Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great overview of a great skater
I saw Tony on the TV a few days ago, and thought I'd give his book a go. Tony was the boy back in the day - I mean really! He rocked. Thankfully he didn't become a statistic like so many others did, and he went on to rule again. I wasn't expecting all that much from the book to be honest, but I was surprised at how good and in depth it was. One thing I would say is...
Published on 30 April 2001 by richardburkitt@hotmail.com

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars boring
This book is not worth a pound. All he talks about is being a rebellious toddler throwing poo around. Tedious maddeningly slow. Rodney Mullen's book is written well though. Check that one out. But this book is poor.
Published 18 months ago by pr


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great overview of a great skater, 30 April 2001
I saw Tony on the TV a few days ago, and thought I'd give his book a go. Tony was the boy back in the day - I mean really! He rocked. Thankfully he didn't become a statistic like so many others did, and he went on to rule again. I wasn't expecting all that much from the book to be honest, but I was surprised at how good and in depth it was. One thing I would say is that there are a whole heap of what would have been blank spaces filled with pictures of ABEC 5's for some reason, and they continue throughout the book. Small gripe though for a book that has kept me amused and given me a bit more of an insight into not just Mr Hawk, but the 80's skate scene which I enjoyed, but was too young to understand.
Buy it, you'll be happy you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fantastic book, even if you don't sk8!, 10 Oct 2001
By A Customer
I'm not much of a fan of biographies, even if they are by people I greatly admire, but this book sets a new standard in both biographies and sports writing. It's written with a grace & fluidity matched only by the man's skating abilities. I would recommend you buy this book even if you dont skate. Maybe it'll make you want to start (or at least have a little respect for those of us who do).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 5 Dec 2001
By A Customer
this book is brilliant, some of it will make you squint, some will make you laugh and some will make you cry. I recommend this book to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well written review but skateboarding knowledge a must, 16 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This book gives the reader a good insight into the life of Tony Hawk. Gives an understanding of what Tony does while passing the time away from skateboarding, and the love for his wife and 5 year old son. The book follows him from the lows of skateboarding in the late 70's all the way through his life with his 35 plus professional signature skateboards, two double plattinum video games, hundreds of contest wins and a trick list that gives him the nick name 'robot' to the present day where he has had a huge part in making skateboarding what it is today. This book is a very good read if you have skateboard knowledge but with-out this parts of this book wil pass you by. If a history of skateboarding is what you want to read about you should try 'Skateboard Roadmap' by James Davis and with excellent photography by the 'Transworld Skateboarding Magazine' photographer Skin Phillips. This book was a very interesting read and i really enjoyed it because a book about a life as forfilled as Tony Hawks life is bound to be good. A truely deserved 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absouletly great, 18 Feb 2011
By 
N. Graham "Nick - Kolya" (U.K. / R.U.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a great read from the point of view of a skateboarder but it is also a great read from the point of view of non - skateboarders altough sometimes the book talks about tricks in proper skating terminology e.g. a 900 or a 540 Flip etc and this may be a bit confusing if you do not know skateboarding but it is not really a problem at all. I am currently on page 170 and loving it. This book also contains some great pictures of Tony at competions and just skating around which adds to the flavour.

I would thourghouly reccomend this book to anybody and everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great inside review of Hawk's Skateboarding Career, 19 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This is a really good book. Tells you everything about the ups and dows of tony hawks career. You would have to be into skateboarding to really like this book, and if you are into skateboarding, trust me you will love it. If your not into skateboarding it is a great insider to a very influenceal Skateboarder who has went through think and thin in his life. All in all an exceptional read. Gives u everthing from the famous 900 to the time he broke his rib trying to do the 900. happy reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book on skateboarding history and present, 16 Jan 2002
Tony Hawk has never been a cult skate figure such as Mark Gonzalez, Neil Blender, Matt Hensley, Danny Way and Christian Hosoi. His autobiography however is the first of its kind and deals with all aspects of tony hawks career such as Tonys Skate style which was laughed at in the early days, to his rise to fame through pro-skating and building of his own skate company birdhouse. If you skated in the 80s and 90s you HAVE to read this book there is no choice in the matter! excellent nostalgia and skate history!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars boring, 16 Oct 2012
This review is from: Hawk: Occupation: Skateboarder (Skate My Friend, Skate) (Kindle Edition)
This book is not worth a pound. All he talks about is being a rebellious toddler throwing poo around. Tedious maddeningly slow. Rodney Mullen's book is written well though. Check that one out. But this book is poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Read, 30 Mar 2012
This review is from: Hawk: Occupation: Skateboarder (Skate My Friend, Skate) (Kindle Edition)
This book is incredible, if you are a skateboarder you must must own and read this book he is an icon of my generation of skateboarders like 90s kids etc lol, I will keep the sport alive by only stop skating when I feel that I am to old to do it not when people tell me or think I am, and i personally hope he keeps on shredding untill he is a pensioner lol respect.
I Give This 5 stars, Highly recommend it It is an insight to what a skateboarder endures to become the best in his/her sport even though people tend to take the Mic a bit because they do not understand the sport, cant wait to read it again on the train tomorrow lol :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, but you will appreciate it more if you skate, 1 Jan 2001
By A Customer
I thought the book was great as it takes you from Hawk's childhood to the present day covering everything from the highs and lows of skating to the highs and lows in his life. Its pretty much a Disney tale in some respects, misunderstood child finds an outlet for his creativity, reaches the top of the sport before it all comes crashing down then holds on till he makes it back to the top again both in skating (pulling the 900) business(starting a succesful skate company while staring bankruptcy in the face) and his personal life (divorce/father's death) It would probably make a pretty good film! However, on the minus side some of the info would be hard for a non skater to comprehend, but overall its a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7623780)

This product

Only search this product's reviews