Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artistic, experimental, melodic and beautifully raw.....
As a huge fan of electro, with a particular fondness for early Human League, I couldn’t help but get just a little excited on learning that an album of previously unreleased demo tracks was now available. My heart beating at double time, I placed my order that same day; I wasn’t disappointed!! Artistic, experimental, melodic and beautifully raw, this album...
Published on 30 Mar 2003 by Sketch

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars antique electronic's issued at last.
if you simply want to get hold of a very early human league cd then this is it.
the music is very basic to say the least!
but if you want to hear the sound of primitive electronics then this is an cd to buy.
interesting from a musical point of view to electro buffs,
but not for the mainstream buyer...when will we see a live human league album?
Published on 7 May 2003 by heinzy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artistic, experimental, melodic and beautifully raw....., 30 Mar 2003
By 
Sketch (Leicester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
As a huge fan of electro, with a particular fondness for early Human League, I couldn’t help but get just a little excited on learning that an album of previously unreleased demo tracks was now available. My heart beating at double time, I placed my order that same day; I wasn’t disappointed!! Artistic, experimental, melodic and beautifully raw, this album takes us back to a time when electronic music was in its infancy, yet it sounds as spectacular now as when it first poured out of their analogue synths. From the humour of “Daz” the wonder of “Interface” to the bone chilling “Looking For The Black Haired Girls” this album relives a voyage of discovery that would change music forever.
If your only perception of the Human League is of a guy and two girls singing about waitresses in cocktail bars, "don’t" buy this album. However if, like me, you tingle with excitement at the sound of a pile of hardware and circuitry doing what it does best, this album is an absolute must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden hour of the future, 13 Jan 2003
A superb journey of electronic music, a must for a appreciators of early Human League. If you like the Human League albums Reproduction and Travelogue then you are in for a magnificient treat. Golden hour of the Future features a blend of different tunes, some are humourous, some are dark, and of all them are great pioneering pieces of early electronic music pushing out the technological boundaries of the day. There a wealth of worthy tracks on this CD and a particularly nice 10 minute long ambient tune to conclude with. The sleeve is not only a great take off of the Being Boiled single sleeve but inside contains a wealth of information on the early days of The Human League.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electronically Yours!, 24 Oct 2002
By A Customer
For lovers of the early work of the Human League (pre Dare) this album is an absolute must. All 20 tracks are previously unreleased and chart the development of the band from the very early days when the group was known as The Future through to Phil Oakey joining and becoming The Human League. The tracks themselves vary in quality due to the original source material, in fact some tracks were provided by fans as the original master tapes are lost! This doesn't detract from the songs at all which are high electronica/keyboard based - some are more experiments in electronic sound rather than conventional songs. The packaging is very inovative too - based on the original packaging for the Human League's Being Boiled single.
If you enjoy Reproduction and Travelogue you'll find The Golden Hour of The Future complements both. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're The Human League and we're much cleverer than you!, 7 Jan 2003
In 1981, Heaven 17 (ex-League members Ian Craig Marsh & Martyn Ware along with Glenn Gregory) released ‘Penthouse & Pavement’. There, buried in the corner of the inner sleeve of the record was an advert – ‘The Future Tapes’ and a claim that the release was imminent…
What, why and where The Future Tapes were has for the last 21 years become myth and folklore amongst many Human League aficionados. A Holy Grail only hinted at by bad bootlegs and the very limited Music for Stowaways cassette.
It was worth the wait. This is primal 70s radical analogue electronics sprinkled throughout with avant-garde adventure (Blank Clocks) and lots of humour (Dance Like A Star, Circus Of Dr. Lao). Inspired more by Dark Star than Dada, Funkadelic than Faust, what you have here is some of the most brilliant tracks ever recorded, rarely heard by a group of (non) musicians that changed the course of pop music (Dare) than the Sex Pistols ever could.
If you buy this, and you really like it (You will!) Check out Cabaret Voltaire’s ‘The Original Sound of Sheffield ‘78-‘82’ as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better late than never !!!, 15 Feb 2003
By 
Mr. A. R. Banyer "Tony Banyer" (Gt. Yarmouth , UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is difficult to express in a few words the pleasure of finding the musical equivalent of a "Guttenberg Bible". Not for its value financially , but because of its content.
Way back in my teens (1977 )I discovered a band called Human League , through their newly released "Electronically Yours" single (Being boiled / Circus of Death).I will never forget the day as it was the same day I was lucky enough to see "The Rocky Horror Show " , on stage in London.
To this day it is hard to have a better day than that !!!!!
Being one of the lucky few to own a copy of "the Future Tapes" , I was well prepared for what to expect , but more than overjoyed at what I found. An enormous insight into the hitory of a band that changed the face of modern music.
Phil (funny-wig) Oakey , is on fine form , dead pan as ever , but with most of the album being early elecrtonic experimentation and instrumental.(much like "The Bridge" by Thomas Leer and Robert Rental)
Far less polished than later releases by the Human League and Heaven 17 / B.E.F (Dignity of Labour , Music For Stowaways etc.). But no less enjoyable.
Having said this , don't buy this album expecting anything vaguely like DARE / Penthouse and Pavement , or even Reproduction , and Travelogue as you are in for a big dissapointment .This album is VERY retrospective and far from mainstream.
But a must for the ealier Human league fan. !!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time too, 17 Jan 2011
Ever since I bought Penthouse and Pavement in 1981 and saw 'The Future Tapes' as a pending release on the inner sleeve notes this album has always been the one that got away. Indeed, even though released in 2002 I have only just discovered that it now exists.
But it was well worth the 29 years of waiting. Of all the names that have been bandied about as being 'seminal' in the world of electro/synth pop (call it what you will) the Human League have always been criminally underrated, undoubtabley due to the perceived uncoolness of Dare (which if you listen to without all the 'new romantic' associations remains a fine fine album).
If you are truly interested in the birth of British electronic music you have to own this album. As has been stated in other reviews it is both funny, stark, scary! and uplifting. You can sense that this could only have been produced in an industrial landscape and there are many parallels with Cabaret Voltaire (who of course are a much safer bet to quote if asked about pioneering electronic music - no dancing girls here!) around this time period.
If you want to know where it all started this is the place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars antique electronic's issued at last., 7 May 2003
if you simply want to get hold of a very early human league cd then this is it.
the music is very basic to say the least!
but if you want to hear the sound of primitive electronics then this is an cd to buy.
interesting from a musical point of view to electro buffs,
but not for the mainstream buyer...when will we see a live human league album?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Golden Hour Of The Future (Remastered Edition)
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews