Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melodic Insight Into Indian Culture
I first heard Ravi Shankar playing the sitar, the traditional Indian guitar, in Singapore in 1967, when the multiracial audience, many of whom had never heard Indian music before, gave him a standing ovation for the haunting lyricism of his melodies, and the wit with which he and his tabla player (drummer) invented complicated rhythms and challenged each other to copy...
Published on 19 July 2011 by M. Counsell

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An experience
I had heard a track from the cd and thought I would give it a try. I am not disappointed
Published 16 months ago by R. H. Bradley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melodic Insight Into Indian Culture, 19 July 2011
By 
M. Counsell (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first heard Ravi Shankar playing the sitar, the traditional Indian guitar, in Singapore in 1967, when the multiracial audience, many of whom had never heard Indian music before, gave him a standing ovation for the haunting lyricism of his melodies, and the wit with which he and his tabla player (drummer) invented complicated rhythms and challenged each other to copy then. His influence on the Beatles is famous. I heard him play again this year (2011) when he is just as inventive and musically agile despite being 90 years old. This CD is a good introduction to his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Feb 2012
By 
readerman (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
This is a really great selection of Ravi Shankar's (and friends) music.Well worth buying and playing over and over.Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A masterful exposition of sitar music, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Soul- stirring music leading to tranquility and serenity. Very good background to meditation. Rooted in Indian classical tradition. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present for Christmas, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An outstanding CD which as the Title says is the very best of Ravi Shankar. If you enjoy this type of music then this is a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Ravi Shankar (MP3 Download)
A very different and gentle to the soul music.It is also relaxing and spiritual.Nice blend of traditional indian instruments and classical ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A special man, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was very fortunate to spend an evening with this great person in a private home. Normally man makes music, but in this case it is the music who have made the man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ravi Shankar, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brought this for my husband he loves the cd but it wasn't in cellophane and when he put it on it went straight to no 3 , hoping it wasn't second hand as it was brought as new !!
I would recommend the cd but check it is new !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Namaste Raviji, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This man was instructed by Angels - he is the Senior member of a very talented family
thank you Raviji
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ravi Shankar is such a brilliant artist and musician and this cd does illustrate his excellence and skill. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The brilliant Ravi Shankar, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have left out one star-which represents my own inadequacy to fully appreciate (what to me) is a completely new form of music. I need to play it a few more times to appreciate the full genius of the master. Not to mention his wonderful associates. The 5th star is therefore a formality waiting for the music to shine in my brain receptor areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews