Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic
I first bought this about 15 years ago on cassette and loved it then even though the sound was ropey and it was heavily edited. When this 30th anniversary edition came out remastered and in the impressive presentation package I had to get it........it was like listening to it for the fist time. This really is a piece of history, ok the sound isn't perfect (a lot better...
Published on 27 Mar 2003 by Fan

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars De-mastered
Dreadful re-mastering removes all the live 70s vibe so it sounds like the guitar has been overdubbed in the studio! Compare the start of moonage daydream in this remaster to this original, the actual tone has changed,it sounds like a different gig. From round about the scary monsters period in all honesty. There still seem to be 2nd hand copies of the original cd flying...
Published on 15 Jan 2008 by S. O'ROURKE


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 27 Mar 2003
By 
Fan (WATFORD, HERTS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I first bought this about 15 years ago on cassette and loved it then even though the sound was ropey and it was heavily edited. When this 30th anniversary edition came out remastered and in the impressive presentation package I had to get it........it was like listening to it for the fist time. This really is a piece of history, ok the sound isn't perfect (a lot better than before) but the atmosphere really comes through. My favourite is the medley of Wildeyed boy from Freecloud/All the Young Dudes/Oh! You Pretty Things, My Death (brilliant for the final concert and where Bowie tells the audience to shut up!), and Width of a Circle. Mick Ronson will have all air guitar freaks jumping around their living room throw in Mike Garson on piano and this concert is about as good as it gets! Loved the red CD's and packaging........a must for all fans!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better mix!, 16 Jun 2013
By 
M. R. Moor "Marco" (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have both releases, the early 80'ties (vinyl) and this one..
If you are looking for the real early 70'ties sound, skip this 30th anniversary version..
I like both, if you just want a better quality sound, take this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If only every release contained this much effort..., 24 Mar 2003
By 
Alex Moseley (Leicester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
A phenomenal item which stands apart from the DVD released in tandem as a must-have package in its own right.
First impressions hark back to the days of opening that treasured new gatefold and finding goodies spilling out with the LP sleeve: within the evocative box are a poster containing press clippings, a reproduction ticket stub (how many people will sit at B17 I wonder?), a booklet and the two CDs - themselves in neon red to match the overriding chroma of the movie footage.
But enough of the ephemera. The remix has brought the concert back to life in dramatic style: the drums are loud, the guitars sqeal, Bowie and the crowd are in fine voice. Regardless of the status of this gig as the famous 'Last One', as presented here this concert stands out as one of the all-time great recorded events.
If you like Bowie, if you want a slice of the 1970s at the Hammersmith Odeon, if you want to avoid searching online auctions for this gem in future years, get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie is a living legend, 6 April 2010
By 
Mark Flynn (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Being a Bowie fan since the seventies. This album is a must. Although "roughly" recorded, it has been cleaned up very well, good enough to close your eyes and go back in time. No collection is complete without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ziggy Stardust Live, 5 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ziggy Stardust & the Spiders From Mars (The Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
what can i say as a 100% bowie fan, this is a must have sound track, fantastic live album, close your eyes and you are there, I wish, you feel the music with this exellent sound track, i must buy for all bowie fans out there, exellent would recommend to a freind, and take a look at the DVD too, mind blowing, if you have not got the DVD, Oh boy, get it, david bowie at his best, exellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bowie's definitive live album?, 30 Mar 2003
David Bowie's live albums have always been quite controversial and I don't believe he has produced a 'definitive' one in the sense of the Stones 'Get You Ya Ya's Out' or The Who's 'Live At Leeds' are for those two bands. Indeed it would appear 'David Live' and 'Stage' are both presently delated, although doubtless they will be made available again at some point - maybe when their own annniversaries come round? The other Ziggy era live album, Santa Monica, also seems to be unavailable. So this soundtrack of the last Ziggy concert is the only official Bowie live album currently available, unless you count the 2000 BBC concert which was issued with some editions of the BBC sessions.
Many fans have their own favourites but personally I still think the Ziggy era was far and away Bowie's best, so I was looking forward to hearing this album for the first time.
I had read previous reports that the sound quality was somewhat dubious in places and that the earlier Santa Monica performance sounded better as it was recorded from a radio broadcast. However, I need not have feared as for the most part the sound on this new version is excellent. The only track I thought suffered in any way was the opening 'Hang On To Yourself.'
I haven't heard the Santa Monica album so can't compare the two, but the track listings are quite different as this concert contains some 'Aladdin Sane' tracks which was Bowie's latest release at the time, and an album I always feel is cruelly underated in the Bowie canon.
The only tracks featured which I don't have either studio or BBC versions of are an excellent version of Jacques Brel's 'My Death' when Bowie finally gets the audience to shut up, and a snatch of Bowie's own, never released as a studio version, 'All the Young Dudes'. This is done as part of a medley and I must say I would have preferred the full version.
My only real gripes with this album are that it is a quite short for a double and that we don't get the full concert, as the encores of 'Jean Genie' and a couple of other songs are missing. These featured Jeff Beck and presumably aren't included because of contractual difficulties. Also we get the full 14 minutes plus version of 'Width Of A Circle' which in previous releases was edited by about five minutes and one can understand why.
However, all in all this is a fine memento of one of the legendary concerts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ZIGGY STARDUST AND THE SPIDERS FROM MARS, 15 July 2010
By 
K. Ford (NW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the Motion Picture Soundtrack 30th anniversary special edition and comes with all sorts of extra goodies in the cd case.

The album itself is really superb ... even if you're not a die-hard Bowie fan you can't help but appreciate it, and if you are, well ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Drop the beats., 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ziggy Stardust & the Spiders From Mars (The Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
This is a great live album and the mastering if just fantastic as you can hear Mick Ronson's guitar in all its glory. Compared to the vinyl version, it is also longer and has extra tracks (like the full solo of Width of a Circle), despite a couple of them just being introductions at the start of each CD.

If you like Ziggy Stardust, then you'll love this as it sounds incredible! I can't wait until Jean Jeanie/Love Me Do and Round & Round with Jeff Beck are released, (STILL cut from this album), but it doesn't look like it will be any time soon so this will just have to do for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any Bowie fan, 29 May 2013
By 
S. Baker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This and Hunky Dory are Bowie's masterpieces, genius. Rock 'n' roll suicide is a cherry on top of a heavily iced and fruitful cake and My Death is hauntingly beautiful! I have it on vinyl but it's a must buy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars david bowie 1973 live, 28 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ziggy Stardust & the Spiders From Mars (The Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
well got the new remaster of bowie at hammersmith odeon 1973. its far better that the last awfull mix, you can hear mick ronsons guitar. the set still does NOT include the jean genie/love me do with jeff beck, ands its sad after all these years its still only available on bootleg. other than that its a real piece of history, ziggys last stand. hunt out the bootleg for the complete concert as this version is still incomplete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews