Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars22
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2012
I remember this series first time round, and the dvd has enabled me to enjoy this series once again. It hasn't aged, and is as entertaining as before, good characterisation, acting and casting.
Although the scene is a ladies retirement home, it is the acting and the material that allows the series to become memorable.
For me it was a must have - and I wasn't disappointed -just kept laughing!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
The seven instalments from the first series of this comedy, set in a "Retirement Home for Gentlefolk", are all here. Together, they run for about 25 minutes each, with a break in each one in the middle, presumably where the commercial break was when the series was first shown in 1977. This is good, clean family entertainment, with fine acting by the actresses involved, and each instalment is short enough to be viewed throughout without taking up much of the evening. (Sadly, I find watching a full-length feature film of, say , 1.5 hours, pretty demanding these days, from the point of view of staying alert for that length of time in the evening, on the sofa.) The only male involved is the fellow who plays Roger, the caretaker ; most of the comedy involves the well-meaning but domineering Flora Petty, and the attempts of the others to humour her, or just cope with her.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2012
You're Only Young Twice: The Complete First Series [DVD]I bought this dvd because my wife wanted it as she watched it years ago on television and said it was funny. 1 wasn't convinced as id never even heard of it. Then i watched it "THIS IS FUNNY".It about these old women in a residential home Peggy mount makes the program and is absolutely brilliant she has got to be one of Britain's funniest women ever. CLASSIC COMEDY well worth the money
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
a superb series and a must for all old tv series collecters these tv series are a joy to watch and peggy mount and pat coombs at their best i recomend buying the complete set of all four series and also george and the dragon also staring peggy mount you wont be dissapointed
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
a superb dvd like this deserves a 5 star rating.

anyone that has seen waiting for god, should, love this series and the other three as well.

i would recommend this to anybody that enjoys classic sitcoms of the past.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
get all of them,brilliant comedy worth every penny,never stopped laughing,superb comedy.makes you feel good and happy,laughter is a good feeling
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
I loved watching youre only young twice as i loved watching it as a child and found peggy mount a very funny lady with her husky voice pat coombes was a very good actress and they worked well together but i feel the tv series should have gone on for longer and their should be more comedies like that made today.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
It is twee, yes, but it was meant to be. A gentle comedy and the acting was great. Modern 'actors' take note.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
Great, great, great! Love Peggy Mount and Pat Combes together. Old fashioned feel but lots of fun and genuine. Glad these old classics can be bought so easily and cheaply.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
Very happy to see the old classic comedy again glad I brought them.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse