Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars12
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Steven Wilson fans can be an obsessive lot and this DVD could possibly be the pinnacle of that obsessive-ness for the fans.
The main feature is a documentary of sorts the lives and times of Steven Wilson from Hemel Hempstead, Musician with bands including Porcupine Tree No-Man, Blackfield, IEM, Bass Communion, and solo. As such the main feature I-pod basing etc can be a tad self indulgent, but none the less the film works after all this is the 2000's prog. rock main exponent why should it not be indulgent. The music mainly based around his excellent solo album Insurgentes (also available on Amazon and very worth getting for the surround mix alone). The picture quality is good though in the main it was not shot Hi Def so is probably as good as it gets on DVD. The sound quality is excellent nice to see a music based disc giving sound the priority with a good DTS surround mix.

The DVD set really dose go I for the kill though with disc two the so called extras but for me the main feature:
* 31 minute film of Bass Communion and Pig live in Mexico City (Live Bass Communion on film, previously only available as a download and vinyl single)
* Two trailers (previously available on the Web)
* Original ending (nixed to improve the flow of the main film)
* A Q+A session with Steven Wilson and Lasse Hoile
* Promo video for Harmony Korine
* 6 bonus audio tracks.
'Insurgentes' (Sweet Billy Pilgrim remix)
'Desperation' ( a previously unreleased track),
'Veneno Para Las Hadas' (demo),
'Western Home' (a previously unreleased track),
'Collecting Space' (demo),
'Deadwing Theme' (previously released only on MySpace),

Overall an excellent package plenty of music to listen to and a two disc set that does throw everything and the kitchen sink in. prog. fans buy and you wont be disappointed. Steven Wilson fans should just buy it.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2012
I was expecting this DVD more about the actual recording of Insurgentes but enjoyed the interviews of Steven and found him to be very determined to stick to his art and not compromise one bit. The footage of dolls and coffins was a bit over done for me. Steven does say he enjoys using morbid themes in his music as a way to express himself. His sultry girlfriend was a refreshing sight, she is involved in the film right through however we never get introduced who she is.
I'd love to see more of his insight into his music, techniques and his vision.
The 2nd DVD of Bass Communion doesn't do it for me, I definitely prefer his more prog-rock based music. I find Bass Communion an acquired taste.
The bonus tracks are great and do add a lot of clout to this DVD set.

Overall a mixed bag but still very interesting and some great alternative music to test the mind and ears.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 December 2010
Terrific, essential PT companion piece.

Worth it for the bonus audio alone.

Documentary good, a shade unsatisfying though (which loses it the one star in this review). A bit of insight into SW the person, but when he really gets his teeth stuck into the 'quality & vision vs. corporate anodyne' you just want him to go further, reveal more, take ever more chances.

He's not the messiah, obviously, but is carving a wonderful, charged furrow through modern music. Passion and talent melded together in a compulsive way.

The extras are good, especially the aforementioned bonus audio, and the whole package is put together by Lasse Hoile to the usual high standards.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2011
Possibly one of the best music documentaries produced in a long time. Sure there are snippets of Steven talking about his early life and his start in music, but what makes this film great is that it is done in a fun and surreal way. This ensures that the film can be seen more than once without getting boring and that non fans may appreciate what is on offer too. There are snippets of music from the album of the same name that do not intrude and special guests are involved in the fun too.

Some people may feel that Steven does not delve deep enough into his life and especially his thoughts, but this is intentional as the film is meant to show snippets of his life whilst being entertaining at the same time. One of the best scenes involves a fan wanting to take a picture and Steven obliges with a minimum of fuss which I felt was really cool.

There are the usual extras on the first disc and on the second disc there are further extras which include an additional six songs plus a half hour live ambient piece with the artists known as Pig.

If you are a fan of any of Steven's projects, you should already have this. If not, give it a try, it might change you music listening forever.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2010
I am a big fan of Steven Wilson the band of his I love are (porcupine tree, blackfield and his solo not heard much No man but like what I've heard so far) I love the insurgents album and the 25 min DVD ct on the second disk.
So o the DVD
Disc one (5 star)
Love the main feature the 75 minis length film about Steven Wilson his views and slightly the making of the solo album with some of his friends like his outer half in blackfield and opeth singer. The film seems to feel too short and some bits repetitive (only short segments). The film has some really weird bits in from the video. The film is very dark in bits and some bits bright overall the camera work seems a bit dark and dulled down to give a darker atmophear. He talks about music as in MP3 and album artwork and has some good views but like someone pointed out he is a bit stuck in the past with his love of vinyl but he explains why he likes it more the CDs. A brilliant DVD in a whole it also had 2 trailers and his music vid in stereo and suround sound.
Disc two (4 star)
Ok I have mixed opinions on this the main feature for this is the bass communion live which has cuttings from the film and deleted scenes from the film in so not a complete live performance with bits of live but also I am not into the music he plays on the live show its very noisy and some bits were ear hurting. The alternative ending is good but short. The question and answer session I wasn't as keen on for the fact that they blur out lasses face but the whole featured is good apart from that. And the audio material is the best part of the disk with some unreleased tracks and some rare tracks
The packaging (5 star)
The product is packaged in a slip case made of cardboard and inside is a book case with the disks on each side front and back the book is full of images in high quality and very nice to look at with some information at the back.

i think disk one is amazing the artwork is amazing but to me the extras disk was just good i was not keen on the live performance but thats just not my taste.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
A great piece of work and definitely worth your time and money. Steve, you're a top and honest bloke. All power to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
DVD is not what we expected, namely of the concert.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2014
An excellent product and service thank you
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Thanks, as described and quick delivery
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2015
its amazing! excellent item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.