Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A proper prison workout
A nine-to-five job it ain't. Tough bastard and security specialist Ryan Lock takes on a task which calls for reinforced undercrackers in his latest outing, his second. Alibi-d up and shoved into the nastiest nick imaginable, he's expected to get chummy with a Nazi bit of work and keep him alive to give evidence at a trial over the death of a Fed agent. Unsurprisingly, a...
Published on 11 Jun 2011 by J. Wise

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced thriller, feels like it wants to be a film
A simple tale of thrills and violence, carried along at a cracking pace. The Az blurb is consistent with the book, which delivers what is promised, so I'll not repeat it here.

The plot is weak and a bit far-fetched, but when has that ever got in the way of us enjoying a well written thriller? From that point of view it is formulaic, and other authors have...
Published on 21 Oct 2010 by R. F. Stevens


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A proper prison workout, 11 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Deadlock (Paperback)
A nine-to-five job it ain't. Tough bastard and security specialist Ryan Lock takes on a task which calls for reinforced undercrackers in his latest outing, his second. Alibi-d up and shoved into the nastiest nick imaginable, he's expected to get chummy with a Nazi bit of work and keep him alive to give evidence at a trial over the death of a Fed agent. Unsurprisingly, a number of the black and Latino inmates have issues with the white supremacist's message so the mission is fraught, to say the least. Being a prison, of course, there are more weapons about than a Saturday night in Mogadishu, and Lock is soon involved in serious scrapes, both to do his job and to prove his mettle to his charismatic charge.
The story screams along with the tension, grit and blood of a gangland streetfight. A bold and convincing escape, treacherous plot-twists, explosive violence, even a plan to kill the President. Sean Black packs a hell of a lot of muscle and mayhem in this compact and fast-paced thriller. A prison workout of a book, you'll feel leaner and fitter when you've finished it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Summer/Beach Read, 14 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Deadlock (Paperback)
With better developed characters than his first book Lockdown, here private security contractor Ryan Lock is recruited to go undercover into Pelican Bay Supermax in California to protect a leading member of the Aryan Brotherhood prison gang who is about to turn state witness against his fellow gang members.

A lot of thrillers claim to be fast-paced and entertaining but this one really delivers, as well as being lightened with a little dark humour that's often lacking in this genre. If you're a fan of James Patterson's early books, Harlan Coben, Robert Crais or Lee Child, you should enjoy Deadlock. This book delivers in terms of pure entertainment value and is the perfect summer beach book.

I can't wait for the author's new book, Gridlock, later in the summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Padlock, 19 Aug 2011
By 
Owl "Ollie" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deadlock (Paperback)
Bought this as a gift for my brother in law and he loved the characters and the plot. He also would like other books written by this author. Keep this in mind as his birthday is coming up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced thriller, feels like it wants to be a film, 21 Oct 2010
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deadlock (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A simple tale of thrills and violence, carried along at a cracking pace. The Az blurb is consistent with the book, which delivers what is promised, so I'll not repeat it here.

The plot is weak and a bit far-fetched, but when has that ever got in the way of us enjoying a well written thriller? From that point of view it is formulaic, and other authors have filled the shoes already. However, it serves its purpose adequately enough.

While reading it I had a strong impression the author is hoping it will become a film franchise or a TV series, partly because of the episodic set-piece scenes and partly because of the way the dialogue is structured. Now a couple of weeks later and looking back on it again today with a quick re-scan, this is not so obvious, but I remember noticing it more than anything else at the time.

In summary, if you need to turn off brain and while away a few hours on a plane or on holiday, then this is ideal. If you are looking for a big chunk of good literature, then seek it elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great pace, 19 July 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deadlock (Hardcover)
As a fan of the concrete thriller, I was more than intrigued by the latest offering from Sean Black after being tipped the nod about him, by a friend last year. What unfurls within this offering is something a little different to a lot of the books out there. You have a white supremacist group, you have government departments and have course the obligatory all action, no holds barred hero.

The pacing of this piece is incredibly fast and soon leaves the book blurb far behind as the whole tale speeds along to an explosive conclusion in its almost unbelievable plot outline that could have come straight from Hollywood (and probably will at some point shortly.) It is fun, its incredibly fast and above all else it was a tale that I highly enjoyed due to its unrelenting pace and moralistic stand. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It might be preposterous but it is also hugely entertaining ., 9 Jun 2010
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Deadlock (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In order to research for Deadlock author Sean Black spent some time in Pelican Bay Supermax correctional facility as they so grandly dub them in America .All I can say is kudos to him for if the real prison is in anyway in reality like the one portrayed in this book i would not want to go within five miles of it's imposing walls.
So yes Deadlock is partly set in a prison when Ryan Lock ,hero of Blacks first novel Lockdown ( see what he's doing with the titles here) is sent to watch over white supremacist leader Frank "Reaper " Hays who is a vital witness in an upcoming trial which could implicate several of his gang in the murder of an undercover agent thus sending them to death row. So for him life in prison is now a less certain version of death row . Will he survive to take the stand and has he another agenda that no one knows about?
Deadlock is every bit a entertaining and implausible as the first Ryan Lock thriller. Black doesn't muck about too much with character development , verbose descriptive passages and rambling exposition and hurrah for that say I . His thrillers are as lean and hard as a titanium millipede .
Deadlock is violent, no-nonsense , exciting and moves like a souped up super car. It might be preposterous at times (especially the last third ) but it is never ever dull. And I would rather read a daft and entertaining thriller than a boring wholly realistic one. And they do not come any sillier and riotously enjoyable than the books of Sean Black .Deadlock is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best series of books ever, 11 Jan 2011
This review is from: Deadlock (Hardcover)
This book along with 'Lock Down' is the best book I've ever read, gripping and sucks you into the story from beginning to end. Sean Black is a brilliant writer who I found by accident by will now read ever book he publishes from now on. Excellent book, Brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead Lock, and dead good!, 15 July 2010
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deadlock (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Sean Black released his debut novel Lockdown in June of 2010 as this was the beginning of a series featuring Ryan Lock. His follow up book Dead Lock was released a month later.

I read Sean Blacks first book and absolutely loved it. Ryan Lock is an ex-military bodyguard who has worked private security and has now set up his own company that can be called upon for any type of job. He has a partner Ty Johnson who is an ex-marine who Ryan met whilst in Iraq. Together they make a formidable team and seem unafraid to take on any type of work.

Their latest task at first seems to be quite straightforward. All they have to do is keep a prisoner by the name of Frank `Reaper' Hays alive for a week. He is a very important witness for the states prosecution against the white supremacist gang the `Aryan Brotherhood'. What they soon realise is that the job is a little more difficult than they first realised. Frank Hays is a prisoner inside Pelican Bay Super Max prison. For them to protect him, they need to do it from the inside.

They enter Pelican Bay as supposed convicted felons that have been sentenced to twenty years. The only people that are aware of the truth are the FBI and the prison warden, or at least that's what they hope.

The Aryan Brotherhood is responsible for the killing of an undercover FBI agent and his family and the FBI are determined to see the group brought to justice. However, Hays is not a willing participant when he realises Ryan Lock has been assigned as his cell buddy and protector. It is soon very clear to both Ty and Ryan that looking after the prisoner was not their main problem in prison, it was staying alive themselves.

The story itself was great as was the pace of the book. I loved the fact that we are now in the midst of a character series where the reader waits to find out what happens to the characters. However, as much as I enjoyed the book I only found myself grappling with one element. The character Chance is a woman that is involved in the plot and is very much on the side of the Aryan Brotherhood. I have no issues with the fact that this woman was running around killing people but the fact that she was heavily pregnant while doing it smacked of a certain `disbelief' element. Aside from that, the rest of the book was as good if not better than his debut.

The characters Ryan and Ty are explored a little more although I am looking forward to finding out a bit more about both of them in the next instalment. The end of the book wasn't bad at all and the prison element of the story was first class. It shocked me to read at the end of the book that the author had actually `done time' at Pelican Bay in the course of his research. Not only is he a brave man, but an incredibly clever one. The scenes in the prison were written by somebody that `really knew' what it was like to be inside those walls. Overall a fantastic read that has made me look forward to his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable outing with Ryan Lock, 17 Dec 2010
By 
The Web Crawler - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Deadlock (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It was nice to see that Sean Black is back with another outing with Ryan Lock. In the first title, Lockdown had Ryan deal with an escapade involving a pharmaceutical company and its baggage after a failed assassination attempt. This time it's much more straightforward than that, or so it seemed. Sean Black delivers yet another thriller which is easy to read yet gripping at the same time. The plot is a simple one, but executed well enough to keep the pages turning. I was hoping this second book to be as intriguing as the first though, but whilst reading this one it just felt like another action movie that "could've been". Lockdown is an enjoyable read that does not demand too much thought - you're here for the ride, there's a few bumps on the way with maybe one eyebrow raising moment but could've been spot a mile away. Not to take anything away from Sean Black's writing of course, as it was good to see Ryan & co back in action. If you need a new thriller to keep you busy, this is it. For me, I for one am interested to see what lies in store next time for Mr. Lock...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrill-a-minute read., 25 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. K. Cross "keithcelt2" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deadlock (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is fast-paced, exciting, nail-biting. brutal in parts (especially one fight scene in the prison yard), has twists & turns a-plenty, keeps you guessing & keeps you turning over the pages, needing to know what happens next. The characters are well fleshed-out & real, & I particularly liked the main man, Ryan Lock: rough, tough with a soft centre & a real conscience. Lock, an ex-military bodyguard has been hired to keep Frank 'Reaper' Hays alive for a week to testify against the white supremacist prison group he was once a member of. But Reaper is a violent & highly intelligent man, & could be playing a game: a very dangerous game. Lock needs to have all his wits about him, not just to keep his 'ward' alive,but also himself.......
Start reading this novel, & I can guarantee you'll be hooked & won't be able to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deadlock (Ryan Lock Book 2)
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews