Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant
First of all, let me say that this album is very different from the first but brilliantly so.

The acoustic sounds running throughout give it a beautifully relaxed and chilled feel with the lyrics and melodies just flowing. There is no single weak song on the album with my favourite being 'Fairytale Lullaby.'

I've read the previous review saying how...
Published on 12 July 2010 by Chris Jones

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars flawed
I've just had a listen to most of this on a listening post and ,whilst I think they should be congratulated for trying something different, I don't think this release has come at the right time. Like a lot of people I've only relatively recently got into the band and was awaiting a strong second release. They'd have been better off picking the best tracks off this, and...
Published on 12 July 2010 by K. Box


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 12 July 2010
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
First of all, let me say that this album is very different from the first but brilliantly so.

The acoustic sounds running throughout give it a beautifully relaxed and chilled feel with the lyrics and melodies just flowing. There is no single weak song on the album with my favourite being 'Fairytale Lullaby.'

I've read the previous review saying how different it is to the first and I agree but I only see this as a positive thing. The band have clearly tried something new and aren't going for the normal same Indie kind of approach. I loved their first album and I love this one too.

I would recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unflawed Little Gems, 17 July 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
It's hard not to like Bombay Bicycle Club. I retain a strong
affection for their 2009 debut 'I Had The Blues but I shook Them
Loose'. It was a confident and thoroughly enjoyable first showing.

Their new album 'Flaws' follows closely in its footsteps and is
destined to be one of the year's unassuming lo-fi highlights.
There are eleven songs in the collection (two of them not their own)
which creep up on you quietly and make their mark without resort to
fanciful gestures and unnecessary braggadocio.
Simple music; simply performed; simply lovely.

Jack Steadman's gentle vibrato is still present and correct.
His voice defines the band's sound . Warm, nicely wobbly
and with the capacity to make us sit up, listen and feel
something nice going on inside ourselves.

There are some truly lovely songs here.

'Leaving Blues' is one of the loveliest of them. A magical
folk-tinged ballad shot though with gentle harmonies and a
plaintive and affecting vocal performance from Mr Steadman.
Loss and longing have rarely been so well articulated.

Opening track 'Rinse Me Down' is another fine composition.
The splendid guitar interplay and economical percussion propel
the arrangement forward with laconically upbeat determination.
The melody works its way into memory after a couple of listens
and won't go away. (I found myself humming it on more than one
occasion this week).

For my money, however, the stunning 'Many Ways' is the album's
highpoint. The lilting country rhythm (Kenny Rogers' 1969 hit
'Ruby Don't Take Your Love To Town' came to mind for more than
a moment) , craftily constructed tune and breathily fragile vocal
performance are hypnotically captivating. A jewel of understatement!

Stripped down to the bone 'Word By Word' comes in
over the finishing line a very close second!

Renditions of John Martyn's 1967 composition 'Fairytale Lullaby'
and Joanna Newsom's haunting 'Swansea' are both given affectionate
and convincing interpretations. The almost spectral ostinato of
the latter brings the album to an especially enchanting close.

In these difficult, unpredictable and troubling
times 'Flaws' is an album to cherish.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Accoustic at its most beautiful!!, 13 Nov. 2010
By 
H. Perera "Harin Perera" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
Not being familiar with Bombay Bicycle Club's previous work, nor being much of an Accoustic/Unplugged enthuisiast, I bought this album on the strength of the brilliant single "Ivy and Gold".
Accoustic albums often have the sense of being samey throughout. However Bombay Bicycle Club avoid these pitfalls with a unique approach. Accoustic riffs are at the fore front and the beautiful tunes are nicely woven in to form outstanding songs with outstanding musicianship.
The opener "Rinse Me Down" is an upbeat song with a memorable riff and the vocals duck in and out, carving the way for the simple "Many Ways" which has an outstanding Mandoline riff. The Country flavoured "Dust"(complete with Harp and Jambay)has such a beautiful tune and it is further enhanced with yet another catchy riff.
In a perfect world "Ivy and Gold" would have been hailed as THE "Single of 2010" with that memorable, almost oriental sounding riff and Byrds-ish harmonies.....a classic!!!
"Leaving" is such a haunting ballad with some fine Guitar picking, while "Fairytale" nicely chuggs along with upbeat percussion and yet another outstanding riff!!
"Word By Word" is quite a unique piece of music, with the Mandoline and Accoustic Guitar practically answering to each other while the simple yet beautiful tune is built around it.
"My God" is an upbeat song that shuffles along , bathed with atmosphere and an outstanding tune that lifts it up as one of the best tracks here.
The title track boasts brilliant harmonies that are prominent right through this album, almost Psychadelic, almost Byrds-ish! Swansea is the icing on the cake!
An album which is an absolute pleasure to listen to!!
The limited edition of this album has a bonus DVD featuring every track performed by the band live at various favourite locations of theirs! Worth Viewing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you want to ride a rainbow, come with me, 13 July 2010
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
BBCs "I had the blues..." was one of the musical highlights of 2009 and since its release the band have performed superb bluegrass versions of the many great songs on it. Many expected the new "acoustic" album to be little more than a record of these tracks, however only one makes it; "Dust on the Ground". "Flaws" isn't quite a brand new record then (it also includes a cover version) but it does take off from where the last album ended by building on the beauty of "The Giantess" by way of a series of contemplative songs that have more in common with James Taylor (the Sweet Baby variety) than The Strokes. Jack Steadman's heartfelt vocals step up another level and reach something truly special on "Leaving Blues" and "Fairytale Lullaby". There are a couple of tracks that don't grab instantly (and recall The Wonderstuff's, more introspective, later moments) and this obviously lacks the energy of their first, but then again this album feels like a real grower...something to be kept close for a few months. The Deluxe Edition is the one to get. It includes a DVD with a live version of each track videoed in a location special to the band (walking down the road, roof, backstage, car, car-park or enjoying Sunday lunch at the dining room table). It's very much a homemade affair, shot with an SLR camera (depth of field ahoy!), but is all the more real and better for it. BBC will be huge one day, grab them while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this album, 8 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
acoustic loveliness. I like Sun Kil Moon, Red House Painters, Fionn Reegan, Fleet Foxes, Bon Iver and this sits with this new folk nicely - my fist listen was cycling down country lanes in Cornwall - beautiful to be alive and listen to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath taking, 6 July 2012
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
An album that compliments every mood, literally flawless. Whether im in the bath, getting ready for work or a party it truly is beautifully charming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pathos, Lugubrious, Melancholic, e.t.c., 15 July 2010
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
This album evokes a certain mood. It is very quiet, gentle "folk" for want of a better word.
It is reminiscent of Stephen Duffy and the Lilac Time and other artists of that ilk. It isnt quite as good as albums such as "Paradise Circus","Looking for a Day in the Night" or "Pink Moon" say but if you like this and you havent heard the afore mentioned then check em out.
The track "Flaws" on here is my fave at the moment but hey thats just me!
Me likey...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, great band!, 21 Jun. 2011
By 
Mr. Conor Sinclair "conzicon" (Belfast, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
This is a great album and I really like the band. The album 'I had the blues but shook them loose' is even better, but the style of this album is more mellow and relaxing. There are also some catchy tunes on the album, such as 'Ivy and Gold. This band just has a great sound and I think they are under-rated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent acoustic 2nd album, 25 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
Bought Flaws after buying the debut BBC album, and that after seeing them perform twice live. Great live band.

Flaws is a slow burner. Every song is better on 2nd and 3rd listens, and it may even rate a 5* award once I've listened to it a few more times. Can't wait for the next tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bow your head and let your eyelids close on down..., 26 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
Been following the BBC for a while and have all the material I can find of them. This is an excellent second album, although the band themselves considered it more of a side project. Truly relaxing music and some ingenious guitar compositions. Fast delivery with some good packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flaws
Flaws by Bombay Bicycle Club
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews