Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant
First of all, let me say that this album is very different from the first but brilliantly so.

The acoustic sounds running throughout give it a beautifully relaxed and chilled feel with the lyrics and melodies just flowing. There is no single weak song on the album with my favourite being 'Fairytale Lullaby.'

I've read the previous review saying how...
Published on 12 July 2010 by Chris Jones

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars flawed
I've just had a listen to most of this on a listening post and ,whilst I think they should be congratulated for trying something different, I don't think this release has come at the right time. Like a lot of people I've only relatively recently got into the band and was awaiting a strong second release. They'd have been better off picking the best tracks off this, and...
Published on 12 July 2010 by K. Box


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 12 July 2010
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
First of all, let me say that this album is very different from the first but brilliantly so.

The acoustic sounds running throughout give it a beautifully relaxed and chilled feel with the lyrics and melodies just flowing. There is no single weak song on the album with my favourite being 'Fairytale Lullaby.'

I've read the previous review saying how different it is to the first and I agree but I only see this as a positive thing. The band have clearly tried something new and aren't going for the normal same Indie kind of approach. I loved their first album and I love this one too.

I would recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unflawed Little Gems, 17 July 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
It's hard not to like Bombay Bicycle Club. I retain a strong
affection for their 2009 debut 'I Had The Blues but I shook Them
Loose'. It was a confident and thoroughly enjoyable first showing.

Their new album 'Flaws' follows closely in its footsteps and is
destined to be one of the year's unassuming lo-fi highlights.
There are eleven songs in the collection (two of them not their own)
which creep up on you quietly and make their mark without resort to
fanciful gestures and unnecessary braggadocio.
Simple music; simply performed; simply lovely.

Jack Steadman's gentle vibrato is still present and correct.
His voice defines the band's sound . Warm, nicely wobbly
and with the capacity to make us sit up, listen and feel
something nice going on inside ourselves.

There are some truly lovely songs here.

'Leaving Blues' is one of the loveliest of them. A magical
folk-tinged ballad shot though with gentle harmonies and a
plaintive and affecting vocal performance from Mr Steadman.
Loss and longing have rarely been so well articulated.

Opening track 'Rinse Me Down' is another fine composition.
The splendid guitar interplay and economical percussion propel
the arrangement forward with laconically upbeat determination.
The melody works its way into memory after a couple of listens
and won't go away. (I found myself humming it on more than one
occasion this week).

For my money, however, the stunning 'Many Ways' is the album's
highpoint. The lilting country rhythm (Kenny Rogers' 1969 hit
'Ruby Don't Take Your Love To Town' came to mind for more than
a moment) , craftily constructed tune and breathily fragile vocal
performance are hypnotically captivating. A jewel of understatement!

Stripped down to the bone 'Word By Word' comes in
over the finishing line a very close second!

Renditions of John Martyn's 1967 composition 'Fairytale Lullaby'
and Joanna Newsom's haunting 'Swansea' are both given affectionate
and convincing interpretations. The almost spectral ostinato of
the latter brings the album to an especially enchanting close.

In these difficult, unpredictable and troubling
times 'Flaws' is an album to cherish.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath taking, 6 July 2012
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
An album that compliments every mood, literally flawless. Whether im in the bath, getting ready for work or a party it truly is beautifully charming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this album, 8 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
acoustic loveliness. I like Sun Kil Moon, Red House Painters, Fionn Reegan, Fleet Foxes, Bon Iver and this sits with this new folk nicely - my fist listen was cycling down country lanes in Cornwall - beautiful to be alive and listen to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars grows on you, 19 Jan 2014
By 
F1do (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
Like this more and more with listening.. Interesting vocals, mellow sound, have now bought all BBC albums .. I would highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something different, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
Beautiful album! Great one for the summer and for listening to in the car or to have in the background of a BBQ. Really fun and beautiful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Acoustic LP, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
This album includes 11 acoustically recorded tracks. This is a must have LP for Bombay Bicycle Club fans. There are a few covers within the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bow your head and let your eyelids close on down..., 26 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
Been following the BBC for a while and have all the material I can find of them. This is an excellent second album, although the band themselves considered it more of a side project. Truly relaxing music and some ingenious guitar compositions. Fast delivery with some good packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, great band!, 21 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. Conor Sinclair "conzicon" (Belfast, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
This is a great album and I really like the band. The album 'I had the blues but shook them loose' is even better, but the style of this album is more mellow and relaxing. There are also some catchy tunes on the album, such as 'Ivy and Gold. This band just has a great sound and I think they are under-rated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bombay bicycle club, 17 Jun 2011
This review is from: Flaws (Audio CD)
present for my daughter who loves indie music, ive heard it quite a few times blaring out in her bedroom so id say this was definitley a hit!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flaws
Flaws by Bombay Bicycle Club
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews