Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Demon debate
Incredible film, well worth the wait, but what a pity we did have to wait so long.

Regarding the Demon debate, whether or not it should have been shown, Tony Earnshaw's book on the making of the film, Beating the Devil, covers the matter pretty well, including some quotes from Tourneur and other crew members that seem to be contradictory; that is, in most...
Published on 5 Aug 2011 by DT Dunham

versus
10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars HELL OF A FILM!
AFTER YEARS OF WAITING. MY ALL TIME FAVOURITE HORROR FILM(APART FROM 'THE DEVIL RIDES OUT)CAME OUT ONTO D.V.D.
I COULD NOT WAIT TO SETTLE DOWN TO WATCH.
WHAT A LET DOWN.DON'T GET ME WRONG,THE FILM IS STILL AS GREAT AS EVER.BUT-WHAT A TERRIBLE COPY.AS SOON AS IT CAME ON,I COULD NOT BELIEVE HOW POOR THE QUALITY WAS.THERE WERE FLECKS ALL THROUGH THE CREDITS,WHICH...
Published on 8 Dec 2010 by PAUL


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last!, 17 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Demon (1957) [DVD] (DVD)
Night of the Demon is one of those films that are just timeless. I can't wait to own it on DVD. Now if "I Walked With a Zombie" would be released as I well I would be ecstatic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's in the trees, It's coming, 16 Jan 2011
By 
Glycon (Center of the Universe) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Night of the Demon (1957) [DVD] (DVD)
and it's finally arrived. First, a bonus for me as an Aussie, this DVD is coded for both region 2 & 4 so I can watch it easily, without tracking down a region free DVD player.

A great film by one of Britains great directors, based on a story by one of the greatest writers of ghost stories. What's not too love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great adaptation of scary tale., 6 Jan 2011
This review is from: Night of the Demon (1957) [DVD] (DVD)
Classic chiller with some fantastic set pieces. Dana Andrews is wonderful. Takes the spirit of the M.R. James short story and turns it into something bigger and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Viewing, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: Night of the Demon (1957) [DVD] (DVD)
Despite the clunky monster (incidentally quite scary in the final scene)this film stands up to scrutiny. Atmoshperic, creepy and full of deep shadows - Night of the Demon - a reworking of the M.R James story. 'Casting of the Runes' delivers the essentials of a cracking spooky film. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Demon (1957) [DVD] (DVD)
atmospheric horror superb add to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEMON, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Demon (1957) [DVD] (DVD)
I'VE BEEN A HORROR FAN FOR A VERY LONG TIME, THIS IS A GREAT MOVIE TO BE IN YOUR COLLECTION. HORROR MOVIES SEEM TO DO VERY IN ENGLAND DURING THE 1950'S - 1960'S. ENGLAND HAS THAT SPOOKY LOCATION. THIS MOVIE DID HAVE GREAT ACTORS, LOCATIONS, AND SOUND TRACT. THE AMERICAN ACTOR DANA ANDREWS DID A SUPERB JOB. I THINK IT DOES THE MOVIE INDUSTRY VERY WELL WHEN AMERICAN AND ENGLISH WORK TOGETHER. THIS MOVIE IS ABOUT A MAN WHO CAN BRING UP A HORRIBLE CREATURE OUT OF NOWHERE. BUT THE AMERICAN DOCTOR THINK THINGS LIKE THAT ARE FALSE.THIS MOVIE HAS GREAT WRITING,I CAN SAY THE ENGLISH PEOPLE HAVE OUTSTANDING WRITERS, ACTORS, AND GREAT TASTE ON LACATIONS TO FILM THE MOVIE. YOU MUST GET THIS MOVIE IN YOUR COLLECTION, SIT BACK WITH YOUR GAL,SOME POPCORN & SODA AND ENJOY YOUR NIGHT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Demon (1957) [DVD] (DVD)
old fashioned classic, just great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars HELL OF A FILM!, 8 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Demon (1957) [DVD] (DVD)
AFTER YEARS OF WAITING. MY ALL TIME FAVOURITE HORROR FILM(APART FROM 'THE DEVIL RIDES OUT)CAME OUT ONTO D.V.D.
I COULD NOT WAIT TO SETTLE DOWN TO WATCH.
WHAT A LET DOWN.DON'T GET ME WRONG,THE FILM IS STILL AS GREAT AS EVER.BUT-WHAT A TERRIBLE COPY.AS SOON AS IT CAME ON,I COULD NOT BELIEVE HOW POOR THE QUALITY WAS.THERE WERE FLECKS ALL THROUGH THE CREDITS,WHICH FILLED ME WITH FOREBODING ABOUT WHAT WAS TO COME,AND IT WAS NOT BECAUSE OF THE STORY.
IT HAD BEEN ON T.V.THE SAME WEEK,AND THERE WAS TWO 'JUMPS' IN THE 'SEANCE' SCENE.I COULD NOT BELIEVE IT,THERE THEY WERE ON THE D.V.D.COULD NOT SOMEBODY HAVE FOUND A BETTER COPY FOR TRANSFER TO D.V.D. NO RESTORATION.NOTHING.
OH,YOU DO GET SOME STILLS.WOW!
A FEW YEARS AGO,I SAW AN INTERVIEW WITH DANA ANDREWS,TALKING ABOUT THE FILM.HE SAID HOW HE WAS ANNOYED THEY HAD PUT 'THE MONSTER'IN,BECAUSE AS IT SAID IN THE FILM.-"PERHAPS IT'S BETTER NOT TO KNOW".THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN A GOOD EXTRA.
A CLASSIC FILM.-RUBBISH D.V.D.

PAUL REEVES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, lousy print, 15 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Demon (1957) [DVD] (DVD)
If ever a film deserved a loving restoration for the ages, this is it. Not a work of art up there with 'The Innocents', but possibly the greatest B-movie ever.
Sadly an opportunity missed though. A 'must-see' treat, but wait until the price comes down on this version, or until it's been released with proper care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night(s) of the Demon(s), 8 Dec 2010
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night of the Demon (1957) [DVD] (DVD)
As much has already been said about the plot, I'll skip that bit, except to say if youhaven't already seen it in the cinema or on (rare occasions) late night TV, and you are a true horror fan (not a "gore" fan), then give yourself a Christmas treat, which is exactly what I did. A superb print (sound and picture), the U>S> version as well, and a very informative booklet just to round it all off, for me, this film works on all levels. Great photography, good locations, SFX for the time are good (even the controversial Demon works for me), Wonderful performences from Niall and Athene Syler as his mum (she is given a real part here, not just comic relief)and the rest of the cast. If I can find anything negative to say it is perhaps the casting of Andrews (referred to as a "young man" on a couple of occasions) but that's it. Fantastic value for money and one to keep as a genuine example of how to make an atmospheric ghost/horror film. (One last thought...PG Cert? Perhaps a 12 as it is a bit scary for very young kidsw, but in this day and age who knows?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night of the Demon (1957) [DVD]
Night of the Demon (1957) [DVD] by Jacques Tourneur (DVD - 2010)
£8.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews