Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative
Followed this series faithfully when it originally aired in the nineties, and through the years it stuck in my mind for its excellence. It was a delight to see it released on DVD. About time! Watching it again was like unearthing a treasure all over again. Topping the list of reasons it remained with me all these years was the strong character of its title character...
Published on 14 Sep 2010 by Wobbly Wellies

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult, endearing, enjoyable, then ridiculous
The sheer hours of viewing available in this box set was exciting in itself! I struggled at first, put it away for a few months, then went back for more and am glad I did.
Dr Bramwell is brilliant and annoying, liberal-minded yet alarmingly naive, independent, yet childishly stubborn and headstrong. The middle portion of the set is wonderful, with thoughtful...
Published on 28 July 2011 by Crime_girl


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative, 14 Sep 2010
This review is from: Bramwell - Series 1-4 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Followed this series faithfully when it originally aired in the nineties, and through the years it stuck in my mind for its excellence. It was a delight to see it released on DVD. About time! Watching it again was like unearthing a treasure all over again. Topping the list of reasons it remained with me all these years was the strong character of its title character. A strength all the more singular for not detracting from her vulnerability. That's significant, given the time. It's 1895, a time when woman were derided for thinking themselves intelligent beings, let alone daring to display it. And here we find Eleanor Bramwell, a woman who not only dares to believe in her intelligence, but has the chutzpah to pursue science and healing. Gutsy indeed, and just one of a clutch of words that befit her. At a time when so much about medicine was being discovered, Bramwell is a true pioneer, and for her sins we see her many conflicts and struggles with those around her, and the challenges she faces in choosing to practise medicine among the poor of London's East End. The entire cast, setting, writing and production are first-rate. It's a shame dramas of this calibre are now rarely made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great untill the last 2 discs, 12 Dec 2010
By 
Wendy Smith (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bramwell - Series 1-4 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
This Series is great until the last two discs,clearly the last two were written by a different author.They were very fragmented and depicted a different and more negative character of Eleanor Bramwell.
A sad way to finish an other wise wonderful and gripping series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bramwell Series 1 - 4, 13 Oct 2010
By 
David Rowland - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bramwell - Series 1-4 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
"Bramwell" is a series of stories built around the life of a dedicated doctor called Eleanor Bramwell set in an impoverished area of east London towards the end of the 19th century who chooses to manage a small infirmary to provide free medical care for anyone who needs it in the area. She does this in the teeth of fierce opposition from the medical etablishement and the initial reservations of her father, another doctor who tries to talk her out of it but she eventually finds a sponser to provide funds and she goes ahead. Whether such idealistic people actually existed in Victorian London is anybody's guess but it would be nice to think so.

Jemma Redgrave is radiant and gives a terrific performance as Bramwell (she can tuck in my bedsheets any time) and David Calder is superb as her father and their relationship is brilliantly conveyed by two accomplished actors at the peak of their form. It is a gripping and at times moving portrayal of medical care provided in an environment of extreme squalor, rampant alcoholism and widespread crime where appaling sanitatary conditions lead to the rapid spread of infectious diseases and high mortality rates. Occasionally Bramwell gets into trouble when she tries to intervene in the lives of people around her and she has an unhappy love affair but she always bounces back, adjusts her cap and gets stuck into her work. Conditions in Victorian London are reconstructed well and the whole production is very impressive and superbly done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent, the best!, 18 Oct 2010
By 
A. Ovall "Kathy" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bramwell - Series 1-4 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I chose this dvd-box without having heard of it, or ever seen any series of it at all. It has been a delight to watch, so good acting and such an interesting time in history, starting with 1895.

It is so authentic and well displayed, from the operating room to the beautiful homes shown and of course the clothes worn at that time period.

Jemma Redgrave, as the female doctor impresses with her acting and so do the other main characters,
David Calder, Robert Hardy and Michele Dotrice. It feels like you are right there taking part of their lives.

My husband is just as eager as I am,to see a new episode each night. Last Sunday we could not tear ourselves away from it and ended up watching 4 episodes in one evening.

We live in Sweden and I am quite certain it has never been shown here (how sad), so we feel very fortunate to have come across this wonderful series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult, endearing, enjoyable, then ridiculous, 28 July 2011
This review is from: Bramwell - Series 1-4 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
The sheer hours of viewing available in this box set was exciting in itself! I struggled at first, put it away for a few months, then went back for more and am glad I did.
Dr Bramwell is brilliant and annoying, liberal-minded yet alarmingly naive, independent, yet childishly stubborn and headstrong. The middle portion of the set is wonderful, with thoughtful story-lines that challenge prevailing attitudes without being patronising. However, series three starts to go downhill toward the end, and series four is frankly ridiculous. They could obviously only get three of the original actors to return for series four, so people disappear without explanation. Overall, I'm happy to have it as part of my (now extensive) period drama collection, but am unlikely to return to it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing!, 14 Mar 2011
This review is from: Bramwell - Series 1-4 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Jemma Redgrave is terrific in this role. The series brought to life the era, the status of medical knowledge and treatment, and the challenges intelligent women faced as they struggled against restricting conventions. If you enjoy dramas with an historical context to explore I think you will relish this. It kept me involved throughout and left me wishing there could have been more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: Bramwell - Series 1-4 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Delighted to finally have the whole series in one box set. The drama in each new episode is gripping. The acting superb, the costumes and setting for the period just wonderful. Unusual in that it is a medical drama from a period when so little was known and how interesting to see how they coped, or often didn't. One of the episodes features the first x-ray machine and in another electro therapy. The lead caharcters are excellent with lots of guest stars popping up in episodes and catch "minty" from Eastenders in an early role. Highly enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb three series forget the fourth., 28 Nov 2014
This review is from: Bramwell - Series 1-4 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
The perfect gift for all movie enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
This is an exceedingly hard series to rate because the first three seasons are so terrific and the fourth is unaccountably bad. First season deserves the 9 stars I gave it. I would seriously only give the last season one--half it they'd let me. Do yourself, Eleanor and the other characters a favour and resist the temptation to watch the fourth season.

The first three seasons are interesting, well composed period pieces of life in Victorian London. Story lines focus on an intelligent, educated young woman and her widowed father. Both are doctors. At the time women doctors were an anomaly. The class and sex divisions of that society are depicted in interesting detail throughout the series as Eleanor moves from a hospital position, dabbles in middle class general practice and goes on to become head of a free infirmary in the slums of the city.

Jemma Redgrave and the other actors are simply excellent. The casting director is to be commended. The third season ends at a good point, but the series is so well done you naturally want more. Resist if you can that tempting fourth season. It is a poison apple.

Apparently the Pod People visited the set in the third-fourth season hiatus, taking over the bodies and minds of both cast and crew. The last two tedious episodes are imitations of bad art-house fare--darkly lit, with unnaturally bright lighting on certain characters' faces. Intrusive, annoying and at times downright weird music. Eleanor's devoted father and other ongoing major characters apparently were abducted by our alien visitors, for they are nowhere to be seen. The Men in Black must have visited the Thrift (Eleanor's slum-based infirmary) because there's not a mention of them or the fact the Thrift appears to be an entirely different building (with several new floors!)in the same place it always was.

Worst of all is the fact that the characters we've come to love, with all their warts and bumps, have been replaced by automatons bearing the same names and clothing. It was of passing interest to see an actress as good as Jemma Redgrave tackle the role of an entirely new (and unlike-able) character with only a name in common with the person she'd portrayed so beautifully in the past.

Do not sully the memory of these people by watching the last season. You'll only regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forget Series 4!, 26 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bramwell - Series 1-4 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Very engaging period drama, and the main ensemble cast are excellent. Jemma Redgrave is very good, and so as always is Ruth Sheen.

BUT.... the fourth series is completely off the rails. The characterisation is insane. Jemma's character turns into a complete fruit-bat for no reason, her father disappears form the previous three series with no explanation and the Dr Marsham character has more personalities than a mental hospital. I've no idea what the scriptwriters and production team were doing. Not much in the same room,anyhow.

It utterly spoiled my impression of the series, hence the 3 stars. The first 3 series would rate 4.5 stars, the fourth 1 star if it was lucky. It's still worth watching but I wish I'd thrown away the last disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A PLANE ACROSS THE SKY DID NOT SPOIL IT, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bramwell - Series 1-4 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
watched 1 - 4 but at the wedding of Dr Bramwell senior outside the church you can see a jet plane in the sky which did not spoil it but found it poor filming,,,but after Mr Marsham askes her to marry him, is there any more disk's to watch ?? on reading somewhere on the web, she goes on to meet a Dr who is working in the war zone of the criema can anyone help please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bramwell - Series 1-4 Complete [DVD]
Bramwell - Series 1-4 Complete [DVD] by Jemma Redgrave (DVD - 2010)
£19.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews