Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pirates of Penzance
This is an historical recording made sometime in the 1950's. As such it is a valuable document of the work of the D'Oyly Carte Company from that period. It is not a modern stereo recording nor does it pretend to be. Two things in particular occur to me:
1) It would have been helpful perhaps if some of your other reviewers had read the description of the product...
Published on 13 Jan 2012 by K J Roberts

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I was quite disappointed when I listened to this recording. There was no information on the cover about which artists were performing or when it was recorded. The sound quality is poor with a lot of background noise. I won't be buying any more of these recordings.
Published on 11 Sep 2011 by Heddych


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 11 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Pirates Of Penzance (Audio CD)
I was quite disappointed when I listened to this recording. There was no information on the cover about which artists were performing or when it was recorded. The sound quality is poor with a lot of background noise. I won't be buying any more of these recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No individual tracks, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirates Of Penzance (Audio CD)
Good recording of D'Oyly Carte but I didn't realise that you can't select individual tracks. Disappointed. Will be more careful next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars g & s, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirates Of Penzance (Audio CD)
again like the last one very poor digital re mix I know that the original recording was a long time ago but still poor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pirates of Penzance, 13 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Pirates Of Penzance (Audio CD)
This is an historical recording made sometime in the 1950's. As such it is a valuable document of the work of the D'Oyly Carte Company from that period. It is not a modern stereo recording nor does it pretend to be. Two things in particular occur to me:
1) It would have been helpful perhaps if some of your other reviewers had read the description of the product before commenting so harshly on the recording quality. Actually, it is, in my opinion, of good average quality for its vintage.
2) How much can we really demand of a double album costing 3.50!

It is a bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirates Of Penzance (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Pirates Of Penzance - The D'Oyly Carte Opera Company, 20 May 2014
By 
A. A. Green "Ashley" (Shrewsbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirates Of Penzance (Audio CD)
These CDs are derived from old (mono) sound recordings, so the sound quality is a little disappointing, but the performances are top rate and very enjoyable,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Quality of CD, 21 April 2014
By 
JC Burt "jayceebee" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirates Of Penzance (Audio CD)
This CD has been imperfectly converted from the original recordings. I only plays intermittently and where a track plays it is slow and thus in the wrong key. Your suppliers should aware of the unacceptable standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rather disapointed, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirates Of Penzance (Audio CD)
Okay so the recording is historic, but, the quality is poor to the extent that I will not listen to it a great deal and will probably purchase a different recording at some point in time. My own view is that some people hold too much value in the 'historic' side of things, I much prefer a cleaner recording. Yes I do understand that is all a matter of personal taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A scandal of a transfer, 14 Dec 2013
By 
Harry Kumel (Berchem-Antwerp, Belgium) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirates Of Penzance (Audio CD)
This review is not only about 'The Pirates of Penzance' but of the entire 'Golden Legacy' d'Oyly Carte Operas offering.

However important the D'Oyly Carte recordings may be - and they _are_ important, given they are the closest that we may have of the original performances - it is inadmissible at any price that the entirety of this collection on the 'Golden Legacy' label is merely a sloppy direct transfer of (much used!) vinyls, including hiss, ticks, scratches and record player rumble - not to mention the occasional high pitch sound distortion.

No work of any kind has been done to go back to the original tape recordings or to remaster the sound. In short, a complete disaster. I had these recordings on cassettes, and they sound better than these so-called CDs. Don't let me get started on the presentation, which is even sloppier than the rest: perfunctory to put it charitably, illegible at times, contents of disk 1 followed by contents of... disk 1 within the same set, no separate tracks, but just the bulk of each act at once, etc...

Except if you're nostalgic in a perverted way, and wish to hear how a worn long-play record sounds on a cheap phonograph attached to an even cheaper audio system, don't buy any items of this collection!

Unfortunately, lured by the relatively cheap price of each opera, I did not look further than these versions - while there exist remastered, much better recordings of the complete G&S d'Oyly Carte operas, judging from the user critics. One on the Avid label with a 1950s mono complete operas version, which at 20 is cheaper than the embarrassingly awful 'Golden Legacy' collection. It's a historical recording, apparently, including hoity-toity British accents, but excellent sound quality given its age. The other is of course the glorious (but relatively dear) Decca stereo version of the 1960s. So, go for one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What it says on the lid., 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirates Of Penzance (Audio CD)
This delighted my wife who once sang in an amateur production of it and retains many happy memories of the fun they had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pirates Of Penzance
The Pirates Of Penzance by The D'Oyly Carte Opera Company (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews