better than a lot of stuff that's out there but by Mark Lanegan's standards just ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good production values, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent production values - really stripped down and acoustic but with some great tracks. I worked backwards from Soulsavers whom I love and this is a very nice album. 4 stars instead of 5 because I prefer bigger sounds to the minimalist acoustic style; however, I still admire the quality of this, like a fine bourbon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again,I was very pleased with the service and the product,it arrived in plenty of time
as it was for a present. Would use the company again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 18 April 2002
By A Customer
just superb, you can almost smell the cigerette smoke with this step back into the early days of subpop. this is a surprisingly sensitive album from a label who spawned the likes of tad, nirvana, mudhoney, pond etc. but it sits well with its contemporaries.
like a slower, more contemplatative screaming trees.
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, but he's done better, 22 Dec 2002
Mark Lanegan's gorgeous cracked purr of a voice against a suitably moody backing will ALWAYS stir the soul, but this perfectly acceptable album lacks the songcraft to really land a suckerpunch.
Though effective in conjuring up reflective weariness and woe the songs rather blend into on another and fail to stick in the mind. The acoustic/electric guitar melange is solidly textured and atmospheric, but hooks and contrast are in short supply.
It's a pity too that the vulnerability and romantic tenderness of Mark's later albums are also MIA.
The last four tracks are the best things here, leaner and more ambitious and good by any standard. They're a foretaste of the corking "I'll Take Care of You" and "Field Songs" albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whiskey For The Holy Ghost
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews