Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solution to poor heating system
I bought this fan heater for my sister-in-law who is disabled and lives in a retirement complex which has night storage heating, quite useless by the time evening comes. She tells me it is wonderful so light even with her disability she can move it around easily. It is also very quiet and has three heat settings.
Published on 5 Feb 2011 by J. M. Currie

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality multi-function fan heater but problems arise quickly with regular use
De'Longhi have been making fan heaters for a long time and I have been buying various De'Longhi models (along with other brands) over the last 15 years.

This is one of their top range heaters, there is another a bit more expensive that also has a rather ugly timer function but otherwise is the same.

Stand out points/issues
- It has a 3kW output...
Published on 16 July 2012 by Sutharshan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality multi-function fan heater but problems arise quickly with regular use, 16 July 2012
By 
Sutharshan (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: De'Longhi HVF-3533B, Vertical Upright Fan Heater Quiet with Oscillating Base - 3 Kilowatt (Kitchen & Home)
De'Longhi have been making fan heaters for a long time and I have been buying various De'Longhi models (along with other brands) over the last 15 years.

This is one of their top range heaters, there is another a bit more expensive that also has a rather ugly timer function but otherwise is the same.

Stand out points/issues
- It has a 3kW output option where most heaters only go up to 2kW. I rarely use the 3kW option except during the freezing winter. Cool fan option, thermostat are all standard.
- There is a convenient handle for moving it and the base is very stable.
- It is indeed quieter than most other heaters, including other De'Longhi heaters, but it quickly becomes louder and after regular (i.e. daily use of upward of 2 hours) can develop a rattling sound which is unfortunately common with many De'Longhi heaters.
- The oscillating option is wonderful when it works. After a couple of months mine started catching on itself and stuttering making a horrible grinding sound. This has happened on all of my other De'Longhi oscillating fans (this is the 4th of this type I've had although this has been the first of this exact model I've bought). This issue is purely down to De'Longhi skimping on better quality moving parts, e.g. bearings, long last lubrication, and not building them for regular use. This is extremely irritating.

Despite the issue with the noise (which you can get used to) and the quickly deteriorating oscillation function the heater itself still works fine.

In summary you are better off buying a simpler, cheaper heater that doesn't charge you more for capabilities it doesn't possess. If an oscillating fan is a must I strongly suggest trying a different brand.

Sutha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not so quiet fan heater, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De'Longhi HVF-3533B, Vertical Upright Fan Heater Quiet with Oscillating Base - 3 Kilowatt (Kitchen & Home)
This fan heater is not quiet at all, so don't be fooled by the title. I was, and now regret not returning it as soon as I switched it on!

The heat setting (on low) is also not very warm at all and if you ramp up the fan (to try to blow out more hot air), the noise only gets worse.

If you want a fan heater to warm a very small (unoccupied) room, then maybe the noise won't be a problem for you...but if you want a truly QUIET fan heater – perhaps for under your desk – avoid this like the plague!

I'm really angry about this one, because 'someone' at De'longhi' has deliberately gone out to mislead customers, by naming this machine 'quiet'.... it's not quiet, it's noisy, end off!

Tip: if you truly want a silent heater, I would now suggest looking at any heater, WITHOUT a fan... I believe there are some heaters that use light or infrared to heat the air, which I now wish I had bought myself.

Mike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solution to poor heating system, 5 Feb 2011
By 
J. M. Currie (Sallisbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De'Longhi HVF-3533B, Vertical Upright Fan Heater Quiet with Oscillating Base - 3 Kilowatt (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this fan heater for my sister-in-law who is disabled and lives in a retirement complex which has night storage heating, quite useless by the time evening comes. She tells me it is wonderful so light even with her disability she can move it around easily. It is also very quiet and has three heat settings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quiet DeLonghi - not!, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De'Longhi HVF-3533B, Vertical Upright Fan Heater Quiet with Oscillating Base - 3 Kilowatt (Kitchen & Home)
An appallingly noisy fan even on the lowest setting. Not suitable for home or office. Either incorrectly described or faulty. Either way it was sent back. Very disappointing. Not even one star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not silent at all, 9 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De'Longhi HVF-3533B, Vertical Upright Fan Heater Quiet with Oscillating Base - 3 Kilowatt (Kitchen & Home)
i bought this to use in the bedroom as it says it was silent.
This is as noisy as any fan heater i have ever heard, even on silent setting.
it looks good and does the job but do not buy if you want a quiet heater. i returned this as there is no way i could sleep with this on - its way too loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't,t work so I sent it back, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De'Longhi HVF-3533B, Vertical Upright Fan Heater Quiet with Oscillating Base - 3 Kilowatt (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this as a standby heater just in case for winter. When tested it it gave off very little heat so we sent it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars de longhi heater, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De'Longhi HVF-3533B, Vertical Upright Fan Heater Quiet with Oscillating Base - 3 Kilowatt (Kitchen & Home)
it is not quiet as you are lead to believed also heat from a 3kw unit is not what I expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so quiet fan, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De'Longhi HVF-3533B, Vertical Upright Fan Heater Quiet with Oscillating Base - 3 Kilowatt (Kitchen & Home)
Fine for warming, but it aint quiet! Other words in this review are simply to achieve the required minimum, right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Noisiest fan heater in our house, 27 Dec 2011
By 
oliver (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: De'Longhi HVF-3533B, Vertical Upright Fan Heater Quiet with Oscillating Base - 3 Kilowatt (Kitchen & Home)
We've got 3 other fan heaters in the the house, one of which is an upright model similar to this.
This is the noisiest heater of the lot and had an additional slight intermittent metallic rattle too.
There's a full power fan setting and a whisper setting, the whisper setting is still louder than our other heaters and I'm guessing it's not running at the full 3kw then either.

It could be improved by
a) being quieter
b) having a place to coil the cable and stow the plug nicely on the back.

I've returned the item.
Actually, I've boxed the item for return and it is sitting in the porch after the carrier failed to appear twice and did not answer my mail.

Do not buy.
The horizontal cylindrical type fans appear to be quieter, they're the type in car heaters. I think it's mostly because the tip speed could be lower. I'll be looking for a nice one of those as soon as I get a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, flimsy and badly designed machine, 22 Jun 2014
This review is from: De'Longhi HVF-3533B, Vertical Upright Fan Heater Quiet with Oscillating Base - 3 Kilowatt (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this fan heater because I thought I could trust DeLonghi to provide me with a reasonable quality built machine. After all, they've been around for some time.
The machine professes to be quiet, but at night it will disturb you and keep you awake.
For some reason DeLonghi have made the most stupidest carrying handle at the back so if you need to move it you need to use two hands. If you don't use two hands it will eventually slip and when it does it will land on its base. The base will then break and you'll have two sections of a heater joined by wires. I'm sure that's been done deliberately.
Anyway, as with any machine over 2 kilowatts in power (and this one is 3 kW) the plug will get so hot that it WILL fuse itself and burn your plastic wall socket after a few hours of constant use. If you use an extension lead, even faster so be careful. How it passed the British standards Kite-mark is beyond comprehension.
If you plan to use the heater with no more than the 2kW function and leave it stationary then that's fine, but for a portable machine it only deserves a review score maximum of 2.
This machine lasted 3 months in winter 2013/14 before both of the above incidents happened. I think I'll look for something else for 2014/15 and avoid buying another DeLonghi machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews