Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh without needing to be.
It's hard to define the best thing about Grandma's House. I can understand how not everyone has love for it, but I guess 'haters gonna hate'. The scriptwriting is quick, yet not needing for silly puns or naff sitcom-style laughter tracks. Much like Curb Your Enthusiasm, The Office or The Thick of It, it works of awkward wit and communication between stereotype characters...
Published on 24 Aug 2010 by K Thomson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Grandma's House
A very dysfunctional family to say the least. Simon said on Graham Norton Show it is based on his actual family, from his informative years, and his mother loves him being in 'show business' and doesn't mind seeing a deconstruction of herself on telly.
Published 4 months ago by P. Stang


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh without needing to be., 24 Aug 2010
By 
K Thomson "K Thomson" (Brading, Isle Of Wight) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grandma's House - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
It's hard to define the best thing about Grandma's House. I can understand how not everyone has love for it, but I guess 'haters gonna hate'. The scriptwriting is quick, yet not needing for silly puns or naff sitcom-style laughter tracks. Much like Curb Your Enthusiasm, The Office or The Thick of It, it works of awkward wit and communication between stereotype characters. The character's would be nothing without some great performances (namely co-writer Amstell's, and the late Geoffrey Hutchings who gives a level-headed approach. In many ways he is the 'chorus' of the piece.) and the characters are created so well you could believe every second of it is written on Amstell's real life experiences.

To sum up, an excellent comedy-drama (where the drama is made easier to approach due to the comedy around it) and Amstell and Swimer should recieve many accolades for some of the best writing in recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain!, 20 Sep 2010
This review is from: Grandma's House - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Ive read some less than positive reviews about this and I really cannot understand why. Its fabulous - It is definately more subtle than alot of comedy/tv these days. Less frenetic, more thoughtful and in a lot of ways quite old fashioned but the script is excellent, sharp, almost much more like a piece of theatre than a modern sitcom.

Although it touches on older sitcoms in many ways - its stylings, location etc it is also slyly subversive. Simons Grandad passing him a book on good oral sex for men that he picked up from the library "because they were worried he wasnt happy" would not be in Terry and June. It does touch subtly on Jewish humour often, again subtly but brilliantly - It is not a replica of curb or the office or any of those sitcoms, it is very much its own beast. It improves with a second viewing and certainly rewards more with time. I think it will only go from strength to strength with such solid writing.

Its a brave move to go from making such bombastic television as popworld etc to something in a much quieter vein and in these days of "celebs" only being allowed to have one facet of there personality on show at any one time it was always going to upset people who just want to see mr Amstell call someone an idiot. And perhaps that is very much the point of this whole show.

Its excellent. Gets better as the series continues and stays with you in a way most more transient flash bang wallop comedies dont.
I wish all reinvention was as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous. We want more!, 19 Aug 2010
By 
John W. Edelman - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grandma's House - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best sitcom I've seen for ages. Really, really funny and really, cringeingly, like real life sometimes. All the characters are brilliantly played and scripted. Simon Amstell is a revelation as a very funny writer and actor and Rebecca Front is well on the way to becoming a national treasure. Watch it if you love to cry with laughter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny stuff., 16 Sep 2010
By 
pete "big blue pete" (edinburgh scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Grandma's House - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Simon Amstell is like Marmite you either love him or you don't. If you get his humour which is ultimately about him being ill at ease with celebrity egos then you will appreciate Grandma's house. Each episode takes place around a family visit to Grandma's House. Simon battles with his demons': not having a boyfriend, feeling guilty about slagging of popstars on Buzzcocks (although that it is Buzzcocks is only infered), hating his Mum's new boyfriend. His family brilliantly cast (Rebecca Fron, Linda Basset) and played, offer encouragment, warmth and criticism. They also bicker. The intimacy relies on you the viewer being in on the joke. None of it is really true Simon Amstell isn't really saying he is like this but it is very, very clever. Episode 5 where he invites his Dad round for a group therapy session to excorcise old resentments is especially funny. There is no laughter track and it does require getting beyond episode 1 to really 'get' what is going on. It's not Terry and June or The Royale Family or even The Kumars. I thought it was more like Roseanne at it's peak. I also loved how matter of fact everybody was about him trying to flirt with a potential boyfriend in the front room. I hope there is a second series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 23 Sep 2010
By 
John Davison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grandma's House - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The secret of enjoying Grandma's House is to let it wash over you. Every couple of minutes in the manic conversation someone, usually Liz, will come out with something that has you rolling on the floor.

And Granny - I love her to bits:

Liz: "Dad's got cancer."

Grandma: "Would anyone like a banana?"

The people who complain about Simon Amstell's acting are missing the point - he is a painful actor making a virtue out of being a painful actor.

This is great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really solid start to Amstell's sitcom-writing career., 12 Sep 2010
By 
D. Payne "coflowdave" (Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grandma's House - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
As a massive fan of Simon Amstell's hilariously biting, even borderline cruel (yet usually deserved) putdowns of various pop stars in his Buzzcocks career I was surprised to discover this to be such an understated, sensitive piece of work. The writing is not flawless (the odd joke falls flat or feels a little contrived) but the everyday tragedies and annoyances that beset family life have been superbly portrayed here and the acting is frankly brilliant throughout, the eponymous Grandma being a highlight with her endless attempts to diffuse tension by laying on food and drink, which no doubt struck a chord or two with many a viewer (certainly me).
Like all the best sitcoms it has gradually improved throughout the run and given the two or three series that it deserves (should the seemingly restless (if his character is anything to go by) Amstell be up for it) could develop into a classic. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simon as Simon, 20 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grandma's House - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Well I know some of the acting was a tad ham at first but actually only in the first episode, and some of the women were hilarious.
I found the whole thing superb, realistic and a great relief from the usual drivel that passes as comic sit coms on TV. Razer sharp wit, fantastic characterization and so fresh and alive.
Simon is really himself and as entertainingly brilliant as ever. I think some people just don't get how talented and intelligent he and his writing is.
I hope there is more to come, have not enjoyed anything so much since Roger and Val have just got in, this is what we need more of, believable sit coms not cheesy formulaic drivel with canned laughter to indicate where the so called funny lines are.
More Simon, more!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low on obvious laughs, but high on humour, 18 Aug 2011
This review is from: Grandma's House - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This series was a gem. Really finely observed characters, amusingly embarassing situations and a fine ear for awkward familial dialogue. To say that Simon Amstell can't act is a bit irrelevant - what he does in front of the camera fits the style of the programme perfectly, and that's all that really matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprise Comedy Gold, 1 Mar 2011
This review is from: Grandma's House - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I have to confess that I have grown up loving Simon Amstell's style of acerbic wit. From the brilliant interviews on Popworld (making many a pop star confused) to his biting quiz show persona on Never Mind The Buzzcocks, who would have known that this could happen? From the very first episode I was hooked and at times it had me howling with laughter. You either love or hate Amstell...I love him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Builds slowly but it's really good!, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grandma's House - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
After watching the first episode, I asked myself if I liked this. I wasn't sure. I watched some more and slowly I started to like it. I think this series really hits its stride by episode 4. Simon Amstell is fairly stiff throughout - no shock, there, since he's not really an actor. However, in this series, that works and is part of the humor of the series. Everybody else in the cast is wonderful. I'm definitely a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb280303c)

This product

Grandma's House - Series 1 [DVD]
Grandma's House - Series 1 [DVD] by Simon Amstell (DVD - 2010)
6.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews