Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars15
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2001
I saw Tony on the TV a few days ago, and thought I'd give his book a go. Tony was the boy back in the day - I mean really! He rocked. Thankfully he didn't become a statistic like so many others did, and he went on to rule again. I wasn't expecting all that much from the book to be honest, but I was surprised at how good and in depth it was. One thing I would say is that there are a whole heap of what would have been blank spaces filled with pictures of ABEC 5's for some reason, and they continue throughout the book. Small gripe though for a book that has kept me amused and given me a bit more of an insight into not just Mr Hawk, but the 80's skate scene which I enjoyed, but was too young to understand.
Buy it, you'll be happy you did.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2000
This book gives the reader a good insight into the life of Tony Hawk. Gives an understanding of what Tony does while passing the time away from skateboarding, and the love for his wife and 5 year old son. The book follows him from the lows of skateboarding in the late 70's all the way through his life with his 35 plus professional signature skateboards, two double plattinum video games, hundreds of contest wins and a trick list that gives him the nick name 'robot' to the present day where he has had a huge part in making skateboarding what it is today. This book is a very good read if you have skateboard knowledge but with-out this parts of this book wil pass you by. If a history of skateboarding is what you want to read about you should try 'Skateboard Roadmap' by James Davis and with excellent photography by the 'Transworld Skateboarding Magazine' photographer Skin Phillips. This book was a very interesting read and i really enjoyed it because a book about a life as forfilled as Tony Hawks life is bound to be good. A truely deserved 4 stars.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2001
I'm not much of a fan of biographies, even if they are by people I greatly admire, but this book sets a new standard in both biographies and sports writing. It's written with a grace & fluidity matched only by the man's skating abilities. I would recommend you buy this book even if you dont skate. Maybe it'll make you want to start (or at least have a little respect for those of us who do).
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2001
this book is brilliant, some of it will make you squint, some will make you laugh and some will make you cry. I recommend this book to everyone.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2011
This book is a great read from the point of view of a skateboarder but it is also a great read from the point of view of non - skateboarders altough sometimes the book talks about tricks in proper skating terminology e.g. a 900 or a 540 Flip etc and this may be a bit confusing if you do not know skateboarding but it is not really a problem at all. I am currently on page 170 and loving it. This book also contains some great pictures of Tony at competions and just skating around which adds to the flavour.

I would thourghouly reccomend this book to anybody and everybody.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2000
This is a really good book. Tells you everything about the ups and dows of tony hawks career. You would have to be into skateboarding to really like this book, and if you are into skateboarding, trust me you will love it. If your not into skateboarding it is a great insider to a very influenceal Skateboarder who has went through think and thin in his life. All in all an exceptional read. Gives u everthing from the famous 900 to the time he broke his rib trying to do the 900. happy reading
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2001
I thought the book was great as it takes you from Hawk's childhood to the present day covering everything from the highs and lows of skating to the highs and lows in his life. Its pretty much a Disney tale in some respects, misunderstood child finds an outlet for his creativity, reaches the top of the sport before it all comes crashing down then holds on till he makes it back to the top again both in skating (pulling the 900) business(starting a succesful skate company while staring bankruptcy in the face) and his personal life (divorce/father's death) It would probably make a pretty good film! However, on the minus side some of the info would be hard for a non skater to comprehend, but overall its a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2002
Tony Hawk has never been a cult skate figure such as Mark Gonzalez, Neil Blender, Matt Hensley, Danny Way and Christian Hosoi. His autobiography however is the first of its kind and deals with all aspects of tony hawks career such as Tonys Skate style which was laughed at in the early days, to his rise to fame through pro-skating and building of his own skate company birdhouse. If you skated in the 80s and 90s you HAVE to read this book there is no choice in the matter! excellent nostalgia and skate history!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2000
this is an exellant biography of one of the greatest skateboarders of all time. He goes in to detail about almost every contest he entered and gives you a good idea of how he and skateboarding has progressed. A great read for any skateboarder
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
Great read, i couldn't put this book down. from start to finish a fantastic read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)