Customer Reviews


588 Reviews
5 star:
 (492)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


206 of 224 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sumptuous drama!
ITV have excelled themselves with such a lavish drama and stellar cast. Dame Maggie Smith delivers her lines with such character and timing, she simply has you in fits of laughter. You come to expect the BBC to produce the goods when it comes to period drama, but ITV have shown they are more than capable and each episode of Downton leaves you wanting more. I truly hope...
Published on 31 Oct 2010 by Kirsty

versus
56 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Revised Scenes DVD/TV
Having just got round to watching this DVD, I seem to remember the original TV transmission of episode three had a much more dramatic scene when Kemal rebukes advances made by Thomas. The DVD version seems to have edited this scene, which affects the impact of the whole story line. Maybe this was done to allow a lower age limit for DVD sales. If this is the case I would...
Published on 15 July 2011 by TV Heaven


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

206 of 224 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sumptuous drama!, 31 Oct 2010
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
ITV have excelled themselves with such a lavish drama and stellar cast. Dame Maggie Smith delivers her lines with such character and timing, she simply has you in fits of laughter. You come to expect the BBC to produce the goods when it comes to period drama, but ITV have shown they are more than capable and each episode of Downton leaves you wanting more. I truly hope BAFTA recognise the drama as it deserves to win plenty of awards. Anyone who hasn't seen it yet should make every effort to asap as they won't be disappointed - I can't wait for the second series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QUALITY FARE, 14 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Two telegrams, both with devastating news: the loss of the Titanic; the outbreak of war. In between, over six hours of viewing that exhilarates.

Downton Abbey is the star, virtually a character in its own right. It contains two communities, each reliant on the other. Already the new century is beginning to threaten what both hold most dear.

Upstairs and down, everything rings true - a bygone age lovingly recreated. This is Julian Fellowes' brainchild, he deserving most credit, but praise goes to all who converged to create something extra special.

Dame Maggie Smith dominates but does not eclipse. Hugh Bonneville impresses as the enlightened Earl. Below stairs, Jim Carter is awesomely aloof butler Carson (with a secret that stuns), Brendan Coyle moving as the new valet with a limp and a troubled past. Lady's maid O'Brien and footman Thomas are enjoyably horrible, the one regret in the series that nice footman William did not give Thomas a far heftier thump.

Throughout there are lines to savour, especially from the Dowager Duchess. About the recently drowned heir: "He was too much like his mother and a nastier woman never drew breath." Recoiling from newly installed electric lights: "I feel I am on stage at the Gaiety." Disconcerted by a swivel chair but declining a replacement: "No, no - I am a good sailor."

Here is a production so full of fine things, one can only applaud - delight increased by news there will be a second season.

(Bonuses include two commentaries and behind the scenes features. Thank you to whoever removed those irritating pre-credits trailers. If only this could be done for all similarly afflicted television series when transferred to DVD!)

Wholeheartedly recommended, but by now you will have gathered that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A newly created Masterpiece., 14 Mar 2011
By 
J. Lesley "(Judy)" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
When I first began watching this series on Masterpiece on PBS in the United States I kept thinking it was very familiar. Then it dawned on me - Gosford Park, it is just like Gosford Park. Well, that would be because they were both the brainchild of Julian Fellows and so are very similar because they cover approximately the same time period and the same English country house type settings. Just think Gosford Park meets Upstairs, Downstairs.

This set is divided into seven episodes, each approximately 45 minutes in length. The time period covered is between 1912 and 1914 with the first series ending just as war with Germany has been announced. And, yes, there is a second season which will begin filming in early Spring 2011.

The story covers the lives of the family members of the Earl of Grantham and the servants who work on the estate, Downton Abbey. We are treated to the visual feasts of a sumptuous home in the country along with splendid costuming which includes very good hair styles for the period. There are quite a few situations which are not strictly true to the time period but basically this series is loaded so much toward personal enjoyment that I was quite willing to overlook any particular error that was so obvious that even I caught it. My husband and I both simply sat back and enjoyed the stories taking place in the fabulous setting with this cast of characters we have already come to care about. I'm ready to pre-order my set for the second season right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


125 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Drama!, 8 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Normally the BBC are the ones for drama but ITV have proved themselves more than capable!!!! Julian Fellowes has done a fantastic job portraying an aristocratic family in the early twentieth century. The plots are well balanced and intriguing, and he makes sure to include the below-stairs as well as the up-stairs supported by a brilliant cast, including the legendary, Dame Maggie Smith. In conclusion, this drama is the creme de la creme and definitely deserves a second series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To keep in my favourites file for repeated playing!, 29 Jan 2011
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Having wstched Downton Abbey devotedly on TV, and loved every episode, I just had to have a permanent copy to keep, and also purchased a second to send to my daughter who lives abroad which was greatly appreciated and enjoyed.

I think Downton is unique and cannot be compared with any of the earlier series of this kind - the characters are so believable. I think that the casting director should be greatly praised for an exceptional job, not forgetting the superb Julian Fellowes who wrote this memorable tale which covers the period from the sinking of the Titanic in 1912 to the outbreak of the First World War in 1914, with some brief reference to the Boer War at the turn of the century..a veritable brief history lesson. I just hope that the author does as equally an admirable job with the sequel, which I, for one, await with impatience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Revised Scenes DVD/TV, 15 July 2011
Having just got round to watching this DVD, I seem to remember the original TV transmission of episode three had a much more dramatic scene when Kemal rebukes advances made by Thomas. The DVD version seems to have edited this scene, which affects the impact of the whole story line. Maybe this was done to allow a lower age limit for DVD sales. If this is the case I would like to have known there were revised or edited scenes before making purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downton Abbey, 12 April 2011
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
With usual Amazon efficiency I received this DVD the day after ordering it!
The series is a real delight to watch...great story, brilliant acting and wonderful sets and costumes. There will have to be a second series.......so much more to happen at Downton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 14 Feb 2011
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Just when you thought it couldn' get better, it did! Worth every penny....it's a keeper!
Incredible script, and the casting and setting are beyond words. Caused me to do some homework on the castle itself. It's British drama at it's best...five stars!
This one will go to "the home" with me when the time comes.
fls
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars period drama at its best, 11 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Worth watching again just for its costumes and setting, this is a thoroughly compelling story. Strong characters involve the emotions and their personal lives play out against a period of history fraught with drama and relevance. Real quality. Can't wait for the next series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downtonastic!, 16 Jan 2011
This review is from: Downton Abbey - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This period drama is one of the best - if not the best - I've ever seen. Each episode is a pure moment of delight. I can't wait for the 2nd season to be released. The cast is awesome and Maggie Smith is just BRILLIANT. A must-see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Downton Abbey - Series 1 [DVD]
Downton Abbey - Series 1 [DVD] by Hugh Bonneville (DVD - 2010)
£7.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews