Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars37
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 December 2010
This is complete series 6 to 15 with added extra documentary titled 'Touched by Frost: Goodbye Jack'
The final episode contains 2 alternative endings. An excellent British television cop series without the blessed adverts coming every 10 minutes. Screen Aspect Ratio 16:9. One episode per disk so they have not compressed anything which means super quality! There are English subtitles.
66 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 18 February 2011
David Jason stars as the somewhat cantankerous Inspector Frost in this comprehensive DVD set which takes you right up to his retirement from Denton CID. Based on the books of R D Wingfield, this series had a very long run from 1992, until the last episode in 2005. Frost is an independently minded individual who is regularly at odds with his superior Inspector Mullet, affectionately known as Hornrimmed Harry. Frost is supremely confident in his own abilities and cannot be bothered with trivialities such as paperwork and in particular substantiating his expense claims, which causes constant friction with Mullet who is clearly something of a perfectionist.

However, despite his undoubted professionalism, Frost is really an old softie who has a lot of empathy for the people around him and the people he deals with in his work. The situations Frost has to deal with vary enormously as do the subordinates he has to tolerate, and he deals with everything thrown at him with a sense of irony and above all humour come what may.

This really is one of the best police series around, and this box set is an absolute treat. Very highly recommended!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
Excellent series. I have been a fan of R.D. Wingfield's novels since I was 10 years old (yes, I know some people may think this far too young to be reading Frost as his original self, but I won first place for my book review of Hard Frost in Year Six!) and David Jason makes a wonderful Jack on the small screen. Some people complain he's been sanitised, but I think he still comes across really well.

Just to correct something in the product information, though: series 13 does, in fact, exist, but in this box set is listed as the second half of series 12 - the original series 12 being the 2005 summer special "Near Death Experience" and series 13 the 2006 autumn special "Endangered Species" or "An Endangered Species". So no worries necessary for those who might have been concerned at the sudden 'disappearance' of series 13!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
I bought the first box set for my husband and,at first, he wasn't all that fussed on watching them. However, as soon as we started we couldn't stop so I had no choice but to get the next box set and we are working our way through them at the moment!! Great story lines, brilliant acting with a bit of toungue-in-cheek humour. Well worth buying.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2011
The Frost series are brilliant - just read the other reviews. However, this is let down in places by a very poor/mediocre picture quality that appears to be very grainy. Maybe it is because I have a large flat-screen TV which emphasizes these faults. On the other hand I have a large DVD collection, and the picture quality on the vast majority of these is fine.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
This box set of the last several series was even better than hoped for. It was sad to come to the end(s) (there are three to choose from) and realise that there would be no more Frost except by watching them all over again.
Sir David Jason is an actor who has shown that he can handle almost any situation from the adolescent errand boy/shop assistant in "Open All Hours", the brilliant wheeler-dealer Dell Boy in "Fools and Horses" to this mature role as Inspector Jack Frost passing through the years leading to retirement age (well actually well past the normal 55 in the police force, in fact). As a maverick policeman with scant regard for procedure and paperwork, I'm not sure whether he would actually still get away with some of his actions in todays PC world. Although this is a straight role it is played with good humour behind the sometimes irascible facade and we can see not just a professional copper but a man with a full range of emotions permitting us as viewers to empathise with Jack in his situation.
This is one set of DVDs that will stay in the family library permanently.
Highly recommended to all fans of David Jason and to all those who love a good police thriller series. This set will give many hours of pleasure - thank you, Jack Frost!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
It has been said already, so I would just want to add that this series is one of the best as it is so realistic. Inspector Jack Frost has a touch of humour and makes me laugh, so incorporating this light touch of humour is deftly done, without detracting from the seriousness of the storyline. There is a thumping good cast and the whole story is well crafted. I am not easily pleased but I just had to have the complete series in my library as this set appeals to my whole family of all ages. Worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2011
Loved this series and throughly enjoyed watching the full series despite having seen them all before. David Jason is brillant as grouchy old DI Frost. Was sorry to say goodbye. Will definately watch this again and again.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
You can't go wrong with Frost. I have all the first 5 series & this completes the collection. If you've never seen them, where have you been? And if you have, you know what to expect.. Includes the last ever episodes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
There is a clever set of characters. All a bit larger than life but exaggerating how normal humans go about their lives do thing the best they can to do their jobs. Far from a perfect human being Frost still gets the bad guys in the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)