Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars193
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2014
Ive been waiting for an age it seems for a hd release of this classic film, and while a quite expensive French limited edition is available, the price put me off. So when this release came up I thought I would give it a go.
Im glad to say that the picture quality is fantastic and is much improved over the dvd I have.Really sharp and clear, with nice shades oc black, grey and white.The crispness is very clear.It is as easy as pie to select the english audio and bam there it is, the original soundtrack.So be assured if you want this all time genre classic in its best image to date then I can heartily recomend this release.No extras at all, but that is compensated for by this quality release.So no US release incl.I would even say the image is better than Dead Of Night, another classic.
22 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
I don't normally write these reviews, but I could not let this go without awarding it 5 stars. It's my all time top film and has been for many years. I can recite the words along with the film, have visited Bricket Wood station just because the finale was filmed there. I could go on and on - but I won't.
If you have never watched this film before, you are in for a wonderful atmospheric horror movie that oozes atmosphere. If you have seen it - you'll know just how brilliant it is!
1414 comments|91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 August 2007
Night of the Demon is one of the greatest films of the 1950's. A cult classic that holds up to repeated viewings. The film is based on the M R James story 'Cast the Runes' and features Dana Andrews as John Holden, a sceptical psychologist who scepticism begins to ebb away after he meets Dr Julian Karswell.

Karswell is played brilliantly by Niall MacGinnis and there are a number of marvellous scenes between Holden and Karswell. Perhaps the best being a scene in the London Library. Of the remaining cast Maurice Denham is deserving of mention for his small but crucial role as Professor Harrington.

Although it is often quoted that the director Jacques Tournier did not want the Demon shown in the film at all, but bowed to pressure from the producers, the Demon when it appears is a remarkable special effects creation for 1957. Tournier was probably right but it doesn't spoil the film that much.

Originally there were two versions of this film an American cut called 'Curse of the Demon' which ran to 82mins and the British cut 'Night of the Demon' which ran to 95mins. The version on this DVD seems to be closer to the British cut.
55 comments|94 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2011
Incredible film, well worth the wait, but what a pity we did have to wait so long.

Regarding the Demon debate, whether or not it should have been shown, Tony Earnshaw's book on the making of the film, Beating the Devil, covers the matter pretty well, including some quotes from Tourneur and other crew members that seem to be contradictory; that is, in most places he seems adamant that the demon did not appear by his design, but in one or two others it seems that he was not just aware, but also active in placing it within the film. Personally, I suspect that the truth can be found by watching the film itself. There are two elements to the Demon special effect: the long shot, which is absolutely stunning, particularly given the low budget on which it was achieved; the other is a rather pathetic man in a monster suit, which appears very briefly, and could be seen as justification of Tourneur's repugnance for the appearance of the Demon. I have no doubt it is only these few dozen frames featuring the rubber clad SFX man that could have caused the director's consternation. The shame of it is that they could easily have been left out without affecting the film in anything but a positive manner.

MAKE NO MISTAKE - The appearance of the Demon is incredible, adding to and complimenting the film, and ultimately being the thing that stamps the film in the mind. Without it, the film would have still been great, but I suspect it would not have fascinated so many minds for so many years. Any pseudo intellectual babble about it spoiling the film in any way is ill conceived. It is only a few frames that do the damage, not the presence of the demon itself, and they are not enough to take away from the over all effect.

In my opinion, the appearance of the Demon is one of the most brilliant realisations of a film monster in any movie of any time, and one of the most striking scenes in movies full stop.

Tony Earnshaw's book is an excellent companion to the film, though I suggest watching it before reading the book, and then watching again.

But whatever happens, make sure you do watch it!
11 comment|63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2010
This film is simply exellent.
I first saw this film on television in the 80's when BBC2 used to show a double bill of horror films on Saturday nights.
This dvd features both the U.K and the U.S versions of the film. The U.K version runs longer.

Highly recommended !!
77 comments|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
Nice to get a PAL version of this movie at last even if it is Spanish. The picture quality is immaculate. Maybe from the new French restoration job? The only downside is the Spanish subs don't seem to want to switch off after you've done the set up menu and started the film. You have to pop the menu up while the film is playing and then it seems to work.

Otherwise recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
Well I wasn't sure whether to get this or hold out for an eventual uk release! Am I glad I got it? Damn right I am. Apart from it being a favourite that I never tire of watching, the image on this spanish bluray is the best I've seen ever on this film. Yes unfortunately, there are no extras. But if you want Night of the Demon on bluray, then get this.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 September 2010
I first saw this cult classic in a cinema in Chatham during the mid 1960s, and to this day it remains one of my favourite films.

It is a dark, brooding film, with much suspense throughout as an American psychologist (played by Dana Andrews who spent most nights in night clubs until the early hours whilst making this film)investigates the death of a colleague and friend who had died in mysterious circumstances.

Aided by his colleague's daughter played by the lovely Peggy Cummins they discover that Karswell, played by Niall McGuinness has the ability to remove his enemies by delivering a sacred parchment which can summon up a demon.

There is much drama and suspense in this film as the psychologist struggles to come to terms with the possibility that demonology is possible despite his deep sceptiscm. The final scenes are some of the highlights of the film, and worth the price alone.

Wonderfully directed by Jacques Tourneuer who was in dispute with the studio when they wanted to show the demon too early in the film. This, he felt robbed the film of some of its initial suspense. No matter though, it is still pretty good, and does work well despite the director's misgivings.

The DVD contains both versions, the American version Curse of The Demon is much shorter by about 11 minutes. Not actually having seen this version, I cannot comment. Still, I will imagine that it is worth seeing in order to compare the two versions.

I am pleased that this is finally being released in the UK. It has been a scandal that this has been held back for so long bearing in mind the classic it is. UK film fans will welcome this with open arms.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
Spanish release BD: Picture quality could have been better. It appeared to lack a loving or intelligent full restoration. Minimal extras.
Film: A classic, one of the best, if not the best, in its genre with a palpable sense of menace and foreboding. Dana Andrews plays the lead role well. The three star rating is due to the picture quality.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 July 2013
'Night of the Demon' only ranks second to 'Dead of Night' in my opinion as greatest British horror/mystery film of the 40s and 50s. Furthermore 'Night of the Demon' is presented in this edition with much greater care than the grainy transfer currently available of 'Dead of Night' (complete with poor sound). 'Night of the Demon' is given a transfer of great clarity, the sound is good and it includes a number of worthwhile extras including a well-filled glossy booklet. This is therefore a genuine 'special edition' unlike many other similarly designated DVDs.
The film is a classic and I, for one, am glad that 'The Demon' does make a guest appearance (or two) although I know that this is controversial. The two main actors (Andrews/Cummins) are fine but are rather overshadowed by Niall MacGiniss, who wonderfully conveys both a child-like and sinister quality. There is also a wonderful cameo from Reginald Beckwith as 'Mr Meek' the Medium in the séance sequence (Mrs Meek singing 'Cherry Ripe' is perhaps even more disturbing than 'the Demon'!) Athene Sayler (who unlike MacGinniss and Beckwith lived to be very old - over 100) also steals the show - a marvellous actress.
Don't miss this beautifully presented DVD of this fine film - perhaps the last representative of the era before Hammer Films cornered the market, with much less style.

Added August 2015:

I just ordered a second copy of the DVD and the (very good) glossy booklet was missing. When I contacted the seller I was told that the booklet had mistakenly been left out of the recent manufacturing one - so, do check for this as the booklet is worth having.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)