Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars volbeat
I had got to the stage of being stuck in my old 'likes', then someone recommended volbeat to me. loved all but one song, and evelyn is growing on me.this is a band that should be listened to more!! p.s. don't want to give away my age, but grew up on deep purple, led zep,,etc; and this band is a worthy successor to that genre!
Published 16 months ago by lainey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars hit and miss
Enjoyed this cd, biggest bugbear that a few of the tracks sound a bit samey. Bit poppy other times rock other times metal. Maybe too modern sounding for me as I prefer the 'classic rock' sound
Published 5 months ago by Scott Fraser


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying, 11 Aug 2011
I've been following this band for almost 3 years now, and this being the 4th album has certainly not disappointed me. Every track on the album has a catchy tune to it, and at the same time has its own unique sound, displaying the variety of Volbeat's sound, from thrashing heavy metal to soothing softer rock sounds to honoring rockabilly with a twist, this album definitely pleases all rock fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rock ain't Dead!, 11 Aug 2011
The brainchild of ex Dominus frontman Michael Poulsen after growing tired of the Death Metal scene, this brand of Metal infused rockabilly...insane licks, riffs and hooks aplenty. Michael's J.R Cash style vocals meet a Metallica bravado...this combination worked for three albums(all well worth checking out!)

Beyond Hell/Above Heaven...is no different, the formula of insanely catchy tunes and immense live shows still make Volbeat one of the best up and coming Rockametal bands out there. This album if nothing else cements Volbeats statement of intent and proves they've got so much more left in them.

\m/ Rock On! \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Volbeat rock!, 11 Dec 2010
By 
Aidan Farr (Svendborg, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After "Guitar Gangsters and Cadillac Blood", it was difficult to imagine that this band could get any better - but they could! If you like their special blend of metal/country/rockabilly, then BUY THIS ALBUM! You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dynamic melodic metal, 9 Sep 2010
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This is my first encounter with this band and I have to say I am very impressed indeed. I will certainly be exploring the back catalogue. The group sits very firmly in the Iron Maiden, UFO, Metallica bracket, hard rock with some subtle touches and a great deal of humour in the lyrics - at least I assume it's humour. Long term fans may disagree on that score but I'm sure the WILL agree that this is a welcome blast of genuine traditional metal that whilst pushing no boundaries exhibits all the flare and exuberance you could wish for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Misfits meet Metallica!, 7 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Volbeat are a Danish outfit who have been on the scene for most of the noughties, and with the greatest of respect to the previous reviewer, I totally agree with their star rating but not the description. I would put this down as a down 'n dirty cross between Metallica, and the Misfits, with a huge psychobilly influence and perhaps even elements of Elvis and Johnny Cash.

Curiously the blend of the above elements gives the album a Green Day-esque sound, and when you can be compared to that genius of a band there really is no higher compliment, because make no mistake, this is THE rock album of the year. The melodies on display here are at times incomparable (or at least only to Green Day) - it is difficult to pick out a best track here, such is the standard on offer, but opener 'the Mirror and the Ripper' the Metallica-esque 'who they are' and the shimmering 'a better believer stand out. But the whole project is simply a joy. Volbeat have a big following in their native Denmark but are relatively unknown elsewhere. This won't remain the case for long...you know what to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Volbeat, 18 July 2011
This review is from: Beyond Hell / Above Heaven (Audio CD)
I am a big fan and it is amazing to hear the progress in this phantastic album. Great stuff and Volbeat on the peak.
Let`s rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confused mess or genius?, 24 April 2012
I bought this after reading that this band are like a cross between Metallica and Maiden, wanting something new but old school sounding i thought i would give it a try.

First song... "Why is this dude doing an Elvis impression?"... then it got going, OK yeah I can dig, I can hear the maiden /metallica cross over here

Song two... "is my iPod on shuffle? Who is this White Snake? Aerosmith?"

Song three... "Must be on shuffle again, Slayer this time..."

This goes on throughout the whole ablum. The music is fusing metal to many differnt genres. The band visits thrash, hair metal, college rock, 50's rock and roll, country and western, British Indie even raises its ugly head, then back to Death Metal.

I am not sure what the popint of this record is. But it kind of works, it's like a play list on a single record. It's fun, I like listening to it the Heaven nor Hell especially makes me feel upbeat! However, A New Day is unforgivable. I hate Brit Pop/Indie, there is no place for a cross over into metal, ever!

3 stars. It's good, but you cant describe it as a Maiden Metallica crossover, unless you are completely unfamiliar with the Metal genre!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD works on U.S. players, 14 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for someone else. Both discs (CD and DVD) play on U.S. players. He tried the DVD on 3 different players and seems happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond Hell / Above Heaven
Beyond Hell / Above Heaven by Volbeat (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews