Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great detective series
Caroline Quentin is the main character in these series. She injects some humour into some pretty nasty crime stories but she, too, has dark moments. Her relationship with her straying husband and troublesome children cause her character much anguish.

The plots are well put together and the twists and turns as investigation progress keep your interest. Not...
Published on 6 Oct 2010 by Stephen Sackleigh

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit far-fetched
My family is a great fan of crime-series, but this one left us feeling a bit bored and puzzled after a couple of seasons.

Caroline Quentin, while doubtless a wonderful actress, is just not believable enough in the role of single mum/police inspector/love object of sexy hulk in which she has been cast here.

Add to that increasingly unlikely...
Published 23 months ago by AnFheillEoin


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great detective series, 6 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Murder - Complete Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
Caroline Quentin is the main character in these series. She injects some humour into some pretty nasty crime stories but she, too, has dark moments. Her relationship with her straying husband and troublesome children cause her character much anguish.

The plots are well put together and the twists and turns as investigation progress keep your interest. Not exactly high octane entertainment but good solid police procedural drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great british crime series, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: Blue Murder - Complete Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
I thought long about it, if I should by the series or not because in my country it was difficult to find a trailer about the series. I am glad I did take the risk.
It's really refreshing to have a crime series which combined familiy and drama and show that the policemen and women are human.
What I find good, too is that there is no shooting every five minutes. The police use there brains not there guns.

To the story: It's about a DCI of the Manchester police who is also a mother of four children. And how difficult it is to find the balance between. But she is backed up by her team.

What I regreet is, that they stopped the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific box set, 12 Oct 2011
By 
Mrs. M. S. Clark (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Murder - Complete Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
Well worth the money - very entertaining and standard of acting extremely high.I just wanted to keep watching and was sorry when I had viewed all the discs.Would definitely recommend this box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A family favourite, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Murder - Complete Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
I watched some of blue murder on the TV so bought the box set to see them all. Quentin is brilliant and I'll watch anything shes in. This is one of her best roles. A great family watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why didn't this series continue?, 28 May 2013
By 
Dinkydoright (Oakland, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Murder - Complete Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this series. Caroline Quentin is excellent. I cannot figure out why at least a couple more series weren't made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 28 Mar 2013
By 
Dianne E. Hooper "Di" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Murder - Complete Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
Have watched this series before and loved it so much decided to buy it, so as to actually own it, so that I can watch it again when I want to at leasiure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lewis In Charge, 26 Oct 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Blue Murder - Complete Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
Caroline Quentin stars as Detective Chief Inspector Janine Lewis, a woman with more on her plate than most. The series takes place in Manchester, and some of the accents are most pronounced. DCI Lewis is in charge of mostly male detectives. In Series 4, there is a lovely female added who has no difficulty showing the males how good she is. the team loves and respects DCI. Lewis has a lot going for her but she is also a single mom of four children. She is pregnant in the first series when her husband leaves her for another woman. By Series Five, Lewis has learned how to deal, almost. She has a live-in nanny, but her two older children are teens, and the third chid, Thomas is always in trouble. The dad has moved to another country leaving Lewis to cope all on her own.

Her colleague, DI Richard Mayne, played by Ian Kelsey, is a friend and it is often suggested a romantic interest. He seems to be a comfort, and they are always joking. Lewis tells Mayne that he has the best a** in Manchester! Lewis can count on Mayne, and that is important in this series.

The stories are well written and filmed. Many times, I think I have figured out the plot, and then someone new or a missed clue is added to set me off track. Manchester, is a lovely city, gritty, full of crime, but, still, an involved and fascinating. It appears that Series Five was the last one of this series. I will miss the group, and most of all, DCI Lewis.

Recommended. 10-26-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Murder - Complete Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent series, but the experience is spoilt by not being able to turn the subtitles off easily. They come on automatically for each episode andt it took us quite a while to figure out how to turn them off. Quite a messy process.Thought it was a fault on the 1st disc, but it happens on all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blue Murder Series 1-5, 9 Sep 2011
This review is from: Blue Murder - Complete Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
This is escellent and the quality of the films is also excellent! I am looking forward to the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feel good detective series, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Murder - Complete Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a complete collection of a 5-season long detective series. There is little extra material (with season 3, an interview with some of the cast), but the dvd is well-made, the box seems durable, and there are subtitles with all episodes.

The seasons are of varying quality and length, season 1 has episodes that are well over an hour long each, which gives the stories time to unravel properly, while by season 5 we are down at 45 minutes, which is a bit short to get involved with the characters. On the other hand, season 1 is actually just one story (over two episodes), while season 5 has 6 episodes.

The greatest asset of the series is the main character, DCI Janine Lewis, played brilliantly by Caroline Quentin. She is a single mother (the husband has done a bunk, though he weaves in and out of her life throughout the seasons) with four children and it is quite clear that she is not really coping. But she can take it in her stride, with humour and confidence. I admired her particularly when her children yelled at her that her job, keeping her away from them, is stupid, and she calmly retorted that if something happened to them, they would probably like her to have this particular job. She really believes that what she does matters.

I also liked the optimistic storyline which follows through all seasons, with Janine and her colleague, Richard, constantly on the verge of romance. Like other stories, it is lighthearted and joyful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Murder - Complete Series 1-5 [DVD]
Blue Murder - Complete Series 1-5 [DVD] by Caroline Quentin (DVD - 2010)
£26.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews