Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For lovers of english nostalgia and costume drama
First shown in 1977 Raffles was a 13 part TV series on ITV about a gentleman England amateur cricketer A.J. Raffles, turned jewel thief, aided by his side kick and bumbling junior partner-in-crime Bunny Manders. Living in gentlemens rooms in the heart of London and a taste for the high life, Raffles augments his money by helping himself to the jewellery of people in the...
Published on 13 Feb. 2006 by A reviewer called

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, Awful DVDs!
I'm not going to besmirch the wonderful series starting Anthony Valentine and Christopher Strauli, but rather the shoddy treatment on DVD by Acorn Media. To begin with, the logo of Yorkshire Television have been hacked out shoddily, resulting in a sudden freezeframe at the end of a story, and the sudden start at the beginnign. The next problem can be seen in the titles...
Published on 23 Sept. 2007 by Marchbanks


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For lovers of english nostalgia and costume drama, 13 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Raffles [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
First shown in 1977 Raffles was a 13 part TV series on ITV about a gentleman England amateur cricketer A.J. Raffles, turned jewel thief, aided by his side kick and bumbling junior partner-in-crime Bunny Manders. Living in gentlemens rooms in the heart of London and a taste for the high life, Raffles augments his money by helping himself to the jewellery of people in the high society circles which he frequents. Hot on his tail is the dour speaking Scotsman of Scotland Yard Inspector Mackenzie who strongly suspects Raffles is the mystery hand behind some of the most audacious jewellery thefts in London - and he is right to think so too! Raffles enjoys taunting the Inspector by the sheer daring acts of defiance with a "catch me if you can attitude". Magnificently played by Anthony Valentine who really does capture the essence of what it must have been like to be an English gentleman living in those times.
A great pity that more episodes were'nt made before they called time on the series, however it is worth remembering that fewer episodes, better made stand longer in the memory than a TV series which has been flogged to death.
Only one complaint! A lack of special features which was a golden opportunity missed. I would have loved to have seen interviews with the cast and more about the making of the series! But still well worth watching so buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars raffles, 31 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raffles - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant ITV series of many years ago......picture quality excellent and 4x3 . There is NO mention on the outer or inner boxes of ENGLISH SUB-TITLES but I can CONFIRM that ENGLISH SUBTITLES only are thankfully included on ALL the discs for those with Hard of Hearing .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic series - great fun, 8 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Raffles - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Do you want stories of derring-do, danger and nerve, and a sense of having accompanied the hero, then Raffles is for you.

The author EW Hornung was a friend of Conan Doyle's and later his brother-in law.
But where Sherlock Holmes was a creation of unimpeachable integrity, Raffles is a gentleman thief! However, sympathy is drawn to Raffles because of his many virtues, and a sense that he is also being hounded by nasty elements which must be overcome. He is a match for Sherlock Holmes in gallantry and loyalty, and perhaps more likeable. His crimes are delicious fun.

The original stories were very intelligent, making plain some of the motivations and human weaknesses of the hero Raffles and his faithful pal Bunny. And like life, the stupid, the tragic and the unexpected all intervene, rather like difficult waves for the heros to navigate. Both thrilling and believable, you feel you are there. The stories move quickly and leave you hanging around for more!

The original TV series was great fun. 5 stars without hesitation. The stories are so good that it will not be long before BBC/ITV have a go at a remake.

I absolutely RECOMMEND viewers to read the short stories because they are ripping yarns for bed time.
NB - there were 4 volumes of stories - "Amateur cracksman" - the beginnings, "Black mask" - where he fakes his death after being uncovered, but makes an amazing comeback under a new guise. Other volumes were "Midnight thief" and "Mr Justice Raffles" I believe. I think that the TV series focused on the first volume but not entirely sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful series - but what happened to the pilot episode, 3 Jan. 2006
By 
Dhekelia (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Raffles [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
This was a brilliant TV Series back in 1977 and the interplay between the suave and sophisticated Raffles, his bungling simpleton partner-in-crime Bunny and the ever-stalking fire breathing Inspector Mackenzie was entertaining in itself, even before the stories themselves unfolded. This series had, to use a well-worn cliche, BBC production values (well done Yorkshire Television) and my only criticism is that they should have made more (I don't know how many stories E. W. Hornung originally wrote but the producers could easily have used some artistic licence in further episodes). Another point I'd like to make - why didn't they include the pilot episode that was transmitted in September 1975 entitled "The Amateur Cracksman"? This would have been a great addition to what is already a brilliant DVD set and even after all these years, watching it all over again just leaves me wanting more. I honestly can't say that about ANY programme on TV now. How times have changed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 31 Dec. 2010
By 
Tin Tactoo "Tin Tactoo" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Raffles - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant if you like 'the old stuff' like I do - production values for its time quite acceptable but anything with Anthony Valentine in it can't be bad. I could recall some of the plots from having seen it when it went out years ago on TV and perhaps it may seem dated by today's standards(?), but its still entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!, 17 Sept. 2011
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raffles - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I was 8 when I last watched Raffles and I used to love it! 42 now so thought I'd buy this entire series box set and watch them all properly and how glad I am that I did! Arthur J Raffles, socialite man about town and England cricket all rounder by day staying at the very respectable Albany in London. By night assisted by his friend Harry Bunny Manders he is the top cracksman/thief and master of disguise and accents whom steals primarily jewellery to fund his and Bunny's extravagent exsistance and being continuously hounded by the cracking Inspector Mackenzie whom suspects Raffles but just cannot nail him. . .or can he? As an adult I can now admire the dialog/script that was written for Raffles and I couldn't imagine anybody except Anthony Valentine and Christopher Strauli delivering it! Some of the accents that Anthony Valentine pulls off are spot on, brilliant stuff indeed! The locations are fantastic as are the period fixtures, clothes etc. There are 13 episodes which take in all of the short stories by E. W. Hornung, brother in law of Arthur Conan Doyle the creator of Sherlock Holmes. The last episode is a corker! I'll definitely be watching this again at some stage in the future as they certainly don't make them like this anymore! Highly recommended viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant. Howzat!!, 14 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raffles - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
A great series from the 1970s with Anthony Valentine in sparkling form as Raffles the Amateur Cracksman, all round cricketer and sportsman. The producers spent a lot of money on this show, reproducing the atmosphere of Albany, the exclusive residence off Piccadilly where Raffles lives, and showing all fourteen episodes of derring do (not thirteen as advertised - the pilot episode based on Hornung's story 'Gentlemen and Players' is included).

Anthony Valentine is the definitive A.J. Raffles. Don't miss this excellent production of E.W. Hornung's heroic creation. And after watching the series, you may feel inclined to read Hornung's elegantly written stories about his eponymous hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1975 pilot and the 1977 series, 6 Feb. 2012
By 
Film Nut (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raffles - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Seems to be some mixed messages about just what's in this box set

so wanted to confirm that this is the full 13 part 1977 series and also the 1975 pilot The amateur cracksman, which is on disc one before the first of the 1977 episodes

14 episodes in total

have also uploaded an image of the disc menu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, Awful DVDs!, 23 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Raffles [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not going to besmirch the wonderful series starting Anthony Valentine and Christopher Strauli, but rather the shoddy treatment on DVD by Acorn Media. To begin with, the logo of Yorkshire Television have been hacked out shoddily, resulting in a sudden freezeframe at the end of a story, and the sudden start at the beginnign. The next problem can be seen in the titles where the actor's names are cut off at the left and right- this is due to the fact Acorn have seen fit to zoom in the entire programme by a significant amount in order to remove the cue dots signifying the advert breaks, which have also been removed, leaving sudden jump cuts around every 20minutes. The sound is also extremely distorted, expecially on the opening titles, and tape drop outs occur frequently throughout the show. This excellent series deserves a much better release!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raffles boxset starring Anthony Valentine, 14 Feb. 2004
By 
J. Clark "hyperbolelad" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raffles [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
Its great to have finaly been able to see this series again I was sixteen or seventeen when it was first shown on tv, and seeing it now I have to say it is a much better dramatisation of E W Hornungs wonderful stories than I had remembered..

The picture quality is pretty good for televideo of the time which the series seems to have been filmed on in 1976...As an amateur videographer myself I do wonder if Acorn couldnt have enhanced the colourisation and sharpened the picture digitaly.Televideo of the time could be a bit on the pale and washy side,but to have the series on dvd is manor from heaven for me so I'm just delighted its been released.

Typical of Acorn media they have taken little trouble in providing extra features...just a brief textual biography of Hornung and some stills and notes about the series. It would have been nice to have seen Anthony Valentine and Christopher Strauli discussing the series.So only one star to Acorn for features for lack of imagination regards extra features which is surely one of the great advances of dvd over vhs if it is exploited to its full potential...

Regards.

Jim Clark
Re-animator of great poets and literary figures at the poetryreincarnations youtube channel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raffles - The Complete Series [DVD]
Raffles - The Complete Series [DVD] by Anthony Valentine (DVD - 2010)
£13.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews