Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb collection
I'm reviewing this set as an amateurish 'Corrie' fan who wishes to familiarize himself more with life on the cobbles. Having watched only a handful of episodes for nearly 4 years when I was studying in England during the mid-90s (brings back memories!), I now know a lot about the cosy 'Corrie' community watching these discs. Apart from episodes selected from each decade...
Published on 26 Oct 2010 by Filippo Secondo (aka AB)

versus
36 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poor selection of episodes from the noughties
I cannot believe the dreadful selection of episodes from the noughties. Norris at the Commonwealth????? Mel Hutchwright?????? 2 episodes of Tracy Barlow and Charlie????? Hardly the Street at its best. Which buffoon chose these duds?! How could they deprive us of some of the better stories and characters.

Where is Gail and Eileen's fight over Todd and Sarah...
Published on 5 Nov 2010 by Barney


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb collection, 26 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coronation Street - Golden Anniversary Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I'm reviewing this set as an amateurish 'Corrie' fan who wishes to familiarize himself more with life on the cobbles. Having watched only a handful of episodes for nearly 4 years when I was studying in England during the mid-90s (brings back memories!), I now know a lot about the cosy 'Corrie' community watching these discs. Apart from episodes selected from each decade (the lack of plot continuity is regrettably, but understandably, unavoidable), the 'specials' are to be treasured especially for the well-edited footage within character introductions (such as 'The Stars', which I wish were arranged chronologically) and interviews (for example, 'Corrie Controversies' and 'The Street Undressed'). Even if you're not familiar with the situations involved, the extracted dialogues (alternating between the tragic, hilarious, and romantic) are simply brilliant (touching and funny scenes are sandwiched between fiery kisses and gory fisticuffs). Some of the 'specials' are mostly biographical: an in-depth view is given of the actors' real-life drama (domestic joys and sufferings), but with strong reference to their fictional roles in the series. The other 'specials' focus on various relationships, including the major 'Corrie' families (some scenes - for instance, the Tracy and Karen plots - recur in two or more 'specials', but they are hardly monotonous). The golden 12-DVD box has each disc in a separate case (the breaks between the parts of an episode are edited out without any sign of a clumsy jump from one part to another), but (alas) there is no booklet, not even a leaflet; however, the presence of English subtitles for the HOH - except for the short 'Celebs' and 'Best' extras - is a great asset (regional accents can sometimes be difficult to catch). I only wish that the set had more episodes: the seven discs featuring complete episodes could have been filled more generously (the quality of the scripts of the first four decades, notably the '70s, is more exceptional than that of the '00s, but the recent episodes are also enjoyable, notably the one with Ian McKellen playing a con artist). I hope that ITV will re-release (and very soon) the Network collections - 80 episodes from each of the first three decades - with subtitles (an absolute must for me, although I'm not a HOH person): it would also be great if, instead of a random selection, the episodes chosen maintained some sense of plot continuity (perhaps with short connecting narratives between gaps). Until then, I'll be watching this collection so many times (the 1998 Christmas episode is magnificent, but pity the one where Deirdre is released from prison was skipped). Enjoy!

NB Don't buy the 3-DVD anniversary set if you plan to purchase or already have this anniversary box, which contains the three discs from the small collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles -- Yes!, 19 Oct 2011
By 
S. Day (New England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coronation Street - Golden Anniversary Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I am so glad ITV has included subtitles. I have resisted getting Network's sets for the various decades precisely because they do not include subtitles. Even with hearing aids, I need subtitles; so thank you ITV. Like other reviewers here, I also hope you will issue composites for each decade, with subtitles, of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great "Corrie" treat!, 11 Mar 2011
By 
E. A. Langley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coronation Street - Golden Anniversary Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This dvd box set if a great treat for any "Corrie" fan! Hours and hours going right back to the beginning of this great soap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coronation Street, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Sue King (Peterborough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coronation Street - Golden Anniversary Collection [DVD] (DVD)
DVDs arrived within the week and were well protected by packaging. We have spent a lot of hours watching them and reminiscing about the characters and episodes, deciding whether we remember them or not. A comprehensive archive with plenty of variety.
Do not be tempted to buy 'The Stars of Coronation Street - 50 years, 50 classic characters' which comes up as a recommendation by Amazon - they are the first 5 videos in the collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avid Corrie Fan, 19 Aug 2013
By 
lindylou (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coronation Street - Golden Anniversary Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Love this collection with a bit of everything from all the decades. Takes you back to some sad and some hilarious times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coronation Street - Golden Anniversary Collection [DVD] (DVD)
this was the perfect gift for my mother and she is still watching it all now so i would recommend to any fan of the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poor selection of episodes from the noughties, 5 Nov 2010
By 
Barney (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Coronation Street - Golden Anniversary Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot believe the dreadful selection of episodes from the noughties. Norris at the Commonwealth????? Mel Hutchwright?????? 2 episodes of Tracy Barlow and Charlie????? Hardly the Street at its best. Which buffoon chose these duds?! How could they deprive us of some of the better stories and characters.

Where is Gail and Eileen's fight over Todd and Sarah? Where is Mad Maya burning Dev's shops down? Where is Mike's death in Ken's arms? Where is Karen McDonald's heartbreaking Christmas Day exit?

The lacklustre choice we are given really lets down this set and as a result I will not be buying it. It's not worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories are made of this, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coronation Street - Golden Anniversary Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Memories are made of this - going back to the beginnings of time. Wonderful cultural review of UK society in general
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corrie box set, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coronation Street - Golden Anniversary Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Bought it as a birthday present for the mother in law
She loves it says great to look back at all the old cast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars coronation Street, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coronation Street - Golden Anniversary Collection [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent dvd collection if you're a Corrie fan, really enjoyable. Loads of memorable programme clips with profiles on families such as the MacDonalds and the Battersby's, as well as profiles on individual characters such as Ken Barlow and Jack Duckworth. Excellent viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae6271a4)

This product

Coronation Street - Golden Anniversary Collection  [DVD]
20.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews