Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album!!
Armin has really done a good hard work in the studio with fantastic people around him!!
I Love his style him Tiesto and Ferry Corsten are the BEST in the Buisness!!
Frankie Wild, vejle dk
Published on 1 Oct. 2010 by frank nielsen

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent enough effort
After topping the DJ Mag's Top 100 DJs in 2007, it seems that Armin van Buuren has gone on to achieve the international superstardom enjoyed by the likes of Tiesto and David Guetta, not to mention claim 2 more DJ Mag titles. The last few years has also seen his music take a more commercial route, as was evident on his last album 'Imagine', and with names such as Sophie...
Published on 12 Sept. 2010 by DJ Auzra


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent enough effort, 12 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Mirage (Audio CD)
After topping the DJ Mag's Top 100 DJs in 2007, it seems that Armin van Buuren has gone on to achieve the international superstardom enjoyed by the likes of Tiesto and David Guetta, not to mention claim 2 more DJ Mag titles. The last few years has also seen his music take a more commercial route, as was evident on his last album 'Imagine', and with names such as Sophie Ellis-Bextor and Adam Young of Owl City fame making vocal contributions, it may not look good to the old school Armin fans.

The album does start off positively, however, with 'Desiderium 207'. Haunting wordless vocals from Susana draped over dreamy synths makes for a spine-tingling intro, which flows nicely into the title track: an epic trancer which feels like everything and the kitchen sink has been thrown at it. With orchestral pieces and a crunchy guitar riff, it's not dissimilar to the title of Armins previous effore 'Imagine', and equally as powerful.

From here it's mainly business as usual. The vocal-heavy tracks such as 'This Light Between Us', 'Not Giving Up On Love' and 'Feels So Good' you probably won't hear on any self-respecting trance DJ's set, nonetheless there are no filler-sounding tunes on here and there is enough variation to keep you interested. The album also has a feeling of 'flow'; not like they are just a bunch of B-Sides thrown randomly together. The big positives on here come in the form of the progressive 'I Don't Own You' and the hard hitting 'Orbiton', full on trance tracks that will no doubt rip up a few dancefloors and remind you
that it is indeed the same artist who gave us 'Communication' etc.

So it may not be an absolute return to form, but it was never likely to be. 'Mirage' is indeed very commercial sounding. However, after the dreadful 'Kaleidoscope' from the Legend that is (was) Tiesto, it's nice to see van Buuren hasn't completely sold out. There are enough solid trance tracks on here to keep most of the Armin faithful happy, and it's varied enough to be an acceptable commercial dance album, a happy medium which I suspect may have been the aim of the album in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, 28 Sept. 2010
By 
Alan "carrd2" (Stafford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mirage (Audio CD)
Armin van Buuren = trance music. His 'A State of Trance' albums and radio show prove this, and the afore mentioned albums and his DJ sets are usually sublime. He is the best mixer of trance music (and probably most other forms of music as well) than anyone else out there at the moment. Which is why it's a shame that, in my opinion, this album isn't very good.
I've heard comparisons between this album and the horrific Kaleidoscope by Tiesto, the latter being exceptionally commercial. Most people have said that Mirage is not as commercial and they are right. There are some tracks which are not commercial at all, usually the ones with no vocals in them, and it's good to see that AvB has kept in some more traditional trance sounds within this album.
Nevertheless, there are plenty of tracks which are very vocal-dominated, which is fine if the musical talents of the artist are not lost in the process, but in most of these songs, I feel that the ability of AvB's music creating quality isn't shown in full. He has created a couple of stunners in the past, such as Shivers and Burned with Desire, which have soothing and gorgeous vocals that complement the euphoric trance music, rather than destroy it. He appears on many tracks to have let the vocals dictate the song, rather than compliment it.
In addition, the tracks on this album that are not vocal-dominated don't seem to express AvB's full talents either. No, they're not commercial, and yes they are trance - but they are still disappointing, and just seem to be in there to satisfy people like me who wanted to avoid a totally commercialised album. AvB can create better music than this, and he certainly has an ear for stunning tracks, as his State of Trance albums have proved on numerous occasions.
Yes, AvB is at his best when mixing, but Shivers was a better album than this. The talent, the professionalism and the sheer quality that this guy possesses in a musical sense is not in question, and long may his compilations continue. But Mirage, in my opinion, is somewhere deep in the huge shadow of Armin's ability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album!!, 1 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirage (Audio CD)
Armin has really done a good hard work in the studio with fantastic people around him!!
I Love his style him Tiesto and Ferry Corsten are the BEST in the Buisness!!
Frankie Wild, vejle dk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirage (Audio CD)
Fantastic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok Overall, 15 May 2013
By 
Will (St Albans, Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mirage (Audio CD)
Best Tracks:
Coming Home, I Don't Own You, These Silent Hearts, Virtual Friend

Wost Tracks:
Drowning, This Light Between Us, Feels So Good, mainly due to the annoying and lackluster vocals

In Summary:
Some of the vocal tracks should have been left out, and maybe more of a production focus on producing quality instrumentals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirage (MP3 Download)
Not bad but much better from Armin out there, I would stick to A State of Trance series to get the best productions from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent, but could've been better..., 3 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Mirage (Audio CD)
Pretty much the same comments as the previous reviews. It has a very 'pop' feel about it, indeed some of the songs do feel very cheesy and overdone, as if they were for some 7 year old who was new to the genre.

But there were some really nice songs too that I thought made up for it somewhat. 'Not giving up on love' with Sophie Ellis Baxtor was on the 1st listen didn't seem particularly good, but then it just clicked. Never heard her voice like that before, fantastic song even if it was 'too poppy'.

'Take me where I wanna go', worked out as a nice and simple tune. 'Take a moment' was decent too. 'Virtual friend' was probably my favourite after the sophie ellis one.

Having said all that, the rest of the songs were very ordinary. I have to admit, I was really looking forward to this one. Can't help but feel a little disappointed, 'Imagine' and '76' were both superior to this one. Still a good buy though considering that there isn't a great deal of good music out there these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Armin at his best, 10 Nov. 2010
By 
This review is from: Mirage (Audio CD)
If you like Armin then this is him at his best not quite like seeing him live but close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 9 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirage (Audio CD)
this is fantastic,trance music with some brilliant singing over the top. some well known artists on here too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hes back!!!, 4 Nov. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirage (Audio CD)
Being a fan of Armin van buuren i was thrilled to hear the news of the releasing a new studio album.

Saw some great names in the form of Adam Young of Owl City and Sophie Ellis Bextor, i was excited and wishing for the melodic dreamy trance we all love so much from Armin.

i got just want i was hopping. stunning synths garnished with amazing beats al in all a stunning album and i honestly think this is his best album to date

the title track "Mirage" along side the fantastic track "Not Giving Up On Love" with Bextor win my hart in my love of trance and say these to were my fave on the album. stunning album a must buy for all trance fans and real muzik lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mirage
Mirage by Armin Van Buuren (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews