Customer Reviews


171 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best pop-science books out there...
Others have already sung this book's praises, so I won't go into too much detail.
The Code Book gives the entire history of cryptology, starting with very basic substitution cypers, working all the way up to today's electronic systems. It is not, though, a reference book - it's very entertaining to read and doesn't solely focus on the science of the codes - Singh...
Published on 12 Jan. 2005 by D. Penn

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad option for kindle
Do not buy it for kindle, I was really getting into the book but since it lacks most of the ilustrations I got really frustated, I dont think ill finish it, a real shame because it is is such an interesting book
Published on 28 Oct. 2010 by Lui


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Nice balance between history and science, 3 Sept. 2010
This book has a very adequate balance between science and scientific facts techniques and algorithms, and history and romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Code Book, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Code Book: The Secret History of Codes and Code-breaking (Kindle Edition)
A good book, easy to read and understand quite a complex subject. Not heavy at all, and really well written and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomesauce, 21 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Code Book: The Secret History of Codes and Code-breaking (Kindle Edition)
Lively and fascinating. A great introduction to the history and future of cryptography. Comes with fun puzzles at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book, 15 Jun. 2013
This book was an easy to read overview of cryptography that is not too complex. Very accessible introduction to the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read 1, 28 Dec. 2010
By 
Mr. I. Barton "IanB" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Code Book: The Secret History of Codes and Code-breaking (Kindle Edition)
good science _ and good history. enjoy the history and get as deep into the maths as you want to. Couldnt put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars riviting, 2 Feb. 2000
this book is not only a great intoduction to the topic but a good reference for those with prior knowledge. Never boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Dec. 2014
By 
D. Watson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Will help me in the cryptology challenge for my university, excellent book for backstory, comprehension and application
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Codes, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Informative and instructive, not too hard to read. Unfortunately uses a small typeface and poor-quality paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my son who is a Master of Mathematics, he had encountered it before in his studies, great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly concise panoramic view of the world of cryptography, 21 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
Beautifully written, full of wonderfully stimulating and illuminating examples. A sheer joy to read. Five stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews