Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars21
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 August 2010
...after much pressure to bear on the publisher Theatre of War has finally gone into a reprint. Fans of Hilary Green's Follies saga were pulling their hair out trying to get this, the 3rd in the series. For some unknown reason 1st, 2nd and 4th books were readily available but not the 3rd and the publisher was having none of it! Well, thanks to people-power Theatre of War is now going to be reprinted. I, and others, could finally read this and blow the dust off the 4th and final book in the saga "The Final Act". Read the saga, you won't be disappointed except you'll be sorry to reach the end and want a fifth book in the series!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
I have now read all four of The Follies books and each one, in it own different way, is a winner.
I have never before read, then re-read books because I enjoyed them so much, until I discovered this set of World War 11 books. The four main characters are so well drawn, they could be actual friends and the information regarding how people managed during the war years is amazing.
Hilary Green deserves a medal for the research which she must have done to have produced such top quality material in all four books.
Only down side - not knowing what happens to Felix and Merry and Rose and Richard in after war years. But perhaps that is best left to your own imagination!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
The others book in the series. The whole series of these books are very addictive if you like reading about the lives of ordinary people during the 2nd world war.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
Have read all the Follies books and the story line is really excellent. The writer makes the characters so real that you feel you know them personally. I particularly like Felix and Merry but all the people are well very drawn. I certainly found out a lot regarding World War 11 and the attention to historic detail is brilliant. But where was the editor not to have spotted that Merry's house was in Seaford in the other three books but in this one it is in Shoreham!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 November 2012
I wanted this because I'd already read the first two in the series and the characters are such that you really want to know how they get on. Despite some definite out of character behaviour for a couple of them it was still very enjoyable reading. If you have read the first two then definitely go for this one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2012
A brilliant 3rd book in the well written series by Hilary Green. I have read them all and I am currently on the last book in the series. I will be sorry when they are all finished. The 3rd book is the longest one and covers a whole pieces of World War II, her research is amazing. A real page turner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
first lets tell you it was for the wifel ok,delivery and averall service is first class,ive ordered from this site before,and never have had to coplaine in any way, i never give full marks for anything as i always feel theres room for improvement, this time i was veryclose to giving a 5/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
I have already read the follies 1 and 2. it was the first time I've read any of Hilary Greens books. Thoroughly enjoyed them. will definately buy some more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
Recipient loved this exactly as expected and a very good read arrived promptly and in excellent condition can definitely recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2011
ONCE YOU HAVE READ A HILARY GREEN "FOLLIES" BOOK YOU JUST WANT TO GO OUT AND GET ANOTHER.
FANTASTIC STORY TELLING--THANKS.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.