Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great budget compilation - all the hits plus b-sides/rarities
Having had Happy Families and Mange Tout on vinyl for some time, and disposed of their ill-advised third album, Believe You Me, after one listen, I was wary about buying a 'best of'. However this budget issue is a real gem, the sound quality is sympathetically mastered and picks up some of the layers of ethnic percussion my poor old stylus never quite got hold of! What's...
Published on 8 Jun 2008 by M. B. Wilson

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Favourite 80's memories
I never saw Blancmange in concert, but I heard them on a BBC "In Concert" and I had the vinyl of their first two albums... Really like them still today, the vinyls are scratched and tired and this CD contains all the memorable tracks plus a few pleasing remixes; it's therefore an excellent value purchase for someone who liked them at the time but no longer has a record...
Published on 2 Aug 2009 by Barchetta


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great budget compilation - all the hits plus b-sides/rarities, 8 Jun 2008
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Having had Happy Families and Mange Tout on vinyl for some time, and disposed of their ill-advised third album, Believe You Me, after one listen, I was wary about buying a 'best of'. However this budget issue is a real gem, the sound quality is sympathetically mastered and picks up some of the layers of ethnic percussion my poor old stylus never quite got hold of! What's also good is this album collates all the real hits in the first 8 or 9 tracks, then adds some interesting (ok, "Now Get Out Of That" is fairly dire) b-sides, then some choice album tracks and even a 1990 farewall song. The irony of this title "Your Time Has Gone" just reaffirms Neil's often tongue-in-cheek lyrics, although his approach to the dark subject matter on "Running Thin" is extremely blunt. Interestingly the 1990 track almost harks back to their earliest stuff, albeit slightly more commercialised, and is harder in vocal delivery than the over-produced Believe You Me era (the vocals are almost lost in the mix, sometimes). All in all this is a strong compilation well worth having if you were a fan at the time, or even if you just remember "Living On The Ceiling" whilst it is currently played on a certain TV ad! For info, most versions here are album versions, so you get the 5 min "Feel Me Now" (great), and the full version of "Day Before..." with trumpet outro, plus the non-radio friendly version of "Living On The Ceiling" (not with the 'cuckoo tree' replaced line!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Blancmange, 7 July 2007
By 
Ziad R. Hakim (Beirut Lebanon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
I used to own the previous "Best Of Blancmange" which is a good compilation, however this release exceeds it in terms of song selection and sound quality. This version is remastered and the sound is crisp and clear just like other titles from the same series. Unfortunately, Blancmange was one of those underrated new wave band of the 80s; yet it is still essential to people who love this kind of music from this era. The CD is packed with their best songs such as 'Living On The Ceiling", "Waves", "Blind Vision", "Don't Tell Me" and the 1984 remake of Abba's "The Day Before You Came" presented here in full lenght album version.
Last but not least, if you like Depeche Mode, Erasure, Duran Duran, Alphaville, A-ha... the list is long, you won't be disappointed with this CD. In addition, the price is so appealing! A must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars '...I'm up the bloody tree', 1 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Blancmange are arguably the early 80s' most underrated band; their quirky lyrics, synth-led soundscapes and Asian-influenced melodies are welcome reminders that the era was not just about huge hair and even bigger egos. The understated Stephen Luscombe and Neil Arthur recently made a long-awaited return to recording with the excellent Blanc Burn and this is a timely reminder of just how good they were in their heyday. Top tracks are the bombastic 'Living on the Ceiling', joyous 'Don't Tell Me' and earnestly emotive 'Waves', but this collection features not a duff track and is a bargain at twice the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - took me back to the eighties, 23 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (MP3 Download)
Fantastic album. I was a big fan of Blancmange in the eighties and has forgotten really just how good they were. All the best songs on here and took me right back to the Blue Note in Derby. Fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class band, classic tracks, 12 July 2010
By 
Keith White (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
As an old eighties boy I had to have this and it is superb. All the fevourites are here and it still sounds good today. A very underated band who dont get a lot of coverage in the nostalgic progs on telly. Pity, as they made some fantastic songs and they are all here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky 80s pop, 25 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Before I heard this, I really knew little about Blancmange except for their best known hit 'Living On The Ceiling'. Having heard more of their work, I think it is fair to say that they were one of the quirkier, eccentric British pop acts of the early 80s, they were probably the closest thing to a British Talking Heads, with a touch of Queen and ABBA thrown in.

I would like to speak up for 'Get Out Of That' which other reviewers have maligned which I think is a delightfully surreal piece of pop music, inkeeping with the spirit of the band.

This compilation is probably as good an introduction to the band as any.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of, 7 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
A fantastic compilation of the first 3 albums, 18 tracks, a good 75 mins of music and a class track listing, by far the best "Very Best Of" album of Blancmange to date, well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you could ask for, 24 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
If you are a die hard Blacmange fan then this album has all of their best material including Living on the Ceiling, Waves and the ABBA revamp of The day before you came + many more. It is a comprehensive collection that I would recommend without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars who said blancmange is bland?, 7 Nov 2009
By 
R. M. A. Watkin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
as good as i remember them if not better...my daughter who's into trance thought they were amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Fab-u-los
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Platinum Collection
Buy MP3 Album3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews