Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant
First of all, let me say that this album is very different from the first but brilliantly so.

The acoustic sounds running throughout give it a beautifully relaxed and chilled feel with the lyrics and melodies just flowing. There is no single weak song on the album with my favourite being 'Fairytale Lullaby.'

I've read the previous review saying how...
Published on 12 July 2010 by Chris Jones

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars flawed
I've just had a listen to most of this on a listening post and ,whilst I think they should be congratulated for trying something different, I don't think this release has come at the right time. Like a lot of people I've only relatively recently got into the band and was awaiting a strong second release. They'd have been better off picking the best tracks off this, and...
Published on 12 July 2010 by K. Box


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent acoustic 2nd album, 25 Jan 2011
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
Bought Flaws after buying the debut BBC album, and that after seeing them perform twice live. Great live band.

Flaws is a slow burner. Every song is better on 2nd and 3rd listens, and it may even rate a 5* award once I've listened to it a few more times. Can't wait for the next tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Accoustic at its most beautiful!!, 13 Nov 2010
By 
H. Perera "Harin Perera" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
Not being familiar with Bombay Bicycle Club's previous work, nor being much of an Accoustic/Unplugged enthuisiast, I bought this album on the strength of the brilliant single "Ivy and Gold".
Accoustic albums often have the sense of being samey throughout. However Bombay Bicycle Club avoid these pitfalls with a unique approach. Accoustic riffs are at the fore front and the beautiful tunes are nicely woven in to form outstanding songs with outstanding musicianship.
The opener "Rinse Me Down" is an upbeat song with a memorable riff and the vocals duck in and out, carving the way for the simple "Many Ways" which has an outstanding Mandoline riff. The Country flavoured "Dust"(complete with Harp and Jambay)has such a beautiful tune and it is further enhanced with yet another catchy riff.
In a perfect world "Ivy and Gold" would have been hailed as THE "Single of 2010" with that memorable, almost oriental sounding riff and Byrds-ish harmonies.....a classic!!!
"Leaving" is such a haunting ballad with some fine Guitar picking, while "Fairytale" nicely chuggs along with upbeat percussion and yet another outstanding riff!!
"Word By Word" is quite a unique piece of music, with the Mandoline and Accoustic Guitar practically answering to each other while the simple yet beautiful tune is built around it.
"My God" is an upbeat song that shuffles along , bathed with atmosphere and an outstanding tune that lifts it up as one of the best tracks here.
The title track boasts brilliant harmonies that are prominent right through this album, almost Psychadelic, almost Byrds-ish! Swansea is the icing on the cake!
An album which is an absolute pleasure to listen to!!
The limited edition of this album has a bonus DVD featuring every track performed by the band live at various favourite locations of theirs! Worth Viewing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pathos, Lugubrious, Melancholic, e.t.c., 15 July 2010
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
This album evokes a certain mood. It is very quiet, gentle "folk" for want of a better word.
It is reminiscent of Stephen Duffy and the Lilac Time and other artists of that ilk. It isnt quite as good as albums such as "Paradise Circus","Looking for a Day in the Night" or "Pink Moon" say but if you like this and you havent heard the afore mentioned then check em out.
The track "Flaws" on here is my fave at the moment but hey thats just me!
Me likey...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you want to ride a rainbow, come with me, 13 July 2010
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
BBCs "I had the blues..." was one of the musical highlights of 2009 and since its release the band have performed superb bluegrass versions of the many great songs on it. Many expected the new "acoustic" album to be little more than a record of these tracks, however only one makes it; "Dust on the Ground". "Flaws" isn't quite a brand new record then (it also includes a cover version) but it does take off from where the last album ended by building on the beauty of "The Giantess" by way of a series of contemplative songs that have more in common with James Taylor (the Sweet Baby variety) than The Strokes. Jack Steadman's heartfelt vocals step up another level and reach something truly special on "Leaving Blues" and "Fairytale Lullaby". There are a couple of tracks that don't grab instantly (and recall The Wonderstuff's, more introspective, later moments) and this obviously lacks the energy of their first, but then again this album feels like a real grower...something to be kept close for a few months. The Deluxe Edition is the one to get. It includes a DVD with a live version of each track videoed in a location special to the band (walking down the road, roof, backstage, car, car-park or enjoying Sunday lunch at the dining room table). It's very much a homemade affair, shot with an SLR camera (depth of field ahoy!), but is all the more real and better for it. BBC will be huge one day, grab them while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different but the boys still done good!, 13 July 2010
By 
Mr. P. Maynard "Happy sounds" (Greenwich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
Big fan of these guys and always have been since their very early stuff. This album is a great acoustic set by them and proves they can turn their hands to the more chilled side.

Great album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moments of brilliance, 24 Sep 2010
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
One of the best albums I've heard all year, raw and beautiful. Short, wonderfully crafted songs which linger on in the mind long after the album has finished. BBC deserve much more credit than they've been given here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No 'Flaws' here!, 18 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
Liked this bands first album particularly the acoustic songs 'The Giantess' comes to mind, and so a full on acoustic album and mini tour caught my ear. This has all that I want from a band,great playing, lovely simple melodies that buzz in your head and a new favourite track every play. The first two songs are cracking, with 'Many ways' a melancholy wonder and my initial classic track.
This album will take you to a place of bitter sadness and world weary restlessness that is neither mawkish or downtrodden.'Word by word, Jewel and the title track are just stunning. A thing of beauty that is to be cherished and hailed in decades to come as a bit special, from a band so young and musically wise. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming acoustic album.., 13 July 2010
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
'Flaws' is a step away from the sound of the first album in favour of an enchanting acoustic album. The quality, however, remains impeccable and in my opinion tops the effort of the first album. Hats off to the boys...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars flawed, 12 July 2010
By 
K. Box "whereami?" (Worcester,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
I've just had a listen to most of this on a listening post and ,whilst I think they should be congratulated for trying something different, I don't think this release has come at the right time. Like a lot of people I've only relatively recently got into the band and was awaiting a strong second release. They'd have been better off picking the best tracks off this, and putting it out with a more "electrified" set like their first album. The first album is excellent. This is flawed.There are some good songs but the more I listened to the album the more my attention started to wander.I like folk orientated stuff as well as "indie" (whatever that means these days)and "rock" (whatever that means as well)in general. I hope it does o.k. for them, but I'm having to think hard about whether I buy it or not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's decent., 17 July 2010
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
I like Bombay Bicycle Club, but when I read an interview that admitted they were releasing an acoustic album at least partly to show that they weren't just "another indie filler", I thought it was probably going to be bad. When bands release albums for the sake of proving people wrong, or changing their sound or for sustaining the success they managed with their last albums it's not unlikely for them to just be bad, or at least not as good, because I think they stop concentrating on releasing some decent music and focus everything on one of those other goals. So I didn't anxiously anticipate the album, but I noticed it had been released this week and gave it a listen.

The album begins with a driving rhythm and an immediately catchy melody. Another reviewer didn't like Rinse Me Down's machine gun drum rolls, but I do - it's a little different and you don't expect them. Rhythm's an important part of music, since a bad rhythm can seriously bring a song down; for the most part Flaws is driving and gladly bouncy and smooth at times. Thanks in part to the percussion it's an acoustic album that avoids utter misery.

That said, Jack Steadman's voice could be said to suit a miserable feel as it does on Jewel, which isn't a personal favourite, since I'm not sure the lyrics hold my interest throughout its quiet despair, but on the whole, the album's lyrics keep away from being cliché, but their subjects aren't new and the lyrics don't give them a particularly fresh feel. And when it comes to feel the album can seem a little much like a dirge at times, but a song like Ivy & Gold, which I think is slightly self-mocking, helps make up for that.

A nice thing about Flaws is that it plays like an album, rather than a compilation. The songs follow a calm, sailing on by kind of theme, which makes it good bedroom music, quiet background dinner party music or driving along the countryside in a car music. The clean production helps support that as do the precise sounding performances by the each member. However, I will mention that I was disappointed with the final track, Swansea, the "oh well, there you go" closer that could've either been worked on a little more or replaced with a proper final track.

Acoustic albums are things that a lot of bands like to have a go at, and there's a chance that all they'll do is show off how much the band depends on distortion and some shouting, but Bombay Bicycle Club have managed to avoid that by putting some well written songs into a perfectly listenable album. There are better albums of the kind out there, sure, but this is a good one, and if you're already into this band then I have no problem recommending a listen of Flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flaws
Flaws by Bombay Bicycle Club
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews