Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Naz
Very good album from Nazareth and note this edition is remastered and gives excellent sound quality.While the album is not as heavy as Hair Of The Dog or No Mean City there are plenty of strong songs on the album to get into.Feel this was Nazareths anti nuclear contribution,listen to the words on Pop The Silo and you will see what I mean.Great songs also include Morning...
Published on 17 Oct 2008 by AJ

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You would be a fool not give it a listen.
The Fool Circle was the follow up album to the slightly A.O.R experimental Malice In Wonderland recording and it continues in a the same theme albeit in a slightly lesser extent.
Just like Malice In Wonderland, this album opens up with a track (Dressed To Kill) that is not a true full blooded rocker, but it's catchy lyrics and memorable tune made it a big...
Published on 30 Jan 2006 by Paul


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Naz, 17 Oct 2008
By 
AJ "Alan" (Joburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fool Circle (Audio CD)
Very good album from Nazareth and note this edition is remastered and gives excellent sound quality.While the album is not as heavy as Hair Of The Dog or No Mean City there are plenty of strong songs on the album to get into.Feel this was Nazareths anti nuclear contribution,listen to the words on Pop The Silo and you will see what I mean.Great songs also include Morning Dew you get German version as well as one of the bonus tracks and the terrific Victoria a real rocking number that will have you cranking up the volume and practicing your air guitar.This album seems to be overlooked by a lot of fans as not being a typical Naz rocker but as said there are plenty of strong songs here for you to crank up and enjoy.
If you want heavy Naz albums you need to get Hair Of The Dog remastered and No Mean City remastered with Glagow born guitarist Zal Clemminson joining for the afore mentioned album,he also played on Malice In Wonderland not bad album but no where near the power of the other two albums.see my review on Hair Of The Dog.
Hope review is of help,please check out my other reviews you might find something of interest.Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More mainstream but magic!, 30 Jun 2012
By 
Francis R. Brennan "brennans37" (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fool Circle (Audio CD)
As with Uriah Heap, I prefer Nazareth's lighter side since Dan McCafferty has a really sweet voice in the lower register. This album has much less of the screaming you get on No Mean City or Hair of the Dog and more melodic tunes. One of my favourite Naz albums. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You would be a fool not give it a listen., 30 Jan 2006
By 
Paul "pikie1977" (Hull, East Yorkshire. England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fool Circle (Audio CD)
The Fool Circle was the follow up album to the slightly A.O.R experimental Malice In Wonderland recording and it continues in a the same theme albeit in a slightly lesser extent.
Just like Malice In Wonderland, this album opens up with a track (Dressed To Kill) that is not a true full blooded rocker, but it's catchy lyrics and memorable tune made it a big favourite with the fans and a feature in the live shows even to this day. What makes this album a little better than Malice In Wonderland is that the songs are still seemingly aimed at our American cousins, but they have also retained much more of Nazareth's classic sound. Another Year, Pop The Silo and We Are The People are as melodic as you would expect from an American group, but they have also retained a rawness to them which compliments the tracks surprisingly well. Let Me Be Your Leader, We Are The People and Little Part Of You are catchy fast paced numbers that will have you mincing up and down your livingroom floor. Two very nice surprises on this album has to be the Darrell Sweet composed tracks Every Young Man's Dream and Victoria; simple, singable and great fun, you would wonder why the late, great Darrell didn't do more solo writing and usually kept his writing credits to group writing. The big stand out track on Fool Circle Has to be the cover of J.J Cale's Cocaine. only ever heard in it's live version, Nazareth show that they are one of the very few groups that can take any song from any genre and turn it into a true Nazareth classic.
This album is better than Malice In Wonderland but when i reviewed that album i gave it the same three stars. That is because The Fool Circle still has the feeling of Nazareth doing something they are very good at, but not quite suited to. I would have given this album a 3 1/2 if i could, but never mind, all you really need to know is that this album is Nazareth on the road to perfecting the A.O.R sound that they displayed in Sound Elixr, but still retaining enough of the Nazareth sound that makes them one of the longest running and best loved bands in the world - and long may they continue to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fool Circle (Audio CD)
Hu I love this album. Lively songs cheer up. The sound is unmatched. For me - this is one of the most successful albums of that group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars fools gold, 18 Oct 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fool Circle (Audio CD)
Essentially a companion album to 1980's MALICE IN WONDERLAND,once again produced by Jeff Baxter,it pretty much follows the blueprint for the previous release.

Opening with another rocker 'Dressed To Kill',once again think early 80's Quo,superb little opener which along with 'Pop The Silo' & 'Victoria' are the most rockin this disc gets,three fantastic tracks which alongside the superb ballad 'Moonlight Eyes' are the best this album has to offer

The remainder could be classed as bland,inoffensive pop with only the bouncing bass led 'Let Me Be Your Leader/We Are The People' having any redeeeming qualities

This Remastered edition comes with 6 bonus tracks,the forgetable 'Morgantau' and outstanding 'Crazy' while the remaining 4 tracks make up the live ep from 1980 ,the sound quality surprisingly not as good as the live tracks from the same source found on Malice In Wonderland,so a rather mixed bag.

An ok disc but not one you will revist on a regular basis,the big surprise being why Victoria never became a regular feature in the live set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars naz. pulls back a bit., 3 Dec 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fool Circle (Audio CD)
Their previous release 'malice in wonderland' is a true classic rock cd. This one however seemed lacking punch in many ways. It's a average naz release and coming after 8 great ones it's easy to see some steam go out of the group. Their next one 2xs is a much better release even if it's more new wavy. I like this one and I actually own 2 different copies of this on cd. (for the bonus tracks which are different) but it's a very average release from this great band. I have all of this bands releases and that's alot. In fact their new one 'big dogz' is outstanding! this one is not bad, I liked alot of their 80's output actually but it's just lacking in great songs, the songs here though are good , better than some hard rock bands releases for sure. I just wouldn't rate it any higher than 'no jive' probably. Completists like me have it but hard rock fans may want to get this one after you get their 72-80 output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fool Circle
The Fool Circle by Nazareth
Buy MP3 Album4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews