Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 96 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pilot episode on final disc
BEWARE - do not make the mistake of assuming that you should start watching with disc 1, episode 1. That is obviously far too straight forward for the people who made this DVD. To watch the pilot episode (which sets up the whole story & which you must watch first) you have to go to the final disc & look in the bonus materials section. What the logic behind that was I...
Published on 8 Jan. 2011 by Becca1405

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Merely Middling...
The reviews were so good, I thought I'd give it a try, but I am somewhat disappointed. Mulder and Scully it ain't! The special effects are very good, there's a refreshing lack of excessive cgi, and the aliens are perfectly acceptable. But somehow there is a lack of excitement, no real tension, no charisma between the two leads: in fact, the girl is so bland and...
Published 3 months ago by R. Cassidy


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 96 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pilot episode on final disc, 8 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Dark Skies: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
BEWARE - do not make the mistake of assuming that you should start watching with disc 1, episode 1. That is obviously far too straight forward for the people who made this DVD. To watch the pilot episode (which sets up the whole story & which you must watch first) you have to go to the final disc & look in the bonus materials section. What the logic behind that was I don't know.
The series however is just as good as I remember it. Whilst it may not be a work of art it's great fun and very entertaining. Much better than other series which got longer runs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: strange ordering, 11 Feb. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Skies: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
WARNING!
if like me you watched bits and bobs of the show on tv and you only half remember it and buy the DVD, make sure you watch the pilot episode first which is hidden away on disk five as an extra.
If you don't you will be thrown into a confusing world with almost no character development or interest whatsoever. All of the backstory and exposition is explained in the pilot called 'awakening' so without it, the plot makes little sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic. History is a lie!, 25 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Dark Skies: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the most exceptional sci-fi offerings from the nineties. It sets an alien invasion story against real historical events, starting in the 1960's, even being brave enough to mix archive footage with new material. It is like a historical X-Files - only much better. It had the balls to show us much more of the aliens and their technology than X-Files, and advanced the mythology much faster. It also makes successful use of contemporary music which really adds to the atmosphere.

The series starts out quite breathtakingly, boldy and sure-footed. It lost it's way for a while in the middle of the season and by the time the writers raised their game again, the show was tragically axed. The season finale is jaw-dropping and it is a crying shame that the second series was never made.. The show was intended to run until December 1999 and the story was supposed to cover the seventies, eighties and nineties and tie into the millennium celebrations with an apocalyptic alien conquest of Earth!

If you've never seen this, you absolutely won't be disappointed. The sound, the visual style, the bold storylines. I LOVE DARK SKIES. I thought this would never see a DVD release and am so happy! It's truely unique - buy it now..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY SUPERB !!!!!!!!, 25 Oct. 2010
By 
J. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Skies: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
What is it with American Networks......Everytime they get themselves a gem of a series they get this insane urge to axe them. Anyone remember the sci-fi series Invasion ??? Another classic example. From a personal point of view Dark Skies has got to be one of the best sci-fi series i've seen in a long time. Fantastic twists and turns in the story lines accompanied by very strong acting performances from the late JT Walsh , Eric close.....et al. Absolutely gripping ending to what i thought was the first of many seasons. So hacked off when i found out they'd axed it. Now whenever a new American inspired sci-fi series comes out i wait until it is well established (i.e. into its 3rd or 4th season) before i start watching it. I've learned my lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD set, which uses an 'alternate' version of the pilot, 8 Feb. 2011
By 
R. Liffen "Ray L" (Carshalton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Skies: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I echo all the other positive reviews about this series and about the appearance (finally!) of the DVD box set.

The series was originally shown on UK television in about 1997. A few years later, Channel 4 showed the pilot episode on its own.

Now here's something that no-one else has commented on - the pilot on disk 5 of this box set is an alternate version to the Channel 4 pilot. There are many alternative versions of scenes - the Majestic control room is a complete re-shoot with a different set and many different actors. The entrance to Majestic is in a military base in the DVD version. In the Ch4 version it is in Union Station, Washington D.C. The exit of the alien from the farmer is completely different, and so on. The running times are different. The DVD pilot runs to 88' 50", whereas the Ch4 pilot (cleaned of commercials) runs to 92' 34".

My guess is that the Ch4 pilot was a first version, to sell the series to the network. When it was picked up, scenes in the pilot were re-shot to strengthen later story lines. This DVD version is therefore the 'official' pilot that would have been transmitted to begin the series on the American network. Don't worry - all your favourite scenes are unchanged:- "The truth is overrated, John". "You said you wanted the truth and the truth is down here, third door on the right", "Well Mr Loengard, does that look Russian to you?", "There is not a good enough reason for you to be here", etc. It's great sci-fi - buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can die a happy man!, 20 Sept. 2010
By 
Bignose (EASTLEIGH, Hants) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dark Skies: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I've been waiting years for this, all I've had until now to remind me of this great little show is a ropey old VHS of the pilot. I've always thought the show was made for me personally. I have a big love for all things sixties, so the setting and the soundtrack are perfect. I love a good SciFi show, this took the X Files premise and set it against real world events. I love conspiracies, JFK, RFK, Roswell and who knew it, Charles Manson was an alien! I love a beautiful woman and this had the absolutley stunning Megan Ward and also gave the world Jeri Ryan! Great actors, the late great JT Walsh and poor old Eric Close (did he ever get a second season on a show?). Of all the shows I've seen cruelly cancelled before their time, this is the one that hurts the most. It had a few first season wobbles but I give you Star Trek TNG, Buffy or X Files itself! It just had so much potential. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative Alien Conspiracy Theory, 23 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Skies: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This pre-dated the X-files or was contemporaneous with the early series. What distinguishes this was the way they took historical events and superimposed an alien conspiracy theory on it. JFK not killed by the mystery gunman on the Knoll but by the alien Hive. His brother Bobby, well he was taken by the conspiracy theory, but was despatched by the Hive. It had an element of the The Invaders paranoia to it and was a series not drenched by special effects but by excellent story telling. The good guys well they were the bad guys too but not as bad as the really bad guys - The Hive. The downside is the ending as they tried to wrap the series up when they knew the second series was not going to be made. It is not awful but has the sense of too much hurrying. I have been waiting for years for this set so as long as they don't screw up the video transfer (like the original V series) it will eb absorbing viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars where are the first two episodes?read on!, 21 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Skies: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
i award five stars for the content,which is excelent.i would not have bought it otherwise.the only problem is that if you start watching at disc one you will be lost since the disc begins with the 3rd episode of the series.very strange that you have to go to disc 5 and look in the bonus material section to find the 2 part pilot episode called awakenings part 1 and 2,which is where the series actually begins. they have labelled these episodes as "intro","project blue book","idaho" and "living a lie".these four comprise the pilot episodes.
a bit confusing to say the least,but at least they are included.at first i thought they had been omitted.you'd think more logically that they would have been at the beginning of disc one where they belonged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series, terrible shame, 4 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Dark Skies: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I've heard of other shows creating a massive cliffhanger season ending to generate fan protests against any threat of cancellation, so such a shame it didn't work with the great cliffhanger to this show. Losing a central character in the final episode was probably a bad idea.

I'm not strong on history, but know enough that the events portrayed here with an "it was the aliens" twist are very compelling. The era is captured well.

Maybe the popularity of the DVD issue could generate a second season? I can see John Loengard being returned to Earth in 1984...

The other great thing about this show is Jeri Ryan. Yummy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Merely Middling..., 15 Feb. 2015
By 
R. Cassidy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Skies: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The reviews were so good, I thought I'd give it a try, but I am somewhat disappointed. Mulder and Scully it ain't! The special effects are very good, there's a refreshing lack of excessive cgi, and the aliens are perfectly acceptable. But somehow there is a lack of excitement, no real tension, no charisma between the two leads: in fact, the girl is so bland and expressionless that every time she changed hairstyles, I thought it was a different actress. And the boy, despite the side parting, wears all his clothes like a nineties man.

In fact, I think that's what disappointed me about the show, the fact that it was set in the 60s. Maybe an american audience can soak up the retro style? And certainly the use of old footage, and the blending of new footage from b/w into colour, was very well done. But somehow I couldn't "engage" with the whole 60s thing.

Usually, I love watching boxed sets because you can really get "into" the show, I feel that the binge-watch experience is much closer to that of the people involved in it, the actors and production teams, in that they spend months at a time non-stop writing/pre-production/rehearsing/filming/editing and really "live" the show. As opposed to us, waiting a whole week between instalments. But this show - it just didn't grip me.

Reading some of the other reviews, possibly I have reached the mid-season dip of which several reviewers spoke: at the moment I am not likely to continue any further, and it's very rare for me to dislike a sci-fi show. I don't really dislike this one, it has just failed to interest me.

In my opinion, people read these reviews for two reasons: either a) they already know the show and just want technical info, ie extras, quality of transfer, packaging, delivery etc, or b) they don't already know the show, in which case they want reasons to buy or reasons to avoid, preferably with sensible comments such as "if you liked X then you will like/dislike this".

So, in the interests of people thinking about buying this show - I love X-files, SG-1. Firefly, Grimm, Andromeda, Buffy, Angel, Warehouse 13 (not impressed with Librarians, won't be buying that), Sanctuary, Torchwood, Bones: and I found this show a bit meh. I hope that might help someone else who does not know the show to make their decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Skies: The Complete Series [DVD]
Dark Skies: The Complete Series [DVD] by Eric Close (DVD - 2010)
£15.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews